GNU Cobol (formerly OpenCOBOL) Icon

A free COBOL compiler

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
22
0
0
0
0
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • precla123
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great job. Great job. Only need an integrated IDE and possibility of GUI more easily !!!!!!

    Posted 03/04/2014
  • jot-edin
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excellent work!

    Posted 01/21/2014
  • wexfordpress
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    COBOL is my standard programming language again. Access to sql is not needed for COBOL with its available indexed sequential file format with multiple keys. This version is totally COBOL 85 compliant except for the optional REPORT WRITER feature. Many features from later versions of COBOL have been added as well.

    Posted 11/16/2013
  • stevke13
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Good compiler.

    Posted 10/03/2013
  • mainframezen
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great job. Please consider moving to github or bitbucket. SF is not king anymore and for a long time...

    Posted 08/29/2013
  • vcoen
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Been using this compiler for some years and it has reached a very good state of maturity to the point that all our applications five+ system and over 500k lines of code, run using it in commercial environments both as sold products and as open source. In many cases it is superior to Micro Focus and Fujitsu products and a lot cheaper with a lot more functionality! With the latest version V2.0 (see source library system) it is becoming a world beater. Now with v2.1 which has added the report writer module it is up there with the paid for compilers, e.g., MF. Currently does not offer OO support but keep an eye out for the C++ versions over the next few years.

    Posted 08/09/2013
  • mongijr
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Good compiler despite some shortcomings. But his biggest flaws are: 1) Updating and changing very, very very very slow !! 2) Do not generate graphical user interface. 3) Do not allow native access to SQL databases. Too bad for a good compiler. Can be better.

    Posted 06/05/2013
  • bnfleducation
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Yes, great software and one of the best features is an ability to read and edit files from other developers.

    Posted 05/14/2013
  • reale-state
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great program with lots of useful tools.

    Posted 04/25/2013
  • spacemax2010
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Fabulous and awesome project. Cobol will bury Java !

    Posted 03/25/2013
  • radsys
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great Product, when I had some problems Michael spent a great deal of time helping me resolve the issues and find the problem. When I installed on Linux Mint the installation went smoothly, when my sample programs didn't work Michael was right there to walk me through and even though I somehow loaded the wrong version resulting in the problems Michael was right there assisting with getting the right version.

    Posted 02/15/2013
  • eliperkins
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great software, thank you.

    Posted 02/14/2013
  • collinyoung
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    good job open-cobol

    Posted 12/18/2012
  • joshuaroberts
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great project

    Posted 11/10/2012
  • cobcoder
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I've used many Cobol compilers over the years on IBM, DEC, Unix, Windows, etc... I'm pleased with OpenCobol. It supports Cobol-85 well. There's a community of developers that provide enhancements and documentation. Their discussion forums are helpful. And it runs on Linux, Windows, and others. This is a serious compiler.

    Posted 11/09/2012
  • sf-eraso
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Since June 2012, a well-known french company officially uses OC 1.1 in replacement of MF COBOL compiler with the latest version of their public accounting package for the server side containing batches and business layer. FYI, OC 0.33 is used in production in the administration i work since july 2011 and OC 1.1 since february 2013.

    Posted 10/27/2012
  • nolanpatterson
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Simple. Useful. Light.

    Posted 09/10/2012
  • btiffin
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Statement of bias, I write the OpenCOBOL FAQ. I respect and admire this product, have since day of discovery. Endless potential for COBOL, endless. Well documented (Gary's guide is a world class COBOL document) and open to anyone that cares to try.

    Posted 07/21/2012
  • jccurrey
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Have been using pre-release v1.1 for a couple of years now in a production environment. Have written several hundred thousand lines of code. Using with MySQL and CGI. Have found precious few compiler bugs. Certainly no more that what we had with proprietary compilers from the vendors. Could not be happier.

    Posted 06/15/2012
  • bruce_a_martin
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Works well from what I have seen

    Posted 06/07/2012
  • sf-mensch
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Fast and good compiler - use CE version (available via svn) for full power and use search in the old forum at opencobol.org for lots of knowledge.

    Posted 04/15/2012
  • msetzerii
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I've just started working with it, and have been very satisfied the results. A few difference in syntax from my current compiler, but so far very happy.

    Posted 09/20/2009