Redo Backup and Recovery Icon

beta

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
74
2
2
1
5
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • poetfreak
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This program is VERY easy to use, but lacks the ability to restore to smaller drives, the ability to easily restore a selected partition, and several other features. The support is pretty bad. I asked a simple question in march and they still have not answered it.

    Posted 06/17/2014
  • walkingadam
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Easy to use. I've used this software on multiple OS with multiple clients without fail works every time.

    Posted 06/01/2014
  • keynote28
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I tried it to backup my Windows XP. It worked flawlessly. However I was disappointed to find it did not have an "Image Integrity" check to find out if the image files created would work when I needed them. AND I was not about to Restore the newly created backup image files What ReDO needs is another Ic0n Butten Called "Integrity Check" In the main Backup / Restore Menu

    Posted 05/15/2014
  • marqeaux
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Redo B&D is useful if you install a OS on your whole HD, without making extra partitions. If you have more than one partiton (which is usually the case when you have a Windows operating system or a dualboot), it's worthless. While making a backup it sees all partitions on your harddisk. But when restoring your backup it only gives you the choice to restore it on the harddisk itself, NOT on a particular partition. If you decide to continue, it destroys EVERYTHING on your harddisk, including your installed OS. I was very dissapointed when I noticed this. I tried this on version 1.0.2 and 1.0.4 (the latest version), but both versions weren't able to recognize individual partitions while trying to restore the backup. What's the use of this tool if Redo only recognizes the partitions seperately while making the backup, but if you try to restore the backtop to the partition which you made a backup of isn't recognized? I just got back to the tool which doesn't look as fancy as Redo does, but NEVER dissapointed me since I use it: Clonezilla!

    Posted 05/13/2014
  • canadean84
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Super easy and straightforward. Use it all the time. Thanks for making this happen!

    Posted 04/25/2014
  • zdanevich
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I can't connect to Wi-Fi, only through Lan or USB. And when I use Lan connection - I need write my IP - why Redo can't just show me my network? And please - add checkbox - shutdown PC after finishing backup.

    Posted 10/17/2013
  • maraccas
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I use Redo Backup & Recovery to backup my 500Mb EXT4 partkition and 74Gb LVM2 partition on my CentOS 6.4 harddisk. Redo recognized my partitions straight away. It offers the option to save to another harddisk on the system, or over the network. I selected the network and I was able to connect to my NAS over the LAN in seconds. I have to test the Restore yet, but so far, I am impressed and happy. Thanks for developing this awesome tool! My rating: 5/5!

    Posted 09/22/2013
  • uds0
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Updated 7/31/13 Version 1.04 very straight forward and fairly quick boot bare metal (linux boot disk with GUI interface created from 255 Meg downloaded ISO) backup and restore. Couldn't browse hard disk, only browse boot cd (FileManager/Go/My Computer: Error: Operation not supported). DVD drive doesn't show up on either backup or restore (understand complexity of adding DVD support, and copying 2 gig segmented generated backup files to DVD and back to HD for restore is an acceptable compromise). Took about 22 minutes and 3.7 Gig on older hardware to backup clean XP install (with all patches) and only about 7 minutes to restore from either backup on 3rd partition or copy on usb drive. Since restore process asks only for drive, and not partition within drive, to restore to, restoring to only single partition requires backing up of only single partition (unselect others, if any, all selected by default). Would be great if default was o/s partition only since that is what a bare metal back up is best for (data partitions can easily be backed up with free synctoy, etc, from within Windows since files are typically not in use or locked). Shame no direct DVD reading even for image backups that all fit on single DVD. USB thumbdrive bootable version easy to create and very nice for portables. FREE is an exceptional deal for all of capability and simplicity. Redo WINS after trying many backup/restore apps, including Kleo (huge download, drive letters wrong on win7 backup (dangerous!), not very basic user friendly), Paragon (hate having to register to install, quite comprehensive, and wouldn't run on my oldest XP system complaining of "ancient bios"), Macrium (very nice, USB boot support, but not free for schools? and WinPE version (huge download process to build) won't load on 2 of 4 older XP systems, and Linux version is backup only and also doesn't handle? (per help) restoring to disks with resized partitions even if not the backed up partition, DriveimageXML (WinPE on paid version only?), PING (not really GUI and very slow backup), and other linux based too complicated and non-windows vocabulary (often command line). WARNING: Although backing up a single partition (o/s) with Redo and restoring to the only choice: disk (not partition) seems to work perfectly, CHANGING the partition layout, including size, will likely delete some partitions after the 1st one that is changed. Example: backed up o/s partition, resized next partition D and E, restored o/s partition backup. Now, E partition GONE, and D partition showed new size in explorer but old size in disk management. Yes, the documentation does not address restoring single partition even though single partition backup is supported, and if partition layout isn't changed, restore seems reliable. A warning is issued if restoring from E to C, but not from external USB drive? Supporting single partition restore is complicated, so, for a free product, this freeze of partition layout is acceptable, but there should be a big warning that partitions after the one restored may be damaged if partition layout modified. If there is, then it wasn't big enough I guess! <g> Thanks again for such an easy, well behaved FREE backup/restore solution that works across the windows versions and old hardware.

