OpenMediaVault Icon

A next generation network attached storage (NAS) solution

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
125
5
0
0
1
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • woodirk
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    First of all, thank you for this great Project! This is the best NetworkAttachedStorage solution ever. So many Plugins available, BEST support on world and also compatible to almost any system! Everything at all, WONDERFUL also great job at forums.openmediavault.org/ by their moderators

    Posted 04/12/2015
  • ahtoh
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    excellent system, with many features for untrained users

    Posted 04/07/2015
  • nachtmensch
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I use openmediavault since half a year now and I'm very happy with it. Support is excellent and omv runs like a charm... Thank you!!!

    Posted 03/30/2015
  • carlosa05
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Escrevo na minha lingua nativa. Só posso dizer bem deste software que ainda por cima é totalmente gratuito. Ao inicio tive muitas duvidas, mas com a ajuda do pessoal do forum terminei por ve-las resolvidas. Já fui utilizador de outros NAS, mas este convenceu-me por completo e não pretendo outro. Recomendo-o a todos a utilização deste programa. ------ I write in my native language. I can only say well this software on top is completely free. At the beginning I had many doubts, but with the help forum staff finished by to see them resolved. I have been user other NAS, but this convinced me completely and do not want another. I recommend it to everyone using this program.

    Posted 03/28/2015
  • stewski
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    OMV is a flexible/powerful NAS open source software solution (based on Debian). I find the support community to be the friendliest most helpful I've ever encountered. The quality of the core software is a testament to the efforts of Volker and the other community of developers who work on the powerful plugin system. Thank you all...

    Posted 03/28/2015
  • tugdualenligne
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The best NAS platform, and by far. It is Linux debian based, highly flexible, accept all filesystems (including ZFS), has all sorts of plug-ins to install and of real Linux applications to add (like Sabnzbd, Sickbeard, Couchpotato...). With an easy to use interface, very comprehensive, adapted to both the beginner and the geek, and with a very active forum. The developper, Volker, does a great job here.

    Posted 03/28/2015
  • jtdemoman
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Outstanding software for a new person to linux and NAS in general. OMV has allowed me to get up and running after a short learning curve. I have tried more complicated open source NAS projects and have gotten lost. Glad I found this one.

    Posted 03/26/2015
  • nedhedrick
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    After trying several other NAS packages, I settled on OMV. I have never looked back. It's simplicity is misleading...it is a very well-crafted piece of software in all respects. Excellent performance, non-intrusive updating, simple to operate, and lean on resource requirements. Highly recommended!

    Posted 03/15/2015
  • fumantsu
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    An excellent NAS project for all that finds FreeBSD based projects diffucult.

    Posted 03/15/2015
  • lceron
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I have used FreeNAS, NAS 4 Free, and OpenMediaVault as a method of satisfying my home needs for a personal server. FreeNAS was too technical and too advanced and difficult with the plugin setup. NAS4Free came with some built in programs that i needed to run in order to view my media. OpenMediaVault was so easy to configure. Just download the extraplugins file, upload it, and blam. All necessary plugins are available for installation and configuration. I found OMV the easiest one of them all to configure for my needs. The hardest part about OMV was the initial installation of the OS onto the usb stick. Once you get OMV on the usb stick it is a breeze. This OS is for beginners, intermediate, and advanced users.

    Posted 01/17/2015
  • leoteo
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Using OpenMediaVault on a HP N54L Microserver as an archive, Mini DLNA server, automatic backup via rsync etc. Never had any serious problems, very customizable, well maintained and free. What more can you ask for?

    Posted 01/17/2015
  • blindguy101
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Love OpenMediaVault, I use it as my OS of choice for my SAN. I am always trying new things and when I break things the formus are VERY helpful. I've tried many NAS OS's and OpenMediaVault it THE best!

    Posted 12/17/2014
  • mikael74
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I was using openmediavault for about one year and it is really an amazing job. Very simple for anybody that want an efficient way to manage a NAS and more than that. Only some small migration issues from 0.5 to 1.0.

    Posted 12/16/2014
  • sinedbret
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    New to Omv, I am very satisfied by this product. Support is reactive and excellent. Keep going guys!

    Posted 12/01/2014
  • rocologo
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I have used OpenMediaVault for almost one year now. Its the best opensource NAS software on the internet! Its very stable and Wolker is doing a great job. The support is very good through the forum.

    Posted 11/26/2014
  • joelmartin
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    most modern media server out there, installed on my debian box w/o breaking anything else, awesome!

    Posted 11/16/2014
  • jws123
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great piece of software, perfect for a NAS or even a fileserver for a small business. Great set of features that are backed up by a great set of plugins. Also great that the developers (mainly plugin developers) talk to people on the forums to resolve issue and add new features etc.

    Posted 10/21/2014
  • firsttris
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    best open source nas software, easy to use, works as expected, good community and rapid development

    Posted 10/07/2014
  • givbra
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excellent free NAS software! :)

    Posted 09/26/2014
  • vadreb
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thank you for the Raspberry Pi images !!

    Posted 09/15/2014
  • nikd9
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I cannot yet "review", but I wanted to congratulate on the September project of the month. I watched the project for the first three years, then lost sight. I am so happy to see the project is alive and finally released and using my favorite distro (Debian). Any chance of an ARM release? Do you think this can be possibly deployed to replace a Synology NAS OS?

    Posted 09/15/2014
  • cansa
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    After a month of using OMV on my N54L I am amazed by the versatility and performance. Easy to install, easy to update, easy to expand storage, easy to add and remove features. EasyMediaVault would be more a fitting name. I am using it for NFS, MySQL SMB and a few other tasks. The devs and users in the IRC channel (freenode > #openmediavault) are extremely welcoming, helpful along with being very funny at times. Forums are spot on, loads of info available and the wiki pretty comprehensive.

    Posted 09/12/2014
  • mcvagor
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I tried several alternatives and was just not satisfied with their maturity or feature set. This opproach is just what I was looking for easy to use, flexible, stable. Just love it! The chief itself sums it up very well in this interview: news.dice.com/2014/09/03/sourceforge-interview-openmediavault-omv/

    Posted 09/12/2014
  • jradvan
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I've been using OMV for a couple of years now, on two different boxes, and it's perfect. Well supported, great community and stable. Strikes a perfect balance of abstracting just enough of the complexities of Linux without bubble wrapping and making it hard for experienced users to get what they want done.

    Posted 09/10/2014
  • pduddu
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excellent NAS operating system. I have been using for past 2-3 years. Lots of plugins to play with. Only con I can think of is it's very slow in updating to latest stable version of Debian The Debian OS itself is quite slow with its releases Wish Android / ios apps are developed for it

    Posted 09/02/2014
Show next 25 reviews