ProjectLibre Project Management Icon

Open source Project Management replaces Microsoft Project & OpenProj

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
52
2
0
2
5
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • faguz
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    All the features of low-quality Java application: 1. MSI installer doesn't work with my Comodo Antivirus (most other programs install without problem). I needed to switch it off. 2. It refused to work with my Java. It said minimum is version 6, but I had 7!!! I needed to re-install Java. 3. Tiny font that I can't read comfortably. And no way to adjust its size. 4. Wrong data format, not corresponding to what is set in my Windows. 4/6/2014 is not 6.04.2014, you see? 5. I don't like to work ribbon menus, seeking where the hell is that what I need. It's much easier when everything is concentrated in usual drop-downs. 6. When I tried to get help info, it connected me to the site https www.projectlibre.org/wiki/projectlibre-documentation which has wrong certificate. 7. Even when I added that certificate to exceptions, I got no help. The site said: Access denied You are not authorized to access this page. Well, dear developers, have some conscience! 8. I checked what junktrunk said in his revew - yes, Ctrl-X doesn't cut. And probably so on, as other critical reviewers said. Don't like all this. Will look for other solutions.

    Posted 04/06/2014
  • helen1338
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very useful software!!!

    Posted 01/22/2014
  • tumbamats
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Miss basic features like "leveling resources". No documentation or help unless you register on the webpage. Basically, does nothing that you can not get from a free online-tool.

    Posted 10/25/2013
  • guizaogoncalves
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Better than opeproj. fix all the bugs!

    Posted 09/06/2013
  • larry42
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Far from prime-time: Windows 7, Java 7 u 25 - scrolling takes many seconds, makes SW unusable. UI is poor - the worst of ribbon and the worst of Java Printing is a joke (screen capture turns out to be the only way to get a useful capture). Zooming primitive. Setting the appropriate regional date format is a Java-Windows clusterfrag. The Mac version won't start, gives cryptic error message. Main project forums as spam and split into regions, which makes 0 sense.

    Posted 08/27/2013
  • junktrunk
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I'm not sure if it's because it's Java-based, but I'm frustrated by the lack of normal Windows behavior in ProjectLibre. Cntrl-S does not save, Cntrl-X does not cut (it just copies to buffer, the Cntrl-V pastes but leaves original cell as it was), ESC doesn't exit out of dialog boxes, arrow up/down moves the cursor sometimes but not always, highlighting several task rows and choosing to "insert" doesn't insert several rows but instead just adds one (and at unexpected spots), moving/copying a task to an existing summary task does not adjust predecessors for existing tasks in that summary task. Most of this I think is related to it being in Java (would it be that much harder to build for Windows too? I know, easier asked than done...) It's all just a bit too messy to recommend. However, considering that it's free and Project starts at 600 dollars, I'll keep suffering through for at least my current project, since feature-wise it does seem fairly on par with Project.

    Posted 06/19/2013
  • mcpepper111
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Oh my! This is a wonderful program and easy to use. The program does just about everything Microsoft does and the folks here are operating on donations which is a blessing for someone like me that has been laid off. I highly recommend the PM software as well as all the other wonderful programs offered here. The templates are great. Everything is just click-click and it's done. The results are professional and stunning. Thank you doesn't seem to be enough but I hope it will suffice. 5 stars!

    Posted 06/06/2013
  • tontoshorse
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I used to use Openproj on Windows 7 until my files wouldn't open, lots of hair pulling and colourful language! Found ProjectLibre and the same files now open very easily plus the interface is much easier. Good job folks and thanks!

    Posted 04/03/2013
  • ianrichardson
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great software, thank you.

    Posted 02/13/2013
  • javrsmith
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    ProjectLibre is an excellent alternative to the expensive commercial products. It is capable of handling large projects and is very stable.

    Posted 01/22/2013
  • masonarnold
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Simple. Useful. Light.

    Posted 01/19/2013
  • zorosa
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great work! The only important features that are missing are flexible deadlines (estimated ones) and automatic prioritization. These are two of the big ones for me. So I will stick with LiquidPlanner for now as it gives me that flexibility. :-) Looking forward to seeing that though in ProjectLibre.

    Posted 01/10/2013
  • williamwalton
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very easy to use projectlibre

    Posted 12/17/2012
  • cwlo
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I used to work with OpenProj as MS Project replacement, but until now ProjectLibre is doing the job with interesting enhacements such better MS Project compability and PDF export. The ribbon interface (at least for me) doesn't matter, mainly because a lot of Linux tools still using a more classic "menu-based" interface. I'm not confident about ribbon interface be the future of desktop apps.

    Posted 11/28/2012
  • adrianholmes
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Love projectlibre

    Posted 11/12/2012
  • cfwentzel
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    ProjectLibre fail to install on Windows 7 a pop up screen display "This installation package could not be opened. Contact the application vendor to verify that this is a valid Windows Installer package." Can you help to bridge this blockage

    Posted 11/02/2012
  • thstrauch
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Site seems to be down? Any further developments to be expected?

    Posted 10/31/2012
  • oid-4028513
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very good start. Excellent software, I can understand the hardwork that has gone behind this. Would appreciate if you can allow a display option on the date - currently it is US display with time. Would have appreciated different date formats.

    Posted 10/27/2012
  • baoyuje
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Hi!I have good information.I have a link.There are many goods.You can have a look.

    Posted 10/24/2012
  • mike_watts
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This looks functionally good and aesthetically pleasing ( and I'm not intending to fault it here ) but I would say that there are a couple of features it needs to be useful for me: resource levelling being able to link from a task below another e.g. from task 7 to task 6 OR easily moving around tasks in the grid e.g. via drag-and-drop. PERT / network is in there though which is missing from some other offerings and the WBS view is a nice addition. On an unrelated note, I really don't 'get' the ribbon interface even if certain companies have hyped it up: surely a good ol'-fashioned menu option would be an easy customisation... having said that the ribbon implemetation here is fairly logically laid out.

    Posted 10/22/2012
Show next 25 reviews