7-Zip Icon

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
588
5
2
1
18
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • cseibar
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The program is just 1 MB. It opens a lot of types like .rar, .zip, tgz... I only miss the format .ace, but it is not very popular. I have been using 7zip for several years with Windows XP, Vista, 7 and 8 in 32 and 64 bits without problems. I have compressed files up to 25 GB.

    Posted 04/13/2014
  • tab64
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    should add file association when installed, other then that five stars

    Posted 04/03/2014
  • honestflames
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    @botenannie If you are having difficulty with 7zip and Windows, you have a problem with your machine. I have been using 7zip for several years on a variety of hardware and Windows OS and never had anything other than great performance.

    Posted 03/27/2014
  • peter-rt
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    @botenannie: Don't know what you are talking about... we are using 7-Zip on hundreds of Windows 7 PCs (x32+x64) without any problems. 7-Zip is fast, lightweight and free, so I'll give 4 Stars

    Posted 03/18/2014
  • botenannie
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This program is a piece of shit. Didn't open basic files or basic operations. If it doesn't work for Windows 7, it should say so.

    Posted 03/18/2014
  • vahit28
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This Tool Is A Legend Its Extreme Popular but Still Having Problems With Iso Files !

    Posted 03/14/2014
  • agos-fs
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excellent compressor and FREE! Thank you Igor! :)

    Posted 03/13/2014
  • wizardforcel
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    really good

    Posted 03/11/2014
  • lightnlar
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Good program, fast and clean. I use it to encrypt sensitive folders.

    Posted 03/10/2014
  • espyo
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Simple, powerful. It's impossible to keep using the likes of WinRar when 7-Zip is around. It's one of the first programs I install, every time! Not only does it extract from multiple file types, it's also very customizable on its extractions and compressions, and the 7z format is very effective.

    Posted 03/07/2014
  • dluy
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Does not extract properly with Windows 8.1

    Posted 03/07/2014
  • ddiehl
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very nice software.

    Posted 03/04/2014
  • trgone
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    My most used utility

    Posted 03/01/2014
  • kcinlacity
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    It is very easy to use and it is Free.

    Posted 02/19/2014
  • tumblrmaxtv121
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    tumblr Smart camcorders.Haiti And in the USA Business Market Products just so you could Buy purchase items like asklaila Nexus TV live Production.Humanoid Robotic Microship system.30% Add Photos Add a Widget Add Videos Edit Profile Change Skin New Box Friend’s View What’s New View all updates im hot in on fire ladies just for u miramax an HDTV movie cinema TVG live Production Cable TV Promoter Programs for Broadcast Programming. 6 days ago • Foursquare Comment • Like im hot in on fire ladies just for u added new photos. 17 days ago • Comment • Like im hot in on fire ladies just for u live production Tv networking broadcasters progamming 19 days ago • Comment • Like Gifts View all gifts Videos View all 620 videos Add Videos Copy You need Flash player 8+ and Javascript enabled to see your videos. Download Flash Player Left Wall Add

    Posted 02/15/2014
  • vonankh
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    As good as this program used to be, it also hasn't been updated in 3 years (9.22), even though 9.32alpha is around the corner. In addition still doesn't handle MSI extraction correctly. Are we ever going to see a working update?

    Posted 02/06/2014
  • sam-page
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Best compression program, bar none.

    Posted 02/04/2014
  • moderngroup
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I like 7zip!

    Posted 01/31/2014
  • mwpowellhtx
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Strong library. I never rate perfect because there's always room for improvement. Even when there's not, we should demand excellence from ourselves and our colleagues.

    Posted 01/30/2014
  • sch-ant
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    +

    Posted 01/26/2014
  • wbffox
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    One of those programs you really shouldn't live without.

    Posted 01/23/2014
  • apometron
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great software, I love it.

    Posted 01/19/2014
  • riverbach
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Amazing, 7-Zip even decompressed a 29 GB file which WinZip and WinRar were not able to do!

    Posted 01/06/2014
  • vgf89
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This is my favorite file compression and decompression utility. HOWEVER, there is one crucial feature missing: If there are errors when decompressing a multi-part archive, it does not report which of the parts contains the error. When I had a 30-part RAR, and there were errors during extraction, I actually had to go an download WinRAR to find which split rar file contained the error. Adding a string that says which file.partXX.rar file contains the error should be extremely simple to implement.

    Posted 11/19/2013
  • it-architect
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    7-Zip makes files smaller, which makes a big difference when downloading large files, such as virtual machine files. Open Source has gained importance over the past 5 years since the government has become directly involved in partisan industrial espionage. Software vendors are in the same position as Lavabit, thereby making 7-Zip more valuable than a commercial product.

    Posted 11/07/2013
Show next 25 reviews