    Posted 07/29/2013
  • jousman123
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    No, I didn't like paid software, there are some freeware can also backup all files, system, as some paid software do, why do I spend money on paid software? As for me, I used Vibosoft free data backup software for my windows 7, very easy to use and free.

    Posted 06/25/2013
  • dreamafox
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Redobackup is perfect! Thanks.

    Posted 06/07/2013
  • tfileme
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very useful. Thanks.

    Posted 05/26/2013
  • petrykvovkovich
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Amazing project, thanks for giving out

    Posted 05/13/2013
  • richmanandre
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    It saves my time. highly recommended

    Posted 05/13/2013
  • philiparion
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Rare usefull and creative soft, I really enjoy it, thank you.

    Posted 05/06/2013
  • dothawaii
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Good basic image backup. Am able to use it to back up PCs and servers. And cans backup to another drive on the network and restore from the network. Saves having to have a spare drive. Our site has static network addresses rather than DHCP network so we needed to get the detail of each network connection from the Control panel before doing the backup and restore. We a small state government department so our budget is limited and this is just what we needed for free.

    Posted 04/30/2013
  • wtwlzg
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Been using it for a while now. Lots of features I will never use but backup/recovery works great for me. Found out today however that creating a bootable USB has it's problems. Awaiting fix. Thanks for Redo.

    Posted 04/28/2013
  • isla3
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great software. Just bought a new laptop with GUID Partition Table and UEFI secure booting. Had to turn secure boot off in BIOS for Redo to boot, but then it worked on the new-style partition table. Redo backed up all my partitions, plus the GPT. However it didn't back up the copy of the GPT (last 33 sectors on the hard disk). So two feature requests: base it on an OS with a secure boot key; and backup the copy of the GUID Partition Table.

    Posted 04/07/2013
  • blaskrusik1978
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very good project, thanks!

    Posted 04/06/2013
  • bomat
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I really, really like ReDo. It has worked great for me on some systems. However, on other systems such as my main PC, when I boot ReDo using a USB stick (created with latest 583 version of UnetBootin), it seems to boot ok and then the mouse cursor turns into a waffle about the size of a 2" x 2" square and then ReDo freezes. Here's my config: - Gigabyte Intel Z68 ATX DDR3 2133 LGA 1155 Motherboard GA-Z68X-UD3H-B3 (latest F12 BIOS) - Corsair Enthusiast Series 750-Watt 80 Plus Bronze Certified Power Supply CMPSU-750TXV2 - Intel Core i7-2600 Processor 3.4GHz 8 MB Cache Socket LGA1155 - Corsair Vengeance Blue 16 GB PC3-12800 1600mHz DDR3 240-Pin SDRAM CMZ16GX3M4A1600C9B - Crucial 256GB m4 SSD 2.5" SATA III CT256M4SSD2 - LG Electronics WH12LS30 12X Blu-ray SATA Writer Drive - WH12LS30K - Asus DRW-24B1ST 24xDVD±RW Drive DVD-RAM/±R/±RW 24x8x16x(DVD) 48x32x48x(CD) Serial ATA Internal - 10 in One Card Reader I also tried your suggested method of creating a USB bootable drive using your ISO tool. The stick would not boot for me. Finally, ReDo burned to a CD also produces a waffle-like mouse pointer as well and would not perform a backup (again, using a Gigabyte GA-Z68X-UD3H-B3 mobo as a USB-HDD bootable device).

    Posted 03/17/2013
  • xofdsabuixs
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    famalegoods.com !free shipping! j0rdan sh0es........ 28 dollar c0ach p-u-r-s-e...... 25 dollar c00gi cl0thes........ 20 dollar U.G.G B00ts.......... 39 dollar Dear Friend: We can supply all kind jers ey with good quality and low price. contact me, let's talk details. Deliv ery time: 5-6days, Shipping Method: EMS Newest stock list: every 3-5days updated Warm Regards, Carolyn mineokmalls.com

    Posted 02/13/2013
  • adamsilva
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    works great.

    Posted 02/13/2013
  • xkxjifdsa
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    famalegoods.com !free shipping! j0rdan sh0es........ 28 dollar c0ach p-u-r-s-e...... 25 dollar c00gi cl0thes........ 20 dollar U.G.G B00ts.......... 39 dollar Dear Friend: We can supply all kind je rsey with good quality and low price. contact me, let's talk details. Delive ry time: 5-6days, Shipping Method: EMS Newest stock list: every 3-5days updated Warm Regards, Carolyn mineokmalls.com

    Posted 12/17/2012
  • lukasford
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Simple to use.

    Posted 12/16/2012
  • epvoosterom
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    it is a great software. I used it on all my computers, and the computers that i reinstalled for other people. Only i want a boot option from a another partion on the harddrive. I know that true Image have that option, there u must press f11 to boot from that partition. i want have this option on a partition that you can't see on the windows partition. is this pasible?

    Posted 12/14/2012
  • gloing70
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Hello, everybody, the good shoping place, the new season approaching, click in. ( /www.globalmarket.name) The website wholesale for many kinds of fashion shoes, like the nike, jordan, prada, also including the shirts, bags, hat and the decorations. WE ACCEPT CREDIT CARD /WESTERN UNION PAYMENT YOU MUST NOT MISS IT!!!

    Posted 12/13/2012
Show next 25 reviews