ProjectLibre Icon

ProjectLibre

1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 (69) Read Reviews | Last Updated
Windows BSD Mac Solaris Linux
Back to Project

Reviews (69)

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
54
3
1
4
7
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5

Highest Rated

1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

Simple. Useful. Light.

masonarnold
vs

Lowest Rated

1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

I'm not sure if it's because it's Java-based, but I'm frustrated by the lack of normal Windows behavior in ProjectLibre. Cntrl-S does not save, Cntrl-X does not cut (it just copies to buffer, the Cntrl-V pastes but leaves original cell as it was), ESC doesn't exit out of dialog boxes, arrow up/down moves the cursor sometimes but not always, highlighting several task rows and choosing to "insert" doesn't insert several rows but instead just adds one (and at unexpected spots), moving/copying a task to an existing summary task does not adjust predecessors for existing tasks in that summary task. Most of this I think is related to it being in Java (would it be that much harder to build for Windows too? I know, easier asked than done...) It's all just a bit too messy to recommend. However, considering that it's free and Project starts at 600 dollars, I'll keep suffering through for at least my current project, since feature-wise it does seem fairly on par with Project.

junktrunk
  • armandossmaceio
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I am a mac user and this software is useful for the main project activities. WBS, Resource association, custs, export do PDF and more. But, I can not import ms project files...

    Posted 12/25/2014
  • kb0808
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very similar to project. Easy to use

    Posted 10/17/2014
  • marcoraven
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    It's possible to create a basic project plan with ProjectLibre, but extracting it in a form that other people can read doesn't work nicely - and this is mainly because at default the applications shows every day - so you're plan is normally not shown on one page, but on a whole lot of them. I think I found earlier how to set the timescale to something more normal, but it didn't save my prefference and I can not find it again (and all support-website were down today). Too much trouble to use.

    Posted 10/02/2014
  • canhosaigon
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thanks for sharing

    Posted 08/30/2014
  • mlao
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Slow performance speed is a reason to bypass Project Libre 1.59. I've been a user of MS Project for more than ten years, and I've wanted to have a replacement with cost that reduces the barrier to entry for collaboration in project planning and management. Project Libre looks like a good possibility, and there are good reviews from seemingly reliable reviewers. I installed Project Libre 1.59, current in July 2014 as I write this, and verified that my system also contained the most recent Java version, which is recommended in the Project Libre website. Unfortunately I've found Project Libre ver 1.59 is so slow that its operation is very frustrating as projects reach 50 to 100 tasks. Gantt chart view scaling is very limited, choices of time scale in the Gantt chart are very limited, Gantt chart horizontal scrolling is peculiar in that it's both slow and the scrolling increments vary unexpectedly, sometimes it can't scroll to the right-hand end of the chart. Its slow performance speed is the real killer- I'm convinced that the positive reviews didn't involve actual use of Project Libre in a project that reached more than a few tasks in complexity. I REALLY like the apparent intention of the developers to produce a useful tool, but PL is not yet at that point.

    Posted 07/31/2014
  • mhartley47
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I'm not a PM or delivery manager. I build and migrate complex and difficult systems, these work packages take up to 12 months and generally consist of many tasks and milestone, in this context, I find this work is easier to manage if I create detailed team plans. While many reviewers complaints about keyboard mapping and toolbar images and appearance are stylistically accurate, they do somewhat reflect the effect of the Microsoft generation on application design. However, most of the complaints and observations are weak arguments for rejecting a functionally excellent project management tool that is cheap or free. I use ProjectLibre on Windows, Mac and occasionally on Linux. Mostly I just need to keep a list of tasks and link them together so that I can demonstrate some basis for project time span calculations and to keep track of task completion as work progresses. If you're a professional project manager who manages very large and complex projects, the cost of Microsoft project and the overhead of learning to use the tool is small and worth the investment in your time. However, if like me, you need to organize and track work packages with team plans and task tracking then ProjectLibre will be a big asset to your day. I'm confident the project managers and developers of this project know they are making a meaningful contribution to peoples lives with ProjectLibre, but like most people, I bet they appreciate being told they are doing well. So folks, keep doing what you do well, there are lots of users of your project that love it.

    Posted 07/24/2014
  • postie46
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    In my organisation I have two kinds of project managers Group 1 - Those who only need to create a simple bar chart (for which they can use Excel), but a linked GANTT is preferred i.e. with some precedence links for which they need something more. This Group also need to be able to open a MSProject file ACCURATELY and review the information (although they can do this on a MSPROJECT .pdf) Group 2 - Who want to develop and use a real Project Schedule/Plan with links, critical path etc. For this group the operation speed is quite critical, togther with the ability to 'group work' by passing copies around. I think the speed is curently an issue (1.5.9) and it shouldn't be as we are using thin clients linked to our network i.e. VDI. Currently our 'acceptance testers' report issues around accuracy with downloads of MSProject; speed; printing GANTT Charts that run to 23 pages - because the Calender cannot be customised to say weeks/months or even quarters; and projectLibre file sizes being very large. We are still trying to check/bottom this out but obviously it will prevent acceptance in a commercial environment. This does remind me of the early days (pre-Windows) of MSProject

    Posted 06/23/2014
  • woodz25
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This tool is useless. It does not show all the tasks and shows incorrect start and finish times for the tasks it does display. It is clunky and hard to use, has very little documentation and is badly designed. AVOID!

