OpenMediaVault Icon

The open network attached storage solution

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
81
4
0
0
1
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • raphus
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    A powerful, debian based NAS Software. Many features out of the box, but also easily extendable with plugins. Recommended!

    Posted 04/09/2014
  • leagle
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I've been using it for my primary and back-up fileservers for the last couple of years and it has been rock solid. I've yet to find a distro that is as well-maintained and easy to use as OMV. Highly recommended.

    Posted 04/03/2014
  • mejatysek
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    In mine opinion best home-nas sulution on the market now. I personali prefer linux core instead of BSD. OMV has realy nice comunity and forum where anyone realy want help you. Nor just say rtfm but actualy help you solved your problem or sugest posible solutions.

    Posted 03/24/2014
  • mejatysek
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    In mine opinion best home-nas solution on the market. I personaly prefer linux core, instead of BSD. OMV has realy nice comunity and forum where anyone realy want help you. Nor just say rtfm but actualy help you solved your problem or sugest posible solutions. Many thanks Mejty

    Posted 03/24/2014
  • mc_new
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Really a great option for a NAS.

    Posted 03/21/2014
  • ssaraujo
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I tried FreeNAS, NAS4Free and Openfiler, and what I can say is that Openmediavault is the best. With Openmediavault I have the configurability and flexibility of Debian. Sérgio Santana Araújo (Brazil)

    Posted 03/21/2014
  • mcloum81
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Ive been running OMV for about 2 years and it has never once let me down. Its continuous updates and community plugins make this my one stop shop for NAS storage. Soon i will need another 3TB drive as im running out of space :)

    Posted 03/19/2014
  • cantello
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    If you need a comprehensive DIY NAS solution with a slick GUI and modular design, look no further. It might be a bit intimidating at first (but then again, you're building your own NAS!) but is incredibly easy to use.

    Posted 03/14/2014
  • spyalelo
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Possibly the most comprehensive, best full-featured opensource NAS solution out there!

    Posted 03/14/2014
  • ofcrankin
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Absolutely awesome! By far the best free NAS OS on the planet!

    Posted 03/08/2014
  • liveasx
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    using,good job nas,but any bugs!

    Posted 02/20/2014
  • emegra
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Just switched over from Freenas and I have to say as a non techy home user OMV is so much easier to use and understand, if i can understand and use this anyone can and the guys on the support forums are amongst the most helpful I've ever come across on any support forum A thousand thanks to Volker for this amazing piece of software

    Posted 02/11/2014
  • waxhell
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This is a great stable, free, and open NAS. The developer is responsive and pushes bugfixes constantly. Installation was a breeze and 3rd party plugin support is great!

    Posted 02/06/2014
  • necros-fr
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Works like a charm : easy to setup, easy to manage, as stable as a rock. Runs out of the box in a VSphere (aka ESXi) guest, or a Proxmox guest (qemu).

    Posted 01/24/2014
  • moritzthecat
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I am using commercially avail. 4-bay NAS solutions since years from various brands. The majority of them are ARM/linux based given the better performance/energy/cost ratio compared with Intel ones. All these solutions are fine, but have limited flexibility when it comes to compute intense and special tasks to integrate into the system.My first OMV 4-bay NAS was based on N40 HW and is running since 1.5 years at outstanding stability. Recently I built a most up to date 4-bay OMV NAS based on latest Haswell architecture. The platform is running very stable and is expetect to outperform all commercially avail. NAS systems wrt performance/energy consumption. The next OMV release 0.6 will be based on Debian Wheezy and is intended to reach below 14watt in idle (AC side) with 4x4TB RED hard drives and a boot mSATA SSD. The concept and power figures were proven with latest Ubuntu version. Furthermore I did try other linux based free NAS solutions and concluded that OMV is the way to continue. Special thanx to Volker Theile and the OMV team to make OMV happen and successful.

    Posted 01/22/2014
  • bookie56
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I spent a long time looking for something that would be just right for a NAS. I have tested most Linux software over the years and was very glad to have found OpenMediaVault. Although very young OpenMediaVault has proved itself as a worthy contender for the NAS market. I, for one, wish them well with this Project! I already have it installed on four computers looking after files in my small computer company here in Sweden. If you are looking for a really easy and well thought out web administered NAS OS - then you won't go far wrong with OpenMediaVault. They have an excellent hard working and aim to please support network at their forum. Good luck and keep up the good work! bookie56

    Posted 01/19/2014
  • comoretti
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Migrated from Synology, loving the flexibility. Great NAS software, really stable.

    Posted 01/15/2014
  • kentish_man
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Nice NAS software, easy to install and even easier to configure. Saved loads of time setting up the NAS to support several XBMC installations. Thanks to the sweet plugins MYSQL was breeze. Been using this since release and it just keeps getting better.

    Posted 01/13/2014
  • gholemu
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    It took me a while to install it and configure it, but it eventually worked. Still some bugs to deal with. All in all, being Open Source and Free, I'd say it's a good piece of software and it definitely comes with nice potential. Thanks for it!

    Posted 01/10/2014
  • fruchtshake
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Software mit Potenzial

    Posted 01/06/2014
  • yellowshed
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Been using OMV for a year now and love it. It's stable, reliable and everything we need at work. Useful bunch of plugins, too. Very pleased with the support from the forum, too.

    Posted 12/25/2013
  • omvjoe
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    A great NAS distro.

    Posted 12/22/2013
  • bsaiz
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Really nice linux based network attached storage solution.

    Posted 12/19/2013
  • rattata
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    OMV is awesome. I left FreeNAS because of their limitations in my home and I want something easy to use and just work. (Not tried latest version of FreeNAS but it still looks more hands on than OMV). Alot of plugins have been made available and my life has never been easier :)

    Posted 12/15/2013
  • mauromol
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Using OMV to build a home NAS with an old Pentium 3 and a Raid 6 of five old mixed disks was great fun! An excellent web UI to ease the task, a good community and a good feedback from the developer to solve issues are the main reasons to try OMV. Also, the fact it's based on Debian makes it very easy to finding information on the Internet to solve issues or tune the system.

    Posted 12/06/2013
Show next 25 reviews