Portable PGP Icon

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
6
0
0
0
7
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 1 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 1 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 0 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • darkyere
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I would have loved this software. Small size for standalone edition and works on many systems. Unfortunately it dostn give many options regarding Key size and only allow Elgamel which i believe my search has revealed has been compromised. And ontop of that it seems keys with only 1024bit encryption has been to easy to break on modern day computer according to forums. Updating to 4096bit key and possibility to use a better option than Elgamel would be a sure 4/5 star software simply for being portable/safe.

    Posted 07/08/2014
  • maxpolaris
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I extracted the files to the root directory of a usb stick. A folder named: usb_version was created in the process. If I run the PortablePGP.sh script, thats in the usb_version directory #!/bin/sh cd .ppgp ./jre/bin/java -jar PortablePGP.jar I get a GUI Dialog informing me the my volume contains software intended to be automatically started. Would you like to run it? If I select run I get "Oops! Unable to locate the program" Looking in ./jre/bin/ I see a file named java there. and PortablePGP.jar is in the .ppgp directory. I don't know anything about Java or running portable apps designed to work on multiple OS's. A readme file with a simple overview of how to run this software above and beyond the "Extract to root directory of usb stick", would be a big help.

    Posted 12/22/2013
  • dillonbutler
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Stable and works.

    Posted 02/19/2013
  • isaiahharrison
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thanks ppgp

    Posted 01/24/2013
  • maxgomes
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    simple and straight forward to use

    Posted 12/24/2012
  • lucasgomes
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Easy to run ppgp

    Posted 11/12/2012
  • brunohi
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    @ Guru182, I could use my own keys generated with gpg commandline(with more than 1024bit) and copy them in the portablePGP folder. Renaming pubring.gpg to public.bpg and secring.gpg to private.bpg . Nevertheless I understand you

    Posted 10/14/2012
  • bandb
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Stalls decrypting large files to multiple recipients. Author does not reply to emails.

    Posted 10/13/2012
  • leolopez
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    fast download and works, recommended.

    Posted 09/24/2012
  • guru182
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The authors appear either unwilling (or unable) to fix the glaring security problems with this software, i.e. the use of keys a maximum size of 1024-bits, and continued use of DSA/Elgamal, which key format has been deprecated. Starting in 2009, 3 years ago now, both the PGP and Gnu Privacy Guard (GPG) developers made a decision to abandon the DSA/Elgamal key format, change the default key type to RSA, and change the default key-size to 2048-bits. All this was done for security reasons. The American standards authority NIST (National Institute of Standards and Technology) published a report which recommended that 1024-bit keys be abandoned by the end of December, 2010. That recommendation became effective 18 months ago, yet we still see Portable PGP using the now-deprecated DSA/Elgamal key format, and the obsolete key-size of 1024-bits. NIST is reponsible for establishing standards for U.S. government computers. NIST is notoriously conservative when it comes to security, and usually very reluctant to make changes. This should come as no surprise, given the thousands of computers that are operated any of the hundreds of agencies in the U.S. government that would be affected by any standards they set. So, when NIST, PGP, Inc., and the GPG developers ALL recommend the same course of action, there's gotta be a problem. Until this software is brought up to current standards, it should NOT be used, period.

    Posted 07/17/2012
  • primiano
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Sorry for the late update. Version 1.0.7 now works with Windows 7 (Java 6 and 7, also x64), Ubuntu/OpenJDK (also x64), and Mac OS X.

    Posted 06/10/2012
  • gordonfogus
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Would not start. Incompatible with Windows 7 and Java 1.7.

    Posted 11/15/2011
  • glowkapracuje
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    No help, no instructions how to use it

    Posted 12/11/2010