    Posted 06/19/2014
  • faguz
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    All the features of low-quality Java application: 1. MSI installer doesn't work with my Comodo Antivirus (most other programs install without problem). I needed to switch it off. 2. It refused to work with my Java. It said minimum is version 6, but I had 7!!! I needed to re-install Java. 3. Tiny font that I can't read comfortably. And no way to adjust its size. 4. Wrong data format, not corresponding to what is set in my Windows. 4/6/2014 is not 6.04.2014, you see? 5. I don't like to work ribbon menus, seeking where the hell is that what I need. It's much easier when everything is concentrated in usual drop-downs. 6. When I tried to get help info, it connected me to the site https www.projectlibre.org/wiki/projectlibre-documentation which has wrong certificate. 7. Even when I added that certificate to exceptions, I got no help. The site said: Access denied You are not authorized to access this page. Well, dear developers, have some conscience! 8. I checked what junktrunk said in his revew - yes, Ctrl-X doesn't cut. And probably so on, as other critical reviewers said. Don't like all this. Will look for other solutions.

    Posted 04/06/2014
  • helen1338
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very useful software!!!

    Posted 01/22/2014
  • tumbamats
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Miss basic features like "leveling resources". No documentation or help unless you register on the webpage. Basically, does nothing that you can not get from a free online-tool.

    Posted 10/25/2013
  • guizaogoncalves
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Better than opeproj. fix all the bugs!

    Posted 09/06/2013
  • larry42
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Far from prime-time: Windows 7, Java 7 u 25 - scrolling takes many seconds, makes SW unusable. UI is poor - the worst of ribbon and the worst of Java Printing is a joke (screen capture turns out to be the only way to get a useful capture). Zooming primitive. Setting the appropriate regional date format is a Java-Windows clusterfrag. The Mac version won't start, gives cryptic error message. Main project forums as spam and split into regions, which makes 0 sense.

    Posted 08/27/2013
  • junktrunk
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I'm not sure if it's because it's Java-based, but I'm frustrated by the lack of normal Windows behavior in ProjectLibre. Cntrl-S does not save, Cntrl-X does not cut (it just copies to buffer, the Cntrl-V pastes but leaves original cell as it was), ESC doesn't exit out of dialog boxes, arrow up/down moves the cursor sometimes but not always, highlighting several task rows and choosing to "insert" doesn't insert several rows but instead just adds one (and at unexpected spots), moving/copying a task to an existing summary task does not adjust predecessors for existing tasks in that summary task. Most of this I think is related to it being in Java (would it be that much harder to build for Windows too? I know, easier asked than done...) It's all just a bit too messy to recommend. However, considering that it's free and Project starts at 600 dollars, I'll keep suffering through for at least my current project, since feature-wise it does seem fairly on par with Project.

    Posted 06/19/2013
  • mcpepper111
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Oh my! This is a wonderful program and easy to use. The program does just about everything Microsoft does and the folks here are operating on donations which is a blessing for someone like me that has been laid off. I highly recommend the PM software as well as all the other wonderful programs offered here. The templates are great. Everything is just click-click and it's done. The results are professional and stunning. Thank you doesn't seem to be enough but I hope it will suffice. 5 stars!

    Posted 06/06/2013
  • tontoshorse
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I used to use Openproj on Windows 7 until my files wouldn't open, lots of hair pulling and colourful language! Found ProjectLibre and the same files now open very easily plus the interface is much easier. Good job folks and thanks!

    Posted 04/03/2013
  • ianrichardson
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great software, thank you.

    Posted 02/13/2013
  • javrsmith
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    ProjectLibre is an excellent alternative to the expensive commercial products. It is capable of handling large projects and is very stable.

    Posted 01/22/2013
  • masonarnold
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Simple. Useful. Light.

    Posted 01/19/2013
  • zorosa
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great work! The only important features that are missing are flexible deadlines (estimated ones) and automatic prioritization. These are two of the big ones for me. So I will stick with LiquidPlanner for now as it gives me that flexibility. :-) Looking forward to seeing that though in ProjectLibre.

    Posted 01/10/2013
  • williamwalton
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very easy to use projectlibre

    Posted 12/17/2012
  • cwlo
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I used to work with OpenProj as MS Project replacement, but until now ProjectLibre is doing the job with interesting enhacements such better MS Project compability and PDF export. The ribbon interface (at least for me) doesn't matter, mainly because a lot of Linux tools still using a more classic "menu-based" interface. I'm not confident about ribbon interface be the future of desktop apps.

    Posted 11/28/2012
  • adrianholmes
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Love projectlibre

    Posted 11/12/2012
  • cfwentzel
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    ProjectLibre fail to install on Windows 7 a pop up screen display "This installation package could not be opened. Contact the application vendor to verify that this is a valid Windows Installer package." Can you help to bridge this blockage

    Posted 11/02/2012
  • thstrauch
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Site seems to be down? Any further developments to be expected?

    Posted 10/31/2012
Show next 25 reviews