User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
16
2
3
1
3
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • mrretro
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Needs to be updated! I'm getting zero bytes after the Yosemite install..

    Posted 01/07/2015
  • cursus999
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    running 10.8.5 on iMac 3.06 GHz Core 2 with 12 GB RAM doesn't work for me - acts like it's working - at end all I find is broken alias to PDFWriter folder

    Posted 01/02/2015
  • amiracam
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Unfortunately, the only thing I can verify is that it behaves as a real printer from an OS interaction perspective including code interaction which is important to me. However, at least under Mac OS X 10.10.1 i.e. Yosemite I cannot find the pdf files in the stated location provided by the readme e.g. Users/Shared/PdfWriter , all I find there is a broken alias

    Posted 12/20/2014
  • garnoldhbi
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Good tool. We have an editable PDF that we edit prior to sending to clients. However, with our Mac users, we weren't able to save the edited version as an uneditable PDF. This tool allowed us to do that. The only drawback to this is that after we printed to PDFWriter, it rotated each page vertically although the content was in landscape mode. If anyone has a solution to keep the pages in landscape mode to be able to read as is when it opens that would be great, otherwise I'll have to go the long way and open through preview to edit and then save as PDF. Not a ton of extra time, but an extra step I was hoping to avoid.

    Posted 11/20/2014
  • dmcjeff
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    just what i needed. THANKS very much, appreciated @!

    Posted 10/22/2014
  • gerrypc
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Ottimo strumento! Su Mac OS Maveric consente di stampare in 80K disegni cad che con l'esportazione in pdf di sistema peserebbeo 9MB Non ho trovato il modo per scegliere io dove salvare il file stampato

    Posted 03/02/2014
  • yawstring
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Why this product when the Mac can print to PdF? I have an app that will print many one page documents in a process. With the built in Mac feature, you get one pdf document. With PDF Writer you get a document for each individual print job. This is perfect for my need.

    Posted 01/29/2014
  • zekslite
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Two good things, two problems. Good: 1) The download and installation process was easy. The read me file gave all needed info. 2) I converted a Mac Word 2011 file with a weird font from a free fonts site, and the font (along with all formatting) converted, which was something other converters couldn't do. Problems: 1) The hyperlinks in the file were inactive in the pdf file, which was the reason I needed a converter in the first place; Word 2011 for Mac won't make a pdf with active hyperlinks if they have "display" text instead of the actual URL visible in the file. 2) The file was oriented horizontally originally, but the converted orientation appeared turned 90 degrees in the pdf (vertical format on the screen). I don't know how to flip it back to horizontal. That means that if the pdf is viewed by anyone using a phone or tablet it's going to make them crazy with it's insistence on being sideways; it is only useful for printing. So I can't use these pdfs for my purposes. As a side note, I would love to be able to control the file size; it was a large pdf.

    Posted 12/24/2013
  • christtt
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excellent, just the job. I was trying to print an imposition booklet file from InDesign to a PDF. Since you can no longer select PDF as a printer in mountain lion, this was not possible. A step backwards because it was a cinch in the pst. Downloaded this and it all works fine again.

    Posted 11/30/2013
  • divaworks1
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great, just what I needed. KINGCORN: With Finder screen open, click on Finder at top left, then Preferences, then Sidebar. You will see a list of everything that can be searched, so click the Hard Disk under Devices.

    Posted 10/16/2013
  • kingcorn
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Mac OS X v10.8.5 on a Macbook Pro The Readme.pdf for the PDFwriter for Mac indicates that the PDF files are saved to /Users/Shared/PDFwriter and that to go to /Users/Shared/PDFwriter to "please open Finder, select your Macintosh HD and then go into Users - Shared - PDFwriter". I'm new to the Mac OS X, but for the life of me I cannot find this directory on my harddrive. After I open "FInder", there is no "Macintosh HD" to select. All I see is a list of "Favorites" (including my documents which does not include the PDF folder), a list of shared devices (printers & other computers), and my devices (external drives). And when I search for the folder, my Mac does not find one. Any help?

