Pale Moon for Linux Icon

Browser based on Firefox that's optimised for performance

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
14
0
0
0
0
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 5 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 5 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 5 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • asokasus
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I want to thank all the folks who recommended Pale Moon. I’ve just been fed the f**h up with FF because of all of the memory leaks, etc. I've been running v16 forever because whenever I’ve tried to upgrade to newer versions, they’d all pretty much just crash after 30 minutes of heavy use, and not a single version of FF that I’ve ever used has ever fixed the memory leak problems. Not a single one. I actually installed a tiny batch file on quicklaunch so I could quickly kill FF at the point it’s consumed all of my RAM so I could then start over with “Restore Session” to automatically reload all of my previous tabs. After trying every “solution” to the leak problem, that’s the only one that ever did in any good for me. Apparently the arrogant tards at mozilla would rather tweak the UI to death rather than make a browser that actually works. They’re worse than even Microsoft because Microsoft has to listen to their customers sooner or later or go broke. Nonprofits can just drift along forever. At any rate, I just finished installing PM, including importing everything from FF with their little importer program, and everything went flawlessly, including all settings and the plethora of add-ons I use. The only difficulty was getting roboform attached, which I can’t live without. I did finally dumb around and got the roboform taskbar program to attach roboform to PM, which then worked flawlessly. It is, however, necessary for the roboform taskbar program to run all time for roboform to continue to work on PM, but this is a small price to pay to ditch FF forever. I've used PM for a week now, opening/closing/keeping hundreds of tabs, and I’ve been stunned at how much faster PM is than FF, as well as the VERY small memory footprint occupied by PM vs FF. Even after a week's HEAVY utility, PM has not grown beyond 1 GB, and even better, when I close tabs, ALL of the RAM is given back. Basically, PM is what FF ought to be, and even better, the genius behind Pale Moon, Mark Straver, has committed to keeping the PM UI fundamentally unmolested. I’ll be installing PM instead of FF on all of my client’s computers in the future as well!

    Posted 07/06/2014
  • tordus
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Hi, I only use PaleMoon since FF Australis what about a ppa for updates? P.S. very good work

    Posted 06/19/2014
  • puppylover
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    A perfect browser: fast, no crashes. Replaced Seamonkey with Pale Moon on Puppy Linux.

    Posted 05/25/2014
  • k3nsh1n
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I installed Palemon for linux, but when I did open it and try to select anything I received this message : palemoon (process:12180): GLib-CRITICAL **: g_slice_set_config: assertion 'sys_page_size == 0' failed (pale moon:12180): GLib-GObject-WARNING **: Attempt to add property GnomeProgram::sm-connect after class was initialised (pale moon:12180): GLib-GObject-WARNING **: Attempt to add property GnomeProgram::show-crash-dialog after class was initialised (pale moon:12180): GLib-GObject-WARNING **: Attempt to add property GnomeProgram::display after class was initialised (pale moon:12180): GLib-GObject-WARNING **: Attempt to add property GnomeProgram::default-icon after class was initialised ###!!! ABORT: X_CreatePixmap: BadAlloc (insufficient resources for operation); 4 requests ago: file /home/a2g/pmsrc/toolkit/xre/nsX11ErrorHandler.cpp, line 157 ###!!! ABORT: X_CreatePixmap: BadAlloc (insufficient resources for operation); 4 requests ago: file /home/a2g/pmsrc/toolkit/xre/nsX11ErrorHandler.cpp, line 157 Segmentation fault So I tried a solution around and on the forum look like the problem is oxygen-gtk2 themes. So I changed on gtk2-qt and its working fine. My question is : its a palemoon's bug or a gtk2's bug?

    Posted 05/25/2014
  • tracyanne690
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Is there any chance this application will be included in Debian or Ubuntu repositories, so that it can be installed via tools like apt, Synaptic or Ubuntu Software Centre, and updated via the standard repository update process.

    Posted 05/21/2014
  • mcphrant
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    PaleMoon is a rock solid variant of Firefox. Firefox kept crashing on my Linux Mint desktop. This is a great distribution.

    Posted 05/14/2014
  • elilja
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Fantastic! Thank you for providing a Linux build of Pale Moon. I have Firefox as it was originally intended back on my computer.

    Posted 05/13/2014
  • solution3
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thank You VERY Much !!! This build is exactly what I've been trying to find. I'm a new Linux user and I'm running this browser in Xubuntu latest release on amd64 and it's Blistering FAST !

    Posted 05/13/2014
  • tek-wyzrd
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The standard version of firefox crashed a dozen times a day but pale moon with the same extensions active hasn't crashed once in the three weeks or so I've been using it. There is also a significant reduction in memory use. Thank you for making PaleMoon available for linux users.

    Posted 04/30/2014
  • bfgeshka
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The best fork of FF

    Posted 04/19/2014
  • ym2
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great. Thank you very much. Better than original Firefox for Linux and now my browser of choice. Expect a lot of downloads in the next future as an "Aurora disaster effect". An idea: What about a portable version (like PeaZip Portable for Linux)? Another one: And what about .deb packages? Or ppa for Ubuntu?

    Posted 04/14/2014
  • jjeth
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great Firefox variant. Linux installs have been smooth, stable, fast. Much appreciated.

    Posted 04/02/2014
  • tumpio
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thank you! My favourite browser finally on my favourite os! ;) Works flawlessly without any issues!

    Posted 03/21/2014
  • moojiom
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thank you. Works very good. Keep updating.

    Posted 03/12/2014