NAS4Free Icon

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
50
0
0
0
3
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • andreacer
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Easy & Functional

    Posted 03/30/2014
  • xflappjakk
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I've been running FreeNAS then NAS4Free in VirtualBox for small projects for years with no problems. Recently I decided to buid a home server using REAL hardware and have been running NAS4Free on it for a few months and everything has been working exactly as I expect. I am using the embedded version with 4x4TB HDDs in RAID-Z1 running NFS, CIFS, FTP, SSH, UPS, DDNS, iSCSI, BitTorrent, WebServer, pyTivo, pretty much all the services with both Linux and Windows Clients and I haven't had any problems at all. RAM consumption is low (about 30% of 4GB), performance is better than expected (on a Celeron G1620), the web GUI is easy to use and the price cannot be beat. I'd definitely recommend it to anyone looking for Network Attached Storage.

    Posted 03/04/2014
  • sleid1
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Fantastic software to change equipment without losing data. Extraordinary support via the forum. Keep it up.

    Posted 02/10/2014
  • xbmcg
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I love N4F! The best NAS solution I ever had. Now in production environment for more than 3 years, RAID1 with 3 drives ZFS (double redundancy) running 24x7. eventually drives died - easy replacement / resilvering - no data loss at all. I use the NAS with 2 plugins: phpVirtualBox running a pfsense firewall instance and ownCloud running in a jail environment - all data on N4F zfs storage, using SAMBA / ftp / ssh. Great extensibility and a lot of services available right in the box, easy configuration and opportunities to dive deep into the system. Uses very low system ressources by the way. Thanks for the great work! This is an amasing project!

    Posted 02/01/2014
  • fofftorrent
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Awesome NAS OS that can run ZFS on multiple platforms. Not a memory/resource hog like FN8!

    Posted 01/05/2014
  • alexma
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great ZFS-NAS !!!

    Posted 12/29/2013
  • hsn
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Way easier to setup then FreeNas 8

    Posted 07/27/2013
  • dvelazco
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Really easy, functional and a real perfomer!!! After loosing our time with soho NAS solutions linke EMC/IOomega and Linksys, we put and old Intel Atom with 512 mb. ram and two 1 Tb. sata disks and an Intel gigabit ethernet card. It works like a charm. Even