OpenMediaVault Icon

The open network attached storage solution

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
91
4
0
0
1
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • bookie56
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I spent a long time looking for something that would be just right for a NAS. I have tested most Linux software over the years and was very glad to have found OpenMediaVault. Although very young OpenMediaVault has proved itself as a worthy contender for the NAS market. I, for one, wish them well with this Project! I already have it installed on four computers looking after files in my small computer company here in Sweden. If you are looking for a really easy and well thought out web administered NAS OS - then you won't go far wrong with OpenMediaVault. They have an excellent hard working and aim to please support network at their forum. Good luck and keep up the good work! bookie56

    Posted 01/19/2014
  • comoretti
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Migrated from Synology, loving the flexibility. Great NAS software, really stable.

    Posted 01/15/2014
  • kentish_man
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Nice NAS software, easy to install and even easier to configure. Saved loads of time setting up the NAS to support several XBMC installations. Thanks to the sweet plugins MYSQL was breeze. Been using this since release and it just keeps getting better.

    Posted 01/13/2014
  • gholemu
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    It took me a while to install it and configure it, but it eventually worked. Still some bugs to deal with. All in all, being Open Source and Free, I'd say it's a good piece of software and it definitely comes with nice potential. Thanks for it!

    Posted 01/10/2014
  • fruchtshake
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Software mit Potenzial

    Posted 01/06/2014
  • yellowshed
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Been using OMV for a year now and love it. It's stable, reliable and everything we need at work. Useful bunch of plugins, too. Very pleased with the support from the forum, too.

    Posted 12/25/2013
  • omvjoe
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    A great NAS distro.

    Posted 12/22/2013
  • bsaiz
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Really nice linux based network attached storage solution.

    Posted 12/19/2013
  • rattata
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    OMV is awesome. I left FreeNAS because of their limitations in my home and I want something easy to use and just work. (Not tried latest version of FreeNAS but it still looks more hands on than OMV). Alot of plugins have been made available and my life has never been easier :)

    Posted 12/15/2013
  • mauromol
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Using OMV to build a home NAS with an old Pentium 3 and a Raid 6 of five old mixed disks was great fun! An excellent web UI to ease the task, a good community and a good feedback from the developer to solve issues are the main reasons to try OMV. Also, the fact it's based on Debian makes it very easy to finding information on the Internet to solve issues or tune the system.

    Posted 12/06/2013
  • frli
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I've been running OMV a couple of years now and I've never had any regrets. Along with the plugins it got all the features I need, and then some. A beginner or an intermediate user would have no problem with setting up a NAS using OMV. As an advanced user, used to Debian-style Linux, everything feels familiar and it easy to get even more functionality out of my NAS, by installing additional Debian software. Also, I've posted a couple of times in the forum, to get support and ideas with various things and my experience is that something useful always comes back to the thread creator. Highly recommended.

    Posted 12/04/2013
  • itz0rn
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    OMV is what I used, after getting disappointed by Nas4Free. It is way more easy to use. Easy to install and easy to set up. It has agreat community and a decent support in the forum. Works just fine!

    Posted 12/03/2013
  • ppfdez
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great. Second generation of NAS for Volker. Easy to install, linux architecture, lots of plugins. A programmer Volker Theile and a forum that really helps. - easy to install - easy to use - The best NAS project.

    Posted 12/01/2013
  • a-stranger
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very easy to use and stable nas distribution for home users. Real alternative for everybody who dont want to buy expensive nas systems (Synology, QNAP, etc.) or want much more flexibility. Also very good support and development and a living community.

    Posted 11/29/2013
  • synergix
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Really great. Easy to install, good architecture, lots of plugins (as extensions). And a programmer (and forum) that really helps if there´s a need. - easy to install - easy to use (dosen´t matter if you´re a Mac, *.nix oder Windows user) The best NAS project I´ve seen in the last years.

    Posted 11/27/2013
  • fpunktkpunkt
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I decided to move from WHS2011 to an open Source Home Server Solution. After a two weeks of intensive research I came to the conclusion that OMV might be a perfect candidate to fulfill my needs. Even with very very little knowledge of Linux etc. I had a working System within a couple of hours. Installation and configuration is a breeze and almost everything worked like I wanted. The OMV Forum was a helpful place for further information and in my case for active and friendly help when I had some minor trouble with my configuration. An excellent solution - no point for me looking elsewhere.

    Posted 11/27/2013
  • rittsel
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great NAS solution, I've been a Debian user for several years and this is what I've been waiting for. Good clean design, does what it needs to do and constant development!

    Posted 11/26/2013
  • qiwi84
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great and easy to use NAS system. The standard system is great and it can be extended with plugins built by the community.

    Posted 11/23/2013
  • mikeekim
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thank you for this software. After 6 month evaluation now I have moved my old Freenas machine to OMV. Stable, more opportunities, increasing number of plugins and extensions, and easier to understand also for non Linux professionals. As for Freenas before Volker made an excellent Job.

    Posted 11/19/2013
  • jdthehutt
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I previously used both FreeNAS and NAS4Free and I enjoyed them. However, I was looking for a Linux based system instead and finding and using this was perfect for me. The developer and community support is superb and really welcoming. The system itself is very easy to use and familiar and tweakable due to its Debian base. I highly recommend this and eagerly await further development.

    Posted 11/19/2013
  • planetdps
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Can't understand any negative reviews on here, this is simply the BEST! Just install, adda few plugins all through the webinterface, and bam, got everything I want! Perfect!!

    Posted 11/18/2013
  • tolef
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Without much Linux knowledge, I set out to build a NAS for backups, as a media server and a database server for my home. With OMV I managed to get everything up and running on my HP N40L within 2 days. OMV has all features I need and a very helpful and friendly community. The system is running for 8 month now without downtime and with very little need for servicing. Highly recommended.

    Posted 11/18/2013
  • harpo3223
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great NAS with many plugins and a very active community support. Yes it has it little quirks but they fix them fairly quickly.

    Posted 11/18/2013
  • scoobynz
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I own a QNAP 119P ii but found the qnap firmware, based on an out of date ipkg system, did not suit my needs. I flashed Debian to my QNAP device and then installed OMV from the CLI. My system is now to my liking, based on a fully functional and usable Debian system. My system boots in about a 1/5th of the time than with the QNAP software and I can load applications that I require but could not have with the QNAP firmware, e.g. rtorrent+rutorrent (arm). A couple of times I needed support from the forums and very punctual and helpful assistance was given. 10/10.

    Posted 11/12/2013
  • troycarpenter
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I installed software on an existing Debian system using the package manager. I picked this one over others due to the Linux support, not BSD. It easily controlled all aspects of volume management, disk sharing, and DLNA that I needed. Unfortunately, the server I had it installed on had to upgrade to Debian Wheezy, so now I'm waiting for OMV 6.0 to use this again.

    Posted 11/11/2013
Show next 25 reviews