    Posted 10/10/2013
  • jrjjrj
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thank you so much for this little gem. Although the ability to print to a PDF is available by default in OSX (as some helpful individual pointed out in the comments), and we are all aware of that capability, this is nonetheless a handy feature. I need to print to a PDF about 100 times a day, and being able to press cmd-P and return (never taking my hands from the keyboard), instead of mousing around with the PDF menu, not only saves me time, but I don't have to trot over to the printer to get yet another piece of unwanted paper that I inadvertently printed :) On the rare occasion that I need a hard copy, I just print the needed page directly from the PDF. Thanks again!

    Posted 09/22/2013
  • jcdixon413
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Just wanted to say I love your application and it works flawlessly printing PDF's remotely through an RDP Connection to a Windows Server. Would love to see you guys add the ability to modify the default location where the application writes the PDF. Also, the ability to set the file name prior to printing. Thanks.

    Posted 03/18/2013
  • jfanjoy
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Worked as indicated. To respond to the previous comment about it being pointless junk: you speak hastily. It's hard to know what will be useful to someone in an obscure situation. This software saved my butt today; I needed to print from an outdated Windows app I was running in Parallels. The antique app uses the default printer instead of letting you select a printer in the print window, and gets that default printer from the Mac side. That makes the drop-down pdf option in the mac screen unusable, necessitating an actual "printer" for PDFs... which PDFwriter for Mac delivered nicely.

    Posted 03/08/2013
  • elliotking
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very easy to use pdfwriterformac

    Posted 02/16/2013
  • gabrielcarlson
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    pdfwriterformac is fast and stable

    Posted 01/22/2013
  • oid-4064487
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Total junk. No capabilities that aren't already built into a mac. LAME product and a waste of time.

    Posted 11/26/2012
  • oid-4046301
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Your files will print automatically to this following folder: /Users/Shared/PDFwriter. Thereʻs a folder with your user name which contains your printed documents.

    Posted 11/11/2012
  • dominiccook
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very easy to use

    Posted 10/31/2012
  • oid-4032307
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Tried PDFwriter after trying CUPS-PDF but failing to get it to create A3 PDFs. Very pleased to find PDFwriter supports a huge range of page sizes: Metric A0-A5, US, UK & others, including Envelope stationery. Works a treat under OSX 10.6.8 :) Fixed location and naming of output files a slight inconvenience...

    Posted 10/31/2012
  • ikmichael
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I am on 10.8.2, When I print, i dont get a Save As dialog, It just prints and closes. I have no idea where it prints to. pls help

    Posted 10/30/2012
  • evanrivera
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great software, thanks pdfwriterformac

    Posted 09/19/2012
  • jkr98116
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    What am I missing? I downloaded the dmg, ran the pkg, was prompted to and gave permission, everything went fine - but tar baby say nuthin! No sign of a pdf printer as an optional printer target pre- or post-restart, in e.g. Safari print menu, or under System Preferences - Print & Scan. Running OSX 10.7.3

    Posted 04/12/2012
  • chipmck
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    To John Brooker: If you compare this against CUPS-PDF package, Simone is accurate: much reduced file sizes. The CUPS-PDF package does not utilize standard Apple PDF processing, just as Adobe does not. To John Russell: Runs just fine on OSX 10.7.3. Under Print & Scan click the Plus sign on the left side to add a new printer

    Posted 11/01/2011
  • yesand
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Sorry Simone, do not wish to be critical. I downloaded this. I then ran it on a Word file on my Mac (Office for MAC 2011). It says in the write up that it produces much reduced files sizes compared to the standard Apple PDF printer, but it produced exactly the same file size (14.3Mb from a 1.2 Mb word file). I would really love this to work as I do not want to pay £500 for Adobe, just to produce a PDF. Any suggestions?

    Posted 03/26/2011