User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
15
1
2
2
10
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • braines
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Installing Yosemite broke my install with their stricter rules on code-signed kernal extensions for security reasons. To fix it, you need to run the following 3 commands in terminal before installing/reinstalling: 1) sudo nvram boot-args="kext-dev-mode=1" 2) sudo kextcache -system-prelinked-kernel 3) sudo kextcache -system-caches after the first command you will need to enter your password because of 'sudo' (super user do) this disables the security check. the other 2 commands just clear your cache of any old versions of this kernel extension to give you a fresh slate. After you install/reinstall you'll restart and things seem to be working. I suspect that this will be broken in the next update because this uses the /System/ folder which apple will be phasing out 3d party use of that folder.

    Posted 11/01/2014
  • number1haxor
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Not working on Yosemite 10.10. Had to use Time Machine to get rid of it.

    Posted 10/15/2014
  • pnallin
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I've tried to unistall this app... I tried to used the file 'uninstall' but nothing happened. There is nothing on this folder /System/Library/Extensions/ related to ntfs-free anymore. And I still get the error message after connecting my external HD. How can we really uninstall this app ?! Is there another file we should delete ? Has this app deleted any file which it wasn't supposed to ? If someone succeed in unistalling, please let us know !!

    Posted 09/17/2014
  • mrcobra92
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Works very well! I can now share files between my mackintosh and main system.

    Posted 08/20/2014
  • ankurnit
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Its not working with OS X Mavericks and Yosemite(Beta).Don't install because after installing you will not able to read any NTFS.

    Posted 08/10/2014
  • kindlychung
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Best in this category. Works perfectly, hassle-free.

    Posted 07/30/2014
  • pitibalrog
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Work fine on my Macbook Air with OS X 10.9.4 Thanks :-)

    Posted 07/21/2014
  • wexoo
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Works like a charm on Late 2011 Macbook Pro 17" (OSX Mavericks 10.9.3) - thank you very much!

    Posted 07/03/2014
  • xdimas
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great app - works fine on my Mac Book Pro with OS X 10.9.3

    Posted 06/11/2014
  • hayertjez
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I have installed the program on my MacBook Air running 10.9.3 ( Mavericks ) but it does not work at all.

    Posted 05/30/2014
  • leone1983
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Works!

    Posted 04/21/2014
  • jmans25
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This NTFS read/write driver for Mac works, even on Mavericks! Reading and writing to windows files works fine, as well as linking folders within ~/ to ones on an NTFS drive. Just DO NOT CHANGE THE LOCATION OF YOUR HOME FOLDER TO AN NTFS DRIVE! Mac is designed to work with HFS+ file systems, and so many features (such as versioning and autosaving) are unavailable. Additionally, the system cannot lock files for editing. So while attempting to modify a file, the OS will report that the file has been edited externally, even if this is not the case (very annoying). Finally, the Mac OS does not respect some of the rules (incl. max. path length) of NTFS filesystems, so a volume may become "corrupt" to a windows system if used often on a Mac. All in all, this is a good driver, just don't rely on it too heavily. Editing a word doc on an external NTFS drive occasionally is fine, editing an Xcode project on one may yield problems.

    Posted 03/13/2014
  • skuldelev
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I installed this on OSX Mavericks, it does not work. writing to ntfs HD is not working. (IF ANYONE KNOWS HOW TO UNINSTALL IT PLEASE POST IT HERE ty.) 1. There is no gui to interact with this software. 2. It only has installer NO UNINSTALLER. files are written to oblivion who knows where 3. NO SUPPORT OR GUIDE HOW TO UNINSTALL THIS CRAP. 4. wasted all morning on uninstalling crapware like this.

    Posted 02/09/2014
  • mitjam
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Installed NTFS-free ver. 10.8.2 on Mavericks. If one NTFS partition is mounted than everything is OK. But when two or more NTFS partitions are mounted (e.g. NTFS partition of internal disk and external NTFS disk, or two NTFS partitions on internal disk) then only administrator users on windows machines has write access to files or folders that were written on Mac machine. In such case file permissions has not full access for Everybody but only Administrator has full access. I haven't checked if this is issue only in Mavericks or also in previous versions of OS X. Can maintainers check this and remove bug as driver is not usable with two or more active NTFS partitions (e.g. at dual boot case). Regards.

    Posted 01/15/2014
  • yamagucci
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I can verify that NTFS-FREE works fine at first - but for larger drives it simply crashes the system. The limit seems to be around 1.5-2TB. Also there is no way to uninstall it (unless you know how to track down kext files and removing them manually) Stay away unless you're sure you can clean up the mess it leaves behind - my recommendation for ParagonNTFS stays.

    Posted 11/28/2013
  • npvenkat
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I have a problem in using on WD 1TB harddisk, where as on a 256GB WD hard drive i can read and write. Is there any restriction using on a higher capacity HD. Also if i want to uninstall and install back what is the option as i couldnt find the utility from FINDER.

    Posted 11/25/2013
  • fernandoff
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    It works fine and fast on OSX Mavericks (running on a 2011 MBP). With that said, I can't really recommend this to the "average joe" because of a single reason: no source. It's actually ironic that this project is hosted on sourceforge but there is no source code to be seen for the project. If their code is in fact derived from Linux drivers, then they are obligated by the GPL license to release the code. To make matters worse, the maintainers also left closed the support channels / discussion forums / whatever, which would be their first line of contact with users - the fact that I'm having to make all these points in a review is a telltale sign that this whole thing is fishy. I'll be more than glad to retract my review if things change, though.

    Posted 11/25/2013
  • redtocatta
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I confirmed, it work on my Hackintosh Running MAVERICK. Great and good job. Heavy credit !!!

    Posted 11/23/2013
  • g4tbi
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    WORKS WITH MAVERICKS! I have been using NTFS-FREE for some time on Mountain Lion with no known problems and it is very easy to use - just install and forget. When I upgraded to Mavericks it stopped working. However it is possible to get it going again. I found that to get NTFS-FREE working after an upgrade from Mountain Lion (OS X version 10.8.xx) to Mavericks (OS X version 10.9) you simply need to run the installer again and restart your Mac. After I did this NTFS-FREE now appears to work fine. I hope others find this useful!

    Posted 10/27/2013
  • zlevardy
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    it writes the files on 10.8.4 and 10.8.5 OSX. You will need only windows to make partition at first time.

    Posted 09/17/2013
  • jerrymess
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    What for do I need this tool? I can read NTFS volumes under my OS X 10.7 without any additional software. There is a problem to write on NTFS volumes under Mac, it can easily be solved with the help of Paragon NTFS for Mac.

    Posted 07/11/2013
  • printz
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Totally unstable. Sometimes it works, sometimes it locks up the system. Avoid.

    Posted 06/09/2013
  • peterdekr
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Installed the .7 version on Lion, install works, but after restart nothing has changed any ntfs usb stick still is not accessible. Is there a guide or so?

    Posted 04/21/2013
  • buffalobill666
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    How do I uninstall NTFS Free package from my Mac? [10.8.2 Mountain Lion]. I cannot find where it is installed, and I cannot find it using appcleaner [or through finder. Maybe it is hidden in the library somewhere, I don't know.] The reason for my wanting to uninstall is because I cannot format an external drive to NTFS using this driver through disk utility. If it could do this I would love it and keep it.

    Posted 03/18/2013
  • ianrichardson
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Reliable and stable, thanks ntfsfree

    Posted 02/13/2013
Show next 5 reviews