Qtractor Icon

beta

An Audio/MIDI multi-track sequencer

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
23
0
0
0
1
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 5 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 5 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 5 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 5 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • junkyardsparkle
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    It seems a little silly to call it "alpha" software when it's more mature and usable than anything in it's category besides Ardour, but I guess the author has his reasons. Good choice of feature set while keeping things fairly simple.

    Posted 10/15/2013
  • yubatake
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    A fantastic piece of software - easy to use, with a very clean interface. Very stable, even though "Alpha". Friendly support and advice from Rui himself on his website. How on earth does he find the time to do all this? :-)

    Posted 05/01/2013
  • lkjoel
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Definitely my favourite DAW, because it's simple, fast, small, and easy to use. Anything that I need that Qtractor doesn't provide is possible with the vast number of audio plugins. After trying nearly every (free) DAW for linux, I can happily say that I'm probably going to stick with this! Keep up the great work!

    Posted 04/11/2013
  • newfile
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Alpha version stable working, simple learning, good working many functions, audio part and midi part functionate well enought. Many big pluses! ) But dust-heap pieces of midi files in project directory is wrong way. In general, good! I like it! :) Long life for QTractor!

    Posted 02/15/2013
  • ianrichardson
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    fast download and works, recommended.

    Posted 02/14/2013
  • ryanmatthews
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very easy to use

    Posted 01/20/2013
  • williamwalton
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    simple and straight forward to use

    Posted 12/18/2012
  • maryjoyle
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    for music creation. yeas!!! qtractor is great!

    Posted 11/23/2012
  • josephnewton
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Recomendo

    Posted 10/28/2012
  • geardogar
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Hey! Where Qtractor for Windows? :(

    Posted 10/25/2012
  • manday
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    QTractor combines power, design, and ease-of-use like no other DAW. I prefer it to Ardour because of its cleaner interface.

    Posted 10/21/2012
  • nolanpatterson
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very easy to use qtractor

    Posted 09/14/2012
  • danboid
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    qtractor is my Linux DAW of choice - a true project of Linux legend and lore! Rui for (EU) President!

    Posted 09/13/2012
  • whitedon
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    it's just a legendary program, real combine for the beginner DJ!

    Posted 06/12/2012
  • adriansantos
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    good project qtractor

    Posted 03/24/2012
  • oid-3750812
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Hi; I've been used QTractor and i would like to say something; How about in the next version of QTractor the units of "TEMPO" had add ONE or TWO decimal units. Ex: "100,000" "130,000"... This is important to better synchronize audio and midi. Thanks

    Posted 02/27/2012
  • oid-3723945
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Got to be the fastest evolving piece of music software in linux.Those who tried it and didn't like it should give a try as the development is going fast. Nice integration with Qjackctl and other interfaces. Very intuitive if you give a shot.

    Posted 02/05/2012
  • oid-2997894
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Definitely recommended. The only awful thing about Qtractor is... icons. They look so Windows 95 and, so, they are out of place in any modern desktop. However, to criticize icons instead of talking about serious crashes says a lot about the quality of this project.

    Posted 11/15/2011
  • roncemer
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Been using MusE for years. Love its simplicity, but each new release contains one or more show-stopping bugs. The latest MusE release on ubuntustudio won't even connect to jackd2, which is the default jackd implementation on ubuntustudio. So you have to uninstall jackd2 and then install jackd1 (which doesn't take advantage of SMP). Big mess. Tried Qtractor, converted a few of my old MusE projects over to it, and it's MUCH simpler to use and more intuitive than even MusE (which I thought was alredy the epitome of intuitiveness). Plus, I love the color scheme of Qtractor. The MusE color scheme and fonts are ugly and so 1980s-looking. The only things I think Qtractor is missing are automation and linked clips. It would be nice to have automation functionality to change the mix, etc. at various places in the song, do fades or whatever. It would be nice to have linked clips to make it so that if you edit one clip, all other linked copies of that clip are changed too. Although, I bet you could just re-import the same midi file over and over, and if you edit it in one spot it should change everywhere (since Qtractor ingeniously seems to store one midi file per midi clip -- which I LOVE!!!) Another thing which would be cool to add, is if you copy-paste a clip to which you've assigned a name, instead of naming the new clip with the name of the track, just name it with the same name as the original clip from which it was copied. I do find the blue markers to be wacky -- they don't work very well for me, and I can't find any way to turn them off like you can in MusE. And having to slide the scrubber using the mouse instead of having it jump to the place you click on the timeline with the mouse, is a bit of a time-waster. It would be nice to just have the red srubber go straight to whatever time you click on on the timeline. Other than these things, Qtractor is a great DAW. And in spite of these little issues, I'm probably going to continue using it as my primary DAW because I'm so tired of MusE (and Rosegarden is a buggy, useless, overly-complicated piece of junk). Thanks for some great software!

    Posted 05/31/2011
  • nielsmayer
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    IMHO 0.4.6 deserves "beta" label, not alpha! http://old.nabble.com/Re:-Fedora-12---CCRMA-p28623990.html ... That's one of the things I like about qtractor. I can start it up without qjackctl if I want -- without selecting any patches or hooking up anything. In qtractor, all the basic connections and patching are part of the template I set qtractor to launch with (View->Options->Display->Session). Furthermore, loading a .qtr file for a song will contain the patchbay information needed to connect to the appropriate midi ports, synths& instrument definitions, plugin softsynths, etc. You conveniently click on the "input" or "output" buttons in the mixer panel,. and it'll show you the specific jack connection associated with the selected input or output. No more rats nest of connections to trace through in qjackctl -- I end up using it more now as an overview of all my connections and use qtractor to setup specific connections. So basically, you can just launch qtractor. load your project/song, and be good to go. You don't have to load&activate a separate patchbay .xml file in qjackctl in order to connect up whatever you need connected for a particular session (and remember to associate the patchbay .xml file with your DAW session). If you want to launch qjackctl to work with qtractor, they work well together too, but if you forget to launch jack, qtractor will do it for you. It's really a nice new level of integration we're getting -- an incremental improvement over a standalone qjackctl.

    Posted 05/21/2010
  • oid-2916298
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I LOVE this program. Brilliant in its simplicity and unrivaled in its power. Great interface, too. Love to see where QTractor is headed, guys!

    Posted 05/13/2010
  • keksinen
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    A great piece of software!

    Posted 03/03/2010
  • mihai_militaru
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Although not yet complete - as development stage - QTractor became my choice for music making. It is simple and extremely intuitive. Offering a high level of control over sounds, files, projects, connections it has what you need but nothing which doesn't make sense, imho. It supports a wide range of popular file formats, effect plug-ins and interfaces that, along with the seamless interaction with other applications through the JACK support, make any musical sketch a breeze and any composition a pleasure. Thank you Rui for your unbelievable work!

    Posted 01/02/2010
  • freqrush
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    It's becoming a Linux classic in such a short time it seems ...

    Posted 07/27/2009