NAS4Free Icon

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
52
0
0
0
3
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • oid-3888835
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I'm not adept of FN8. I'm trying both on my my new NAS-box (Atom 525 on-board+4Gb+bootable USB). I found several bugs in N4F and then return to FreeNAS 8.0.4 - I can't directly edit rc.conf. Then I'm add row to rc.conf in GUI. But I can't delete that row later! "Minus" sign do nothing! I think that is just a GUI bug. - Root partition too small. With pkg_add I've got "out of space". I can't resize it on usb-flash. - It is easy to load drivers from FreeBSD 8 on FN8 and ifconfig up wlan0. Without direct edit rc.conf I can't even write 'wlans_run0="wlan0"' on N4F. In N4F GUI this line do nothing. Also In network settings there is no wlan. -- Andrew. Sorry for my english

    Posted 06/21/2012
  • henrieu
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    NAS4Free is so bad software that i run it now on my second nas4free server laying around. I verry happy with the software and say thanks to the developers agin for their good nice bad software they make. i did try freenas 8 but thats way to heavy with a bad gui. I like to say to all users, grab NAS4Free It is even better than freenas 0.7 series.

    Posted 06/16/2012
  • kfowler1981
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    NAS4Free has been great for me! It does everything I need it to do and more. I also find it easily customizable when adding new "features" as working with the code and easily understandable and clear. I was a huge fan of FreeNAS 0.7 legacy and used it up until it was continuted by NAS4Free. I love the webgui and how clean it is as well as easy to navigate. I hight suggest NAS4Free, as it is a must for me. Give NAS4Free a shot and I bet you will never look back!

    Posted 06/16/2012
  • maveri
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I find Nas4Free even more stable than FreeNAS - which I have used for years but am switching over to Nas4Free because the development under Nas4Free is so much better than it was under FreeNAS and peoples questions are answered quickly and politely My system is only small (Ubuntu 12.04 LTS, E6600 cpu, 8 gb ram) so FreeNAS's requirements are simply too high for what I want. I run Nas4Free in a VM so on my system tying up between 6 - 8 gb in a single VM client is simply too much Nas4Free is great - it gives me all the functionality of FreeeNAS 7 and it's more up to date and will continue to be supported going forward. Nas4Free is perfect for those FreeNAS have left behind William Grzybowski - you say you don't like it and that you switch to FreeNas - interesting since you contribute to FreeNAS as a developer - talk about a conflict of interest John Hixson who is also a contributor to FreeNAS (another conflict of interest perhaps?) gives reasons at least for not liking Nas4Free at least

    Posted 06/16/2012
  • zippybr
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    don't like it, i switch to freenas

    Posted 06/15/2012
  • jaslo58
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Guys,this project is great. Much better then Freenas 8 and OMV. I have check both of them. Keep it up Thank You

    Posted 06/14/2012
  • mikelongval
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excellent work. Thank you very much. I cannot say how much this system has helped me with my home networking needs. I have been working with Linux / RedHat and Ubuntu mostly for more than 10 years. This FreeBSD system beats Linux distros for NAS. Very very impressed.

    Posted 06/11/2012
  • bigbossde
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    For private and soho users much better then FN8. Based on FreeBSD 9 and in its range of functions mor than sufficient for all of us!

    Posted 05/18/2012
  • rblancarte
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great way to re-purpose old hardware. I have used NAS4Free since the old days of FreeNAS. This is just as good, just a different name. I recommend it to all!!!

    Posted 05/07/2012
  • pieter_
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great ! ! I work since years with Freenas (Live CD). Since yesterday --> NAS4Free. It's a warm bath! Keep up the great work guys.

    Posted 05/07/2012
  • chrisdowns
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Way better than FreeNAS8. Almost the same thing, just more up-to-date. Built on a newer version of FreeBSD than FreeNAS 8. Also handles USB 3.0 and a wider variety of USB flash drives from the get-go whereas in FreeNAS you have to find workarounds. Since FreeNAS split into two projects, one based on FreeBSD, and one based on Linux (OpenMediaVault), I think their development might slow down; while NAS4Free is running at full speed. Better HW support, newer base system, almost the same GUI you're already used to, different name...why not upgrade?

    Posted 04/22/2012
  • armandh
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    still finding my way but with previous FN7 experience Nas4Free x64 was a slam dunk. I am glad this very flexible but lean and light NAS will live on. 2 atom and one i3 running N4F-64 24/7 . so far 1 failed drive but the data was easily recovered

    Posted 04/20/2012
  • abysal311
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very good stuff. Running 2 zfs raidz pools stable. Thanks daoyama & zoon01 as well as the rest of the community for supporting this project!

    Posted 04/07/2012
  • kudlak
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    great software! :)

    Posted 04/07/2012
  • shmidd
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Как говорят у нас в России, низкий поклон Вам, за NAS4Free, ребята!

    Posted 04/03/2012
  • dw5304
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I been using nas4free since the days of freenas 0.69. seeing nas4free is based on the old freenas 7 code with a newer kernel FreeBSD 9 :). New hardware support among other things. When it comes down to it, it just works.

    Posted 03/25/2012
  • chromefoundry2
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The Freenas-0.7.5.2 to NAS4Free-9.0.0.1(29/beta) upgrade went flawlessly. I'm very excited about the new project! Performed upgrades to NAS4Free 9.0.0.1 (43) via web interface image upload. No problems.

    Posted 03/20/2012
  • hewimeddel
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thanks for continued development of this great software. Is there a plan when the first nightly and/or stable versions will be ready for download?

    Posted 03/19/2012
  • jhixson
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    nas4free is not stable, not intuitive in any way, hard to navigate and configure, and doing anything in the shell is nearly impossible. I recommend FreeNAS, it has more functionality, is more stable, and allows you to use the shell.

    Posted 03/18/2012
  • lux73
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excellent Guys! - Very goog NEWS! FreeNAS0.7.x aka NAS4free is still alive... Many THX to daoyama & zoon01 for their hard Work...! greetings from Germany

    Posted 03/17/2012
  • bodgeit2
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Brilliant news guys. Not so sure of the name but certainly 100% behind the sentiment. Looking forward to the future.

    Posted 03/16/2012
Show next 5 reviews