Lexical Analyzer Generator Quex Icon

Generator of lexical analyzers in C and C++. Unicode Supported.

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
28
0
0
0
0
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 0 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 0 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 0 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 0 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • blaskrusik1978
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very good project, thanks!

    Posted 04/06/2013
  • adamsilva
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    One of the easiest apps to use

    Posted 02/14/2013
  • isaiahharrison
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    small and efficient and gets the job done.

    Posted 01/20/2013
  • lukasford
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Reliable and stable, thanks quex

    Posted 12/19/2012
  • ko4voq
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very difficult. but it's cool. thanks quex

    Posted 11/23/2012
  • nolanellis
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Easy to install and use.

    Posted 11/13/2012
  • vesefor1977
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very good project

    Posted 11/13/2012
  • svetnickol
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thanks for great project! Simply the best!

    Posted 10/05/2012
  • ryanparker
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Reliable and runs smoothly

    Posted 09/15/2012
  • ihenriksen
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great project, great support!

    Posted 07/24/2012
  • whitedon
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very interesting project, very pleased with the support of many encodings, often have problems with it

    Posted 06/12/2012
  • xxyzzzq
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I'm starting to write lexers from level zero. Quex is very easy for beginners to learn. Moreover, it has many powerful features for advanced use, such as good C++ supporting, Unicode alphabets and modes. The error recovering is also nice. :-)

    Posted 06/08/2012
  • wicenki
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    thanks man, great soft!

    Posted 04/24/2012
  • petsfriend
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Support is is very good.

    Posted 04/02/2012
  • aaronsullivan
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    great program quex, thanks.

    Posted 03/24/2012
  • clemwang
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I've used Gnu's Flex lexer (not to be confused with Adobe's flex) in the past and ran into its limitations. Quex on the other hand is industrial strength. It is better, more powerful and has much greater capacity. In my use case, Quex generated a 150K lines of a C++ file without any complaints. The Flex that I used (a few years ago, so maybe it's been improved since then) wouldn't have been able to stand up to that. Another key feature is Quex's "modes" which IMHO are superior to Flex's "states". If you are lexing something of a heterogeneous nature, Quex's powerful modes will save you. After struggling to make a regular expression to solve my problem, I found that using modes greatly simplified the problem. In addition, splitting your matches across modes make it much easier to debug and maintain your code. I found the undo() function very handy, as it allows you to undo a match to backtrack. I also like the optional on_failure event handler, which helps you debug your lexer by catching missing matches. Frank has also been great at addressing any issues I've run into. Learning Quex is a bit of an investment, but I think it's well worth it if you are going to do any serious lexing. Bottom line, Quex ought to be in your software toolbox.

    Posted 02/14/2012
  • oid-3525613
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The error handling is extremely helpful. QueX often specifically points out what the error in the source file might be. The author is very helpful and very quick with suggestions.

    Posted 08/29/2011
  • denkfix
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Big props for quex. The scanner runs like a charm and is really fast. I achieve throughput rates of about 4.5MB/s with a relatively complex definition. Additionally, the amount of generated code is heavily reduced in comparison to re2c (50MB vs. 200MB). Furthermore, quex-generated code can be complied a lot faster, again in comparison to re2c.

    Posted 08/10/2011
  • mmx_mmx
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Quex is ideal for using with Lemon in Unicode environment

    Posted 12/05/2010
  • mabraham
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Quex works very well for me, and when I've found some awkward corners where it needed improving, Frank-Rene Shaefer was very helpful and prompt with fixes.

    Posted 12/01/2010
  • jmarsik
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Choosing Quex for my project was a no-brainer as Quex handles Unicode out of the box. It also generates really fast lexers and the author is very helpful.

    Posted 11/24/2010
  • oid-2667444
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    1) c++ 2) unicode 3) support

    Posted 10/20/2010
  • oid-3011209
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Works really fast, pretty easy in use and Frank is incredibly helpful!

    Posted 08/08/2010
  • ollydbg
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    It is much C++ support than flex. Keep the good working, I love it! Thanks.

    Posted 08/01/2010
  • alexeevm
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    We were looking for replacement for Boost.Spirit parser for our application and picked Quex over the flex because of ease of use and built-in Unicode support. I am still learning Quex but from what I've seen so far I like it very much and there are no regrets for picking it. In some places the documentation maybe a little bit incomplete and behind the code but Frank provides an excellent support to fill the gaps!

    Posted 07/03/2010
Show next 3 reviews