ProjectLibre Icon

ProjectLibre

1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 (78) Read Reviews | Last Updated
Windows BSD Mac Solaris Linux
Back to Project

Reviews (78)

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
57
4
3
4
10
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5

Highest Rated

1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

Simple. Useful. Light.

masonarnold
vs

Lowest Rated

1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

I'm not sure if it's because it's Java-based, but I'm frustrated by the lack of normal Windows behavior in ProjectLibre. Cntrl-S does not save, Cntrl-X does not cut (it just copies to buffer, the Cntrl-V pastes but leaves original cell as it was), ESC doesn't exit out of dialog boxes, arrow up/down moves the cursor sometimes but not always, highlighting several task rows and choosing to "insert" doesn't insert several rows but instead just adds one (and at unexpected spots), moving/copying a task to an existing summary task does not adjust predecessors for existing tasks in that summary task. Most of this I think is related to it being in Java (would it be that much harder to build for Windows too? I know, easier asked than done...) It's all just a bit too messy to recommend. However, considering that it's free and Project starts at 600 dollars, I'll keep suffering through for at least my current project, since feature-wise it does seem fairly on par with Project.

junktrunk
  • ianrichardson
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great software, thank you.

    Posted 02/13/2013
  • javrsmith
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    ProjectLibre is an excellent alternative to the expensive commercial products. It is capable of handling large projects and is very stable.

    Posted 01/22/2013
  • masonarnold
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Simple. Useful. Light.

    Posted 01/19/2013
  • zorosa
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great work! The only important features that are missing are flexible deadlines (estimated ones) and automatic prioritization. These are two of the big ones for me. So I will stick with LiquidPlanner for now as it gives me that flexibility. :-) Looking forward to seeing that though in ProjectLibre.

    Posted 01/10/2013
  • williamwalton
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very easy to use projectlibre

    Posted 12/17/2012
  • cwlo
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I used to work with OpenProj as MS Project replacement, but until now ProjectLibre is doing the job with interesting enhacements such better MS Project compability and PDF export. The ribbon interface (at least for me) doesn't matter, mainly because a lot of Linux tools still using a more classic "menu-based" interface. I'm not confident about ribbon interface be the future of desktop apps.

    Posted 11/28/2012
  • adrianholmes
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Love projectlibre

    Posted 11/12/2012
  • cfwentzel
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    ProjectLibre fail to install on Windows 7 a pop up screen display "This installation package could not be opened. Contact the application vendor to verify that this is a valid Windows Installer package." Can you help to bridge this blockage

    Posted 11/02/2012
  • thstrauch
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Site seems to be down? Any further developments to be expected?

    Posted 10/31/2012
  • oid-4028513
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very good start. Excellent software, I can understand the hardwork that has gone behind this. Would appreciate if you can allow a display option on the date - currently it is US display with time. Would have appreciated different date formats.

    Posted 10/27/2012
  • baoyuje
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Hi!I have good information.I have a link.There are many goods.You can have a look.

    Posted 10/24/2012
  • mike_watts
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This looks functionally good and aesthetically pleasing ( and I'm not intending to fault it here ) but I would say that there are a couple of features it needs to be useful for me: resource levelling being able to link from a task below another e.g. from task 7 to task 6 OR easily moving around tasks in the grid e.g. via drag-and-drop. PERT / network is in there though which is missing from some other offerings and the WBS view is a nice addition. On an unrelated note, I really don't 'get' the ribbon interface even if certain companies have hyped it up: surely a good ol'-fashioned menu option would be an easy customisation... having said that the ribbon implemetation here is fairly logically laid out.

    Posted 10/22/2012
  • signale
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Interesting soft, looking for learning it, and it's free - awesome for beginners.

    Posted 10/22/2012
  • itscharmingtime
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Looks really cool!!!

    Posted 10/22/2012
  • earleneblosser
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thank you very much for ProjectLibre. It looks really promising.

    Posted 10/20/2012
  • willruiz
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Upon startup, a window pops up requiring you to agree to license terms, which are in unreadable binary. I copied and pasted to Notepad, and suddenly it's readable. Please fix this.

    Posted 10/19/2012
  • ehealthydiet
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Nice software, still reviewing it for my purposes, but seems its working well. Thanks.

    Posted 10/19/2012
  • dmercat
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    congratulation for this new release. My company is using Windchill ProjectLlink & PDMLink 10.0 from PTC for Product Life Cycle Management and It would be amazing if we can manage to edit the ProjectLink Plan directly with ProjectLibre. The test I did today are working find from ProjectLink to ProjectLibre but I get a JavaNull pointer exception when I tryed to import the file in ProjectLink... I think it's not a big deal but if it's work it'll be fantastic for all the organisation to create a link between activities plan, delivrables and Task directly with all the PLM data such as Parts, documents, change management activities... Thank you for this great product

    Posted 10/17/2012
Show next 25 reviews