OpenMediaVault Icon

A next generation network attached storage (NAS) solution

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
111
5
0
0
1
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • rocologo
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I have used OpenMediaVault for almost one year now. Its the best opensource NAS software on the internet! Its very stable and Wolker is doing a great job. The support is very good through the forum.

    Posted 11/26/2014
  • joelmartin
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    most modern media server out there, installed on my debian box w/o breaking anything else, awesome!

    Posted 11/16/2014
  • jws123
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great piece of software, perfect for a NAS or even a fileserver for a small business. Great set of features that are backed up by a great set of plugins. Also great that the developers (mainly plugin developers) talk to people on the forums to resolve issue and add new features etc.

    Posted 10/21/2014
  • firsttris
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    best open source nas software, easy to use, works as expected, good community and rapid development

    Posted 10/07/2014
  • givbra
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excellent free NAS software! :)

    Posted 09/26/2014
  • vadreb
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thank you for the Raspberry Pi images !!

    Posted 09/15/2014
  • nikd9
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I cannot yet "review", but I wanted to congratulate on the September project of the month. I watched the project for the first three years, then lost sight. I am so happy to see the project is alive and finally released and using my favorite distro (Debian). Any chance of an ARM release? Do you think this can be possibly deployed to replace a Synology NAS OS?

    Posted 09/15/2014
  • cansa
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    After a month of using OMV on my N54L I am amazed by the versatility and performance. Easy to install, easy to update, easy to expand storage, easy to add and remove features. EasyMediaVault would be more a fitting name. I am using it for NFS, MySQL SMB and a few other tasks. The devs and users in the IRC channel (freenode > #openmediavault) are extremely welcoming, helpful along with being very funny at times. Forums are spot on, loads of info available and the wiki pretty comprehensive.

    Posted 09/12/2014
  • mcvagor
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I tried several alternatives and was just not satisfied with their maturity or feature set. This opproach is just what I was looking for easy to use, flexible, stable. Just love it! The chief itself sums it up very well in this interview: news.dice.com/2014/09/03/sourceforge-interview-openmediavault-omv/

    Posted 09/12/2014
  • jradvan
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I've been using OMV for a couple of years now, on two different boxes, and it's perfect. Well supported, great community and stable. Strikes a perfect balance of abstracting just enough of the complexities of Linux without bubble wrapping and making it hard for experienced users to get what they want done.

    Posted 09/10/2014
  • pduddu
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excellent NAS operating system. I have been using for past 2-3 years. Lots of plugins to play with. Only con I can think of is it's very slow in updating to latest stable version of Debian The Debian OS itself is quite slow with its releases Wish Android / ios apps are developed for it

    Posted 09/02/2014
  • huubmons
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I tried other NAS software, but for me OMV works perfect!

    Posted 08/31/2014
  • kzrussian
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Tried FreeNas and Nas4Free and feel like OpenMediaVault is the best option for those who want software RAID10 without using ZFS. The only thing lacking is good and complete centralized documentation.

    Posted 08/25/2014
  • elpirato
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Best and easiest home server OS I used so far!!

    Posted 08/07/2014
  • tkropeit
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Easy to use, yet powerful NAS-distribution. The support forum is quite active, and provides helpful answers.

    Posted 08/06/2014
  • rhinothar
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The Best free NAS Software for my Usage.

    Posted 08/04/2014
  • devilmax
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    excellent software, easily configurable for beginners like me. looks great and also works very well. is the best of all that I have tested. I look forward to every day for new updates and improvements. I wish all who are working on the project good luck and the will to get to the top. I'm sorry but I can not English or German, perhaps helped by google translator to express my feelings

    Posted 08/02/2014
  • microvault
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I can't recommend OMV highly enough for anyone looking for a high performance, reliable, low (dare I say, no) stress NAS operating system with many great features (and plug-ins)!... It was a while ago now (leading up to Christmas 2011 to be precise), that I decided it was time to upgrade my now ageing QNAP NAS. I loved the concept and the (overall) design and implementation, but not so much the cost/performance (ie, price, CPU, memory, expandability of hardware and software)... so I started looking further. I soon came across the (then new) MicroServer NL40 and immediately recognised the cost/performance potential of this hardware, and started looking for an OS/interface. After some searching, reading of reviews etc, I came across OMV in what was then relatively early days... it sounded very good. It also happened to be free. After a very short time getting my head round what I needed to do (being a 100% linux novice), I had a fully functional, sweet looking, very decent performance/low power-draw NAS appliance. And it was so much easier than expected. I was extremely happy with what now represented a very significant upgrade (both performance and expandability of the hardware, as well as openness and expandability of the OS/interface) at such low cost (period, and especially compared to commercial NAS offerings). All with truly minimal head-ache or even head scratching! While I do always love "free", at this point, I fired off a donation to Volker as a mark of respect and admiration for his work, and the clear value OMV represented. While I feel I really should have recorded my excellent experience with OMV to-date sooner, at least I can also report the reliability and consistency of my experience over that time. The appliance just works... it has never hung or crashed, ever, or even behaved in strange ways unless I was tinkering with Debian in places the ignorant should fear to tread. Absolutely brilliant! Truly, unless a user has very specific requirements that for some (strange) reason simply cannot be easily accommodated within the OMV/Debian environment, I can't recommend OMV highly enough for anyone looking for a high performance, reliable, low (dare I say, no) stress NAS operating system with many great features (and plug-ins) and support!

    Posted 08/01/2014
  • kennethsalter
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great Project! Using it at home for media storage.

    Posted 07/31/2014
  • schofiel
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Have been using OMV for over a year now - very satisfied. With the possible exception of the Synology (commercial) NAS solution, this is to me the best NAS OS available at the moment. Superb!

    Posted 07/29/2014
  • jonathan999
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    After a long search i came across openmediavault and try'd it. it is the closed thing you would get to a commercial build nas. works very good and is very stable.

    Posted 07/28/2014
  • aldaris001
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I am using OMV for years already and I am still fascinated how easy, stable and flawlessly it works.

    Posted 07/05/2014
  • ellnic
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The best choice out there for open NAS software, IMO. I run this on the HP N54L, and it works very well. Before I came across OMV I had a look at FreeNAS and NAS4Free, but the limited hardware support of FreeBSD, live system approach and inability to install the solution on top of an existing FreeBSD install put me off. OMV is built on Debian and installs to a HDD. You have the option of downloading an ISO to install or it can be installed on top of your existing Debian install with a simple apt-get giving you a lot of flexibility and access to everything that Debian has to offer (ie. a MASSIVE repo and support for pretty much every linux app, and a GUI on your NAS box if you want). Hardware support is a big plus point for me over the FreeBSD based solutions. I run Wheezy with OMV on top, backported 3.14 kernel. I use a Tenda UG2 NIC to supplement the on board NIC and use link aggregation (easily done with OMV). The only [small] downside at present is that the OMV ZFS plugin is not quite finished - but you can setup ZFS in Debian with little effort anyway, and the plugin is being worked on. Overall: Great project, great forums/support, try it.

    Posted 07/04/2014
  • kochin
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I have been using OMV for more than 1 1/2 years. It's the easiest network storage and service solution among 3 open source projects I have tried out. It is not only simple to use, but also feature rich and with expansion possibility for the future.

    Posted 07/02/2014
  • techinfoqc
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Really the best free NAS solution out there, always providing update, and support, great interface, easy to use ! I've been using it for more than a year and love it !

    Posted 06/28/2014
Show next 25 reviews