Notepad++ Icon

Notepad++

1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 (677) Read Reviews | Last Updated
Windows
Back to Project

Reviews (677)

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
653
8
3
1
12
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5

Highest Rated

1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

I have been working for a long time with NOTEPAD++. However after updating from a 6.2.x version to 6.4.1 it was no longer possible to work with big files (> 1 MB). Every change in the file takes an awful long time until NOTEPAD++ answers. I tried the 6.3.3 version - same problem. Going back to 6.2.2 the problem is resolved. So I cannot use any version higher than 6.2.x. Would be nice to resolve this problem in higher versions!!

albertemmerich
vs

Lowest Rated

1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

In sorting missing: column #(the number)

xlogin48
  • f-u-off
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    one of the things i DEMAND that a text editor does all the time is that the program knows how to convert any .txt file into a .csv file, period! oh sure text editors have no problem converting all .csv files to .txt files but they never can do the reverse. That kinda shoddy professionalism was great for the end of the 20th century, but we now halfway through the second decade of the 21st century and this should have been solved and solved simplistically. If the said editors knows how to convert a .csv file into plain text then that same editor should know how to do the reverse. Therefore your product gets a 1. I would have asked this question of notepad++ support, but there doesn't seem to be any of that easily located on their webpage. NOT even an email support option easily linked to their front page of their site! And yes, i've tried a few times to save as and see how many types of different kinds of files the .txt file can be saved as. It does a bunch, but seeing as .csv files are what i call a major type of file format and there were about 20 different kinds of saved formats i could have chosen. I COULDN'T choose the kind i needed to save the information as cause the program i was writing the information for NEEDED the information in .csv format.

    Posted 02/28/2015
  • veita
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    In my opinion Notepad++ is simply the best free editor for Windows out there. We use it on a daily basis for log file analysis, where its searching and marking features do a great job. The only drawback is its lack for 64 bit support, so that larger files cannot be opened.

    Posted 02/22/2015
  • taakis
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    A must for every developer out there! Plugin-rich and nicely integrated macros make it a step above all others in Windows.

    Posted 02/14/2015
  • fb2nd
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    JeSuisCharlie I must respectfully disagree with Mr. penryn. The frightening cult of a suspect religion has gone on a rampage of ruthless, brutal, behavior calling on God as it's reason. For this reason it is incumbent upon any civilized person to denounce these actions in whatever medium they have at their disposal. I also must say, "Je Suis Charlie"! As to the post of mr/ms z-not they have a point. Although the tone of the post is a little harsh I must agree that it is one of the first things that should have been addressed. Will the lack of a correction stop me from using Notepad++, definitely not. I enjoy it's other delights! Now, maybe someone will "Remember the last used directory" ?? smiling and hope good weather is with you all. fbii

    Posted 01/24/2015
  • penryn
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    It was a great editor until the dev decided he should make it type out a political message on startup. I agree with the message, but it's totally wrong to exhibit malware-like behavior just to get your political agenda across *in a professional editor.*

    Posted 01/20/2015
  • k-a-r-e-n
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Perfectly

    Posted 01/08/2015
  • z-not
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This text editor could be the best if not one stupid, dumb, ridiculous and very annoying bug: option "Remember last used directory" doesn't work at all for a very long time, actually I noticed this problem many years ago and it's still here. I have no words to describe what I think about this bug... The worst thing that people so many times talked about it to the developers, but they don't care! This is something amazing, if you ask me... Looks like they simply trolling us by keeping this bug unfixed, I don't see other explanation.

    Posted 12/22/2014
  • dmitryzakharov
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Отличный редактор кода. Забыл когда начал им пользоваться.

    Posted 12/21/2014
  • thexfile
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Be careful. Sourceforge is still pushing a downloader.

    Posted 10/27/2014
  • liditu
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    love it, thanks for your work!

    Posted 10/17/2014
  • pushpender2087
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I have been working for a long time with NOTEPAD++. However after updating to 6.6.7 version it is not opening file automatically on its extension basis, for this i have to do manually select file's language from menu bar.

    Posted 09/02/2014
  • smovie9
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The tool for programmers!

    Posted 08/29/2014
  • ianstas
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    A great text editor for windows, with an open plug-in architecture and tons of useful plugins, a must for any windows user

    Posted 08/29/2014
  • darkninja500
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excellent Software. @download-ardamax-keylogger-withcrack.blogspot.com Download Ardamax Keylogger 4.1 with crack free and hack today facebook,twitter etc but don't mis-use it.

    Posted 08/26/2014
  • komandor
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This program is a milestone! I use it almost only for work with ini files, but it's very powerful in every programming language it supports. Welcome back to SourceForge, N++!

    Posted 08/24/2014
  • dannyforge
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    One of the best free editors. RegEx handling could be improved (i.e. on-the-fly highlighting like in EditPad Pro).

    Posted 08/23/2014
  • samotr
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I've used it for several years. Recently got a new PC at work and Notepad++ was already installed for me.

    Posted 08/19/2014
  • pateljayraj911
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This is the awesome App . i almost use it every day...

    Posted 08/19/2014
  • mevsme
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great tool! I miss tab lock function, so I couldn't close the tab.

    Posted 07/23/2014
  • sumanm2412
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I have been using this for last 2 years. I'm very much happy with it.

    Posted 06/30/2014
  • arnauld-c
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    A really great software. I just noticed a few annoying things: - I lost config.xml and stylers.xml several times for some unexplained reason. (But not recently, though. Was it fixed for good?) - I *know* that Hex-Editor is unstable. Still, I'm using it and don't want it to be disabled each time an update is applied. Oh, and thanks to tomf80 who triggered my curiosity about this easter egg that I didn't have a chance to "accidentally activate" so far, ahahaha. ;-)

    Posted 06/28/2014
  • i-d0nt-kn0w
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    My second most used tool for coding. My most used tool is, strangely, 7-Zip.

    Posted 06/23/2014
  • jonhp
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    An example of really great software!

    Posted 06/20/2014
  • justanewbee
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I have been the computer industry on and off since 1976 and examined heaps of software. NotePad++ 6.6.6 June 2014 is easy to use, has a very good selection of features from using Tabs, sorting, spell checkand being able to be used for other programming languages. The design is very good and pleasent to the eye, while the User settings for the program offer a vast (but not over bearing) array of setups, features and plug-ins. Although there is always inprovement, depending on ones own requirements, overall a great little program.

    Posted 06/20/2014
  • tomf80
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very offensive easter egg. Author removed the sexist ones, seems to still be including jokes with hatred toward Christians and babies. This program is used in professional work environments and contains an easter egg that if accidentally activated may lead to serious problems with the Human Resources department.

    Posted 06/18/2014
Show next 25 reviews