OpenMediaVault Icon

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
94
5
0
0
1
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • microvault
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I can't recommend OMV highly enough for anyone looking for a high performance, reliable, low (dare I say, no) stress NAS operating system with many great features (and plug-ins)!... It was a while ago now (leading up to Christmas 2011 to be precise), that I decided it was time to upgrade my now ageing QNAP NAS. I loved the concept and the (overall) design and implementation, but not so much the cost/performance (ie, price, CPU, memory, expandability of hardware and software)... so I started looking further. I soon came across the (then new) MicroServer NL40 and immediately recognised the cost/performance potential of this hardware, and started looking for an OS/interface. After some searching, reading of reviews etc, I came across OMV in what was then relatively early days... it sounded very good. It also happened to be free. After a very short time getting my head round what I needed to do (being a 100% linux novice), I had a fully functional, sweet looking, very decent performance/low power-draw NAS appliance. And it was so much easier than expected. I was extremely happy with what now represented a very significant upgrade (both performance and expandability of the hardware, as well as openness and expandability of the OS/interface) at such low cost (period, and especially compared to commercial NAS offerings). All with truly minimal head-ache or even head scratching! While I do always love "free", at this point, I fired off a donation to Volker as a mark of respect and admiration for his work, and the clear value OMV represented. While I feel I really should have recorded my excellent experience with OMV to-date sooner, at least I can also report the reliability and consistency of my experience over that time. The appliance just works... it has never hung or crashed, ever, or even behaved in strange ways unless I was tinkering with Debian in places the ignorant should fear to tread. Absolutely brilliant! Truly, unless a user has very specific requirements that for some (strange) reason simply cannot be easily accommodated within the OMV/Debian environment, I can't recommend OMV highly enough for anyone looking for a high performance, reliable, low (dare I say, no) stress NAS operating system with many great features (and plug-ins) and support!

    Posted 08/01/2014
  • kennethsalter
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great Project! Using it at home for media storage.

    Posted 07/31/2014
  • schofiel
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Have been using OMV for over a year now - very satisfied. With the possible exception of the Synology (commercial) NAS solution, this is to me the best NAS OS available at the moment. Superb!

    Posted 07/29/2014
  • jonathan999
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    After a long search i came across openmediavault and try'd it. it is the closed thing you would get to a commercial build nas. works very good and is very stable.

    Posted 07/28/2014
  • aldaris001
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I am using OMV for years already and I am still fascinated how easy, stable and flawlessly it works.

    Posted 07/05/2014
  • ellnic
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The best choice out there for open NAS software, IMO. I run this on the HP N54L, and it works very well. Before I came across OMV I had a look at FreeNAS and NAS4Free, but the limited hardware support of FreeBSD, live system approach and inability to install the solution on top of an existing FreeBSD install put me off. OMV is built on Debian and installs to a HDD. You have the option of downloading an ISO to install or it can be installed on top of your existing Debian install with a simple apt-get giving you a lot of flexibility and access to everything that Debian has to offer (ie. a MASSIVE repo and support for pretty much every linux app, and a GUI on your NAS box if you want). Hardware support is a big plus point for me over the FreeBSD based solutions. I run Wheezy with OMV on top, backported 3.14 kernel. I use a Tenda UG2 NIC to supplement the on board NIC and use link aggregation (easily done with OMV). The only [small] downside at present is that the OMV ZFS plugin is not quite finished - but you can setup ZFS in Debian with little effort anyway, and the plugin is being worked on. Overall: Great project, great forums/support, try it.

    Posted 07/04/2014
  • kochin
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I have been using OMV for more than 1 1/2 years. It's the easiest network storage and service solution among 3 open source projects I have tried out. It is not only simple to use, but also feature rich and with expansion possibility for the future.

    Posted 07/02/2014
  • techinfoqc
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Really the best free NAS solution out there, always providing update, and support, great interface, easy to use ! I've been using it for more than a year and love it !

