OpenMediaVault Icon

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
93
5
0
0
1
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • kennethsalter
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great Project! Using it at home for media storage.

    Posted 07/31/2014
  • jonathan999
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    After a long search i came across openmediavault and try'd it. it is the closed thing you would get to a commercial build nas. works very good and is very stable.

    Posted 07/28/2014
  • aldaris001
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I am using OMV for years already and I am still fascinated how easy, stable and flawlessly it works.

    Posted 07/05/2014
  • ellnic
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The best choice out there for open NAS software, IMO. I run this on the HP N54L, and it works very well. Before I came across OMV I had a look at FreeNAS and NAS4Free, but the limited hardware support of FreeBSD, live system approach and inability to install the solution on top of an existing FreeBSD install put me off. OMV is built on Debian and installs to a HDD. You have the option of downloading an ISO to install or it can be installed on top of your existing Debian install with a simple apt-get giving you a lot of flexibility and access to everything that Debian has to offer (ie. a MASSIVE repo and support for pretty much every linux app, and a GUI on your NAS box if you want). Hardware support is a big plus point for me over the FreeBSD based solutions. I run Wheezy with OMV on top, backported 3.14 kernel. I use a Tenda UG2 NIC to supplement the on board NIC and use link aggregation (easily done with OMV). The only [small] downside at present is that the OMV ZFS plugin is not quite finished - but you can setup ZFS in Debian with little effort anyway, and the plugin is being worked on. Overall: Great project, great forums/support, try it.

    Posted 07/04/2014
  • kochin
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I have been using OMV for more than 1 1/2 years. It's the easiest network storage and service solution among 3 open source projects I have tried out. It is not only simple to use, but also feature rich and with expansion possibility for the future.

    Posted 07/02/2014
  • techinfoqc
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Really the best free NAS solution out there, always providing update, and support, great interface, easy to use ! I've been using it for more than a year and love it !

    Posted 06/28/2014
  • neurosick
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I tested all NAS systems available. OpenMediaVault is the most successful projects that has been given me tested. I had a specific configuration in mind and the only one who has given me is OMV and support team! I have the perfect NAS. OMV is easy to install, there are all the plugins necessary and the management interface is all that more comprehensive. The system is running Debian, so light and fast. And other than Amahi ($ $ $) is the only one who has a full support and Greyhole interface incredible and easy to use management! Volker thank you and all the members of the forum for the incredible work done so far.

    Posted 06/13/2014
  • profigriller
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Simple to setup, robust running on debian with a very good community. I like it a lot!

    Posted 06/12/2014
  • louisvernon
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Installed and configured with CIFS, AFP, Transmission and SnapRAID in one afternoon. Very nice.

    Posted 06/11/2014
  • virgafox
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    OMV is the perfect solution for my home server. It is really easy to manage also complex setups with multiple raids. And it is based on debian, so if you need something more you don't need to wait for a plugin, simply apt-get and you are ok.

    Posted 06/10/2014
  • kippies
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    My "network" kind of evolved with pc's, NAS devices and external hard drives spread across 3 rooms. As her indoors was complaining I was looking for a proper NAS solution. I was originally going to purchase a NAS enclosure and transfer the external hard drives into it but as I had a spare i3 motherboard I decided to build a rig and install OMV . VERY pleased with the results, streaming to 3 devices at once with no issues,easy to install, easy to configure. One tower, less power,less wires and all my media lives in one place. Installed the transmission add on and can control everything from my android tablet, especially handy as the PC is usually off limits due to facebook games played by herself. Saved a fortune in not buying a seperate NAS or divorce costs...

    Posted 06/06/2014
  • komarto
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Real easy to setup, Has lots of features to create a great NAS and in my case THE BEST ever automated download box ever. Based on Debian which has LOTS of packages so you can extend the functionality with ease. And last but not least the OMV community has lots of good people and Devs are very active in the forums.

    Posted 05/06/2014
  • leagle
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I've been using it for my primary and back-up fileservers for the last couple of years and it has been rock solid. I've yet to find a distro that is as well-maintained and easy to use as OMV. Highly recommended.

    Posted 04/03/2014
  • mejatysek
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    In mine opinion best home-nas sulution on the market now. I personali prefer linux core instead of BSD. OMV has realy nice comunity and forum where anyone realy want help you. Nor just say rtfm but actualy help you solved your problem or sugest posible solutions.

    Posted 03/24/2014
  • mejatysek
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    In mine opinion best home-nas solution on the market. I personaly prefer linux core, instead of BSD. OMV has realy nice comunity and forum where anyone realy want help you. Nor just say rtfm but actualy help you solved your problem or sugest posible solutions. Many thanks Mejty

    Posted 03/24/2014
  • mc_new
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Really a great option for a NAS.

    Posted 03/21/2014
  • ssaraujo
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I tried FreeNAS, NAS4Free and Openfiler, and what I can say is that Openmediavault is the best. With Openmediavault I have the configurability and flexibility of Debian. Sérgio Santana Araújo (Brazil)

    Posted 03/21/2014
  • mcloum81
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Ive been running OMV for about 2 years and it has never once let me down. Its continuous updates and community plugins make this my one stop shop for NAS storage. Soon i will need another 3TB drive as im running out of space :)

    Posted 03/19/2014
  • cantello
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    If you need a comprehensive DIY NAS solution with a slick GUI and modular design, look no further. It might be a bit intimidating at first (but then again, you're building your own NAS!) but is incredibly easy to use.

    Posted 03/14/2014
  • spyalelo
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Possibly the most comprehensive, best full-featured opensource NAS solution out there!

    Posted 03/14/2014
  • ofcrankin
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Absolutely awesome! By far the best free NAS OS on the planet!

    Posted 03/08/2014
  • emegra
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Just switched over from Freenas and I have to say as a non techy home user OMV is so much easier to use and understand, if i can understand and use this anyone can and the guys on the support forums are amongst the most helpful I've ever come across on any support forum A thousand thanks to Volker for this amazing piece of software

    Posted 02/11/2014
  • waxhell
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This is a great stable, free, and open NAS. The developer is responsive and pushes bugfixes constantly. Installation was a breeze and 3rd party plugin support is great!

    Posted 02/06/2014
  • necros-fr
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Works like a charm : easy to setup, easy to manage, as stable as a rock. Runs out of the box in a VSphere (aka ESXi) guest, or a Proxmox guest (qemu).

    Posted 01/24/2014
  • moritzthecat
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I am using commercially avail. 4-bay NAS solutions since years from various brands. The majority of them are ARM/linux based given the better performance/energy/cost ratio compared with Intel ones. All these solutions are fine, but have limited flexibility when it comes to compute intense and special tasks to integrate into the system.My first OMV 4-bay NAS was based on N40 HW and is running since 1.5 years at outstanding stability. Recently I built a most up to date 4-bay OMV NAS based on latest Haswell architecture. The platform is running very stable and is expetect to outperform all commercially avail. NAS systems wrt performance/energy consumption. The next OMV release 0.6 will be based on Debian Wheezy and is intended to reach below 14watt in idle (AC side) with 4x4TB RED hard drives and a boot mSATA SSD. The concept and power figures were proven with latest Ubuntu version. Furthermore I did try other linux based free NAS solutions and concluded that OMV is the way to continue. Special thanx to Volker Theile and the OMV team to make OMV happen and successful.

    Posted 01/22/2014
Show next 25 reviews