Notepad++ Icon

Notepad++

1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 (689) Read Reviews | Last Updated
Windows
Back to Project

Reviews (689)

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
663
9
4
1
12
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5

Highest Rated

1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

I have been working for a long time with NOTEPAD++. However after updating from a 6.2.x version to 6.4.1 it was no longer possible to work with big files (> 1 MB). Every change in the file takes an awful long time until NOTEPAD++ answers. I tried the 6.3.3 version - same problem. Going back to 6.2.2 the problem is resolved. So I cannot use any version higher than 6.2.x. Would be nice to resolve this problem in higher versions!!

albertemmerich
vs

Lowest Rated

1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

It was a great editor until the dev decided he should make it type out a political message on startup. I agree with the message, but it's totally wrong to exhibit malware-like behavior just to get your political agenda across *in a professional editor.*

penryn
  • darkninja500
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excellent Software. @download-ardamax-keylogger-withcrack.blogspot.com Download Ardamax Keylogger 4.1 with crack free and hack today facebook,twitter etc but don't mis-use it.

    Posted 08/26/2014
  • komandor
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This program is a milestone! I use it almost only for work with ini files, but it's very powerful in every programming language it supports. Welcome back to SourceForge, N++!

    Posted 08/24/2014
  • dannyforge
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    One of the best free editors. RegEx handling could be improved (i.e. on-the-fly highlighting like in EditPad Pro).

    Posted 08/23/2014
  • samotr
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I've used it for several years. Recently got a new PC at work and Notepad++ was already installed for me.

    Posted 08/19/2014
  • pateljayraj911
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This is the awesome App . i almost use it every day...

    Posted 08/19/2014
  • mevsme
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great tool! I miss tab lock function, so I couldn't close the tab.

    Posted 07/23/2014
  • sumanm2412
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I have been using this for last 2 years. I'm very much happy with it.

    Posted 06/30/2014
  • arnauld-c
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    A really great software. I just noticed a few annoying things: - I lost config.xml and stylers.xml several times for some unexplained reason. (But not recently, though. Was it fixed for good?) - I *know* that Hex-Editor is unstable. Still, I'm using it and don't want it to be disabled each time an update is applied. Oh, and thanks to tomf80 who triggered my curiosity about this easter egg that I didn't have a chance to "accidentally activate" so far, ahahaha. ;-)

    Posted 06/28/2014
  • i-d0nt-kn0w
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    My second most used tool for coding. My most used tool is, strangely, 7-Zip.

    Posted 06/23/2014
  • jonhp
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    An example of really great software!

    Posted 06/20/2014
  • justanewbee
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I have been the computer industry on and off since 1976 and examined heaps of software. NotePad++ 6.6.6 June 2014 is easy to use, has a very good selection of features from using Tabs, sorting, spell checkand being able to be used for other programming languages. The design is very good and pleasent to the eye, while the User settings for the program offer a vast (but not over bearing) array of setups, features and plug-ins. Although there is always inprovement, depending on ones own requirements, overall a great little program.

    Posted 06/20/2014
  • tomf80
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very offensive easter egg. Author removed the sexist ones, seems to still be including jokes with hatred toward Christians and babies. This program is used in professional work environments and contains an easter egg that if accidentally activated may lead to serious problems with the Human Resources department.

    Posted 06/18/2014
  • alhoseany
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    the best editor ever

    Posted 05/27/2014
  • documentative
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great product, which I use every day. But I would like the option of a custom settings folder, so I don't have to fiddle every time I upgrade. (I use it as a portable app.)

    Posted 05/16/2014
  • geograph2003
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Don't right auto detect encoding begin from version 6.5.5 Detect encoding Windows-1251 (Cyrillic) as Macintosh (Cyrillic). For example, I write text "Группа", after save & open I see "√руппа"

    Posted 05/15/2014
  • mg2w
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Notepad++ 6.6.1 IT fast SAVE!! d-(O_O)

    Posted 05/05/2014
  • trax72
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Awesome multi-purpose editor. Packed with useful features. The best one IMHO.

    Posted 03/17/2014
  • cernunnos667
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Its a great substitution to Windows notepad. Absolutely worth trying :)

    Posted 03/01/2014
  • gzhegow
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    When i select some strings with Shift+Alt and i putting on autocomplete tags - it cancelling the selecting and completing my symbol. Please fix it!

    Posted 02/24/2014
  • bukalemun
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    :)

    Posted 02/16/2014
  • mikeshallcross
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    A brilliant piece of software; easy to use, but with sophisticated functionality when needed. I regularly use the Column Editor and Replace functions to add line numbers to code in VBA. One very minor gripe; the Column Editor (Alt + C) dialogue box has no keyboard shortcuts. I'd be really grateful if these could be added!

    Posted 12/28/2013
  • ami-sh
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This a nice light still featured handy editor. I love it BUG, quite annoying regards Left-Right-Left writing (Alt-Ctrl-H Alt-CtrlL) Content starts show mirrored when switching from one to another since version 6.5.x I keep working with the 6.45 ... :-\ Would appreciate your: - responsion - bug fixed ;) Thanks, Ami

    Posted 12/12/2013
  • nfsgamer
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I absolutely love Notepad++; I have completely replaced MS Notepad with it. I use it on a daily basis. The one thing I would change about Notepad++ is I would add the ability to use the Ctrl+F4 hotkey to close the currently open tab (unless this is already supported and I have missed it, in which case I take that back).

    Posted 11/18/2013
  • rbrane7
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Would be nice to have 1-1 relationship between line of the original file and line in the 'grep' view when finding all occurrences of an item within file or files.

    Posted 10/02/2013
  • albertemmerich
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I have been working for a long time with NOTEPAD++. However after updating from a 6.2.x version to 6.4.1 it was no longer possible to work with big files (> 1 MB). Every change in the file takes an awful long time until NOTEPAD++ answers. I tried the 6.3.3 version - same problem. Going back to 6.2.2 the problem is resolved. So I cannot use any version higher than 6.2.x. Would be nice to resolve this problem in higher versions!!

    Posted 07/14/2013
Show next 25 reviews