    Posted 06/28/2014
  • neurosick
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I tested all NAS systems available. OpenMediaVault is the most successful projects that has been given me tested. I had a specific configuration in mind and the only one who has given me is OMV and support team! I have the perfect NAS. OMV is easy to install, there are all the plugins necessary and the management interface is all that more comprehensive. The system is running Debian, so light and fast. And other than Amahi ($ $ $) is the only one who has a full support and Greyhole interface incredible and easy to use management! Volker thank you and all the members of the forum for the incredible work done so far.

    Posted 06/13/2014
  • profigriller
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Simple to setup, robust running on debian with a very good community. I like it a lot!

    Posted 06/12/2014
  • louisvernon
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Installed and configured with CIFS, AFP, Transmission and SnapRAID in one afternoon. Very nice.

    Posted 06/11/2014
  • virgafox
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    OMV is the perfect solution for my home server. It is really easy to manage also complex setups with multiple raids. And it is based on debian, so if you need something more you don't need to wait for a plugin, simply apt-get and you are ok.

    Posted 06/10/2014
  • kippies
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    My "network" kind of evolved with pc's, NAS devices and external hard drives spread across 3 rooms. As her indoors was complaining I was looking for a proper NAS solution. I was originally going to purchase a NAS enclosure and transfer the external hard drives into it but as I had a spare i3 motherboard I decided to build a rig and install OMV . VERY pleased with the results, streaming to 3 devices at once with no issues,easy to install, easy to configure. One tower, less power,less wires and all my media lives in one place. Installed the transmission add on and can control everything from my android tablet, especially handy as the PC is usually off limits due to facebook games played by herself. Saved a fortune in not buying a seperate NAS or divorce costs...

    Posted 06/06/2014
  • komarto
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Real easy to setup, Has lots of features to create a great NAS and in my case THE BEST ever automated download box ever. Based on Debian which has LOTS of packages so you can extend the functionality with ease. And last but not least the OMV community has lots of good people and Devs are very active in the forums.

    Posted 05/06/2014
  • raphus
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    A powerful, debian based NAS Software. Many features out of the box, but also easily extendable with plugins. Recommended!

    Posted 04/09/2014
  • leagle
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I've been using it for my primary and back-up fileservers for the last couple of years and it has been rock solid. I've yet to find a distro that is as well-maintained and easy to use as OMV. Highly recommended.

    Posted 04/03/2014
  • mejatysek
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    In mine opinion best home-nas sulution on the market now. I personali prefer linux core instead of BSD. OMV has realy nice comunity and forum where anyone realy want help you. Nor just say rtfm but actualy help you solved your problem or sugest posible solutions.

    Posted 03/24/2014
  • mejatysek
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    In mine opinion best home-nas solution on the market. I personaly prefer linux core, instead of BSD. OMV has realy nice comunity and forum where anyone realy want help you. Nor just say rtfm but actualy help you solved your problem or sugest posible solutions. Many thanks Mejty

    Posted 03/24/2014
  • mc_new
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Really a great option for a NAS.

    Posted 03/21/2014
  • ssaraujo
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I tried FreeNAS, NAS4Free and Openfiler, and what I can say is that Openmediavault is the best. With Openmediavault I have the configurability and flexibility of Debian. Sérgio Santana Araújo (Brazil)

    Posted 03/21/2014
  • mcloum81
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Ive been running OMV for about 2 years and it has never once let me down. Its continuous updates and community plugins make this my one stop shop for NAS storage. Soon i will need another 3TB drive as im running out of space :)

    Posted 03/19/2014
  • cantello
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    If you need a comprehensive DIY NAS solution with a slick GUI and modular design, look no further. It might be a bit intimidating at first (but then again, you're building your own NAS!) but is incredibly easy to use.

    Posted 03/14/2014
  • spyalelo
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Possibly the most comprehensive, best full-featured opensource NAS solution out there!

    Posted 03/14/2014
  • ofcrankin
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Absolutely awesome! By far the best free NAS OS on the planet!

    Posted 03/08/2014
  • liveasx
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    using,good job nas,but any bugs!

    Posted 02/20/2014
Show next 25 reviews