Notepad++ Compare plugin Icon

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
23
1
1
0
4
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • enoranedelec
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This plugin saves me a lot of time!

    Posted 12/14/2014
  • niwaho
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I can only repeat what wiffafoll wrote in an earlier review: "Has a horrible bug where comparing two files will destroy your undo history. Other bugs will cause it to remove the colour syntaxing and de-activate word wrapping. And it will also swap the tab position of the two files being compared for unknown reasons. You have been warned." That was 1.5 years ago. The bugs are still there.

    Posted 10/02/2014
  • fpohtmeh
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Please add new version to official repository, available from Plugin Manager

    Posted 01/10/2014
  • cryofdevil
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    It mainly works, that's good. Bug report: Menu buttons are broken. They always stay checked. Feature request in line difference: Can you please add some color indicating where chars are different in a line. It's hard to spot difference in long lines. Medieval ways of copy line, paste it under another line, finger scroll and eyeball checking are just way too slow. Yes, my text goes up to 300 chars in a line. No, it's not a code. No, I can't/won't break it in multiple lines.

    Posted 01/06/2014
  • shashikhot
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    In compare it will remove the colour syntaxing and de-activate word wrapping.

    Posted 11/11/2013
  • hypersonic64
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    As of v1.5.6.2 syntax highlighting works again! Unfortunately the keyboard shortcuts (Ctrl+PageDn, Ctrl+PageUp ...) are broken now - at least with Non-US keyboard layout.

    Posted 10/08/2013
  • bheerkens
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    It works really nice, good overview of changes Too bad the highlight color and its transparency don't work.

    Posted 07/31/2013
  • wiffafoll
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Has a horrible bug where comparing two files will destroy your undo history. Other bugs will cause it to remove the colour syntaxing and de-activate word wrapping. And it will also swap the tab position of the two files being compared for unknown reasons. You have been warned.

    Posted 05/22/2013
  • tfileme
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thanks for Npp-compare, it's the best!

    Posted 05/19/2013
  • rui_maciel
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Works flawlessly with Notepad++ 6.3.1 running on windows 7. I would only suggest that a small readme.txt was added to the zip with tips on how to install the plugin. It's not hard to google for the instructions, but it would be helpful if the user didn't had to. Nevertheless, commendable work. Kudos!

    Posted 04/09/2013
  • elendil000
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very useful but as said, there's an issue since Notepad++ 6.2.1 (with Compare plugin 1.5.6) : there's no more syntax highlight while comparing files.

    Posted 03/04/2013
  • adamsilva
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great software, thank you.

    Posted 02/15/2013
  • nicolascook
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    no trouble to install and run, works nicely.

    Posted 01/23/2013
  • philletaxi
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This is a great and very useful plugin. Nevertheless since Notepad++ version 6.2.2, I have noticed some unwanted behaviour. When I compare 2 files, the differences are correctly identified, but the language highlighted syntax is lost. When I compare 2 php files, the 2 files are displayed in black and white. When I compare 2 C files, one of the files is displayed in black and white. Maybe this can be solved by configuration ? Maybe there is a compatibility problem with recent version of Notepad++ ? Has somebody noticed the same problem ? Is there a solution available ?

    Posted 01/03/2013
  • lukemorgan
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    great product

    Posted 12/21/2012
  • gcampanile
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great plugin. A suggestion for a new feature: ignore newlines, or even more useful: define a set of characters or patterns to ignore in comparison. Thanks

    Posted 12/05/2012
  • daffyd48
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Apparently two issues with this plugin make it difficult to use since Notepad++ 6.2.2., as noted in recent posts in the open discussion forum. A fix for at least the issue that disables javascript language settings (and maybe others) would be great. Thanks!

    Posted 11/30/2012
  • evanrodrigues
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    npp-compare works perfectly, thanks

    Posted 09/21/2012
  • danrathbun
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    As of NPP v6.1.3, and Compare v1.5.6.1, there is a small mistake in the NPP config.xml file, that causes problems for a SxS compare (file views split vertical.) - It's a mismatch attribute in the "config.xml" file, for the "zoom" attribute, between the "ScintillaPrimaryView" and "ScintillaSecondaryView" tags. - You MUST edit the user "config.xml" file (in the "%APPDATA/Notepad++" directory,) with another editor (such as MS Visual Studio, or MS XML Notepad, etc.) You CANNOT edit it with Notepad++ itself, because the changes will be overwritten when you close Notepad++. - Change the "zoom" attribute to "0" in the "ScintillaPrimaryView" attribute, then COPY ALL attributes from the "ScintillaPrimaryView" tag, and overwrite the attributes in the "ScintillaSecondaryView" tag, so that they are both EXACTLY the same. - The lines in both panes, will now line up, and no more weird scroll bar behavior, near the bottom of files.

    Posted 07/01/2012
  • malish84
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    create plugin! using for my blog __joomlasecret.ru__

    Posted 06/16/2012
  • nbvmkfsa8f9
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    www.netetrader.com !free shipping! j0rdan sh0es........ 28 dollar c0ach p-u-r-s-e...... 25 dollar c00gi cl0thes........ 20 dollar U.G.G B00ts.......... 39 dollar Dear Friend: We can supply all kind jer sey with good quality and low price. con tact me, let's talk details. Deli very time: 5-6days, Shipping Method: EMS Newest stock list: every 3-5days updated Warm Regards, Carolyn www.mineokmalls.com

    Posted 06/10/2012
  • bnjfsa7fsa
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    www.netetrader.com !free shipping! j0rdan sh0es........ 28 dollar c0ach p-u-r-s-e...... 25 dollar c00gi cl0thes........ 20 dollar U.G.G B00ts.......... 39 dollar Dear Friend: We can supply all kind jer sey with good quality and low price. contact me, let's talk details. De livery time: 5-6days, Shippi ng Method: EMS Newest stock list: every 3-5days updated Warm Regards, Carolyn www.mineokmalls.com

    Posted 06/08/2012
  • bgfds78fshj
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    www.netetrader.com !free shipping! j0rdan sh0es........ 28 dollar c0ach p-u-r-s-e...... 25 dollar c00gi cl0thes........ 20 dollar U.G.G B00ts.......... 39 dollar Dear Friend: We can sup ply all kind jer sey with good quality and low price. contact me, let's talk details. Delivery time: 5-6days, Shippi ng Method: EMS Newest stock list: every 3-5days updated Warm Regards, Carolyn www.mineokmalls.com

    Posted 06/05/2012
  • krysten
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very good program, thanks you

    Posted 06/05/2012
  • goaxcap2
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Small and usefull plugin for Plus

    Posted 06/04/2012
Show next 4 reviews