7-Zip Icon

A free file archiver for extremely high compression

Read Editorial Review

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
644
10
6
2
22
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • samselbr
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excellent - performance and desing

    Posted 05/27/2015
  • notatroll
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great program. But can't you make a better UI? Looks very ugly. File manager is also so poor. Many people have requested you for so many years but you have done nothing. Please make a better UI like that of Windows file manager. A better UI will increase the users and you will get more support as well. So please make a better UI soon.

    Posted 10/19/2014
  • twaynes
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    7zip is a great product but it's being pushed so covertly and heavily by so many sites, many of the supposedly very reliable, and even purchases apps, I refuse to use it. I never know what some download may do to my current install and thus avoid it. Yes, I have used it before all the crap pushing started and from what I can see it is still a great app. Can't the miscreants behind all that be crushed somehow?

    Posted 08/23/2014
  • extremegtx
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great

    Posted 07/25/2014
  • tiredchrisnewbi
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I've given this 4 stars Because I HAD to give it SOMETHING... I'm (Virtually) a Complete beginner to the internet And I've got some 'compressed'/'zipped' files/folders in my (Win7 32 bit) "My Documents" & I Think I've read Somewhere that installing this Will help me 'Open' (ie read) them - I HOPE I was right - Cos I Really dont know WHERE to begin my studies/learning.... :) - I Dont know How to contact 'support'..... :( Thanks

    Posted 04/24/2014
  • peter-rt
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    @botenannie: Don't know what you are talking about... we are using 7-Zip on hundreds of Windows 7 PCs (x32+x64) without any problems. 7-Zip is fast, lightweight and free, so I'll give 4 Stars

    Posted 03/18/2014
  • mwpowellhtx
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Strong library. I never rate perfect because there's always room for improvement. Even when there's not, we should demand excellence from ourselves and our colleagues.

    Posted 01/30/2014
  • lukjan30
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    when new wersion?

    Posted 11/04/2013
  • pouknouki
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The best archiver i've ever known. No bugs, pretty fast, just sometimes a uncompression which fails.

    Posted 07/20/2013
  • kadams54
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Far faster than Window's built-in support for ZIP files; this is one of the first utilities I install when setting up a new computer.

    Posted 08/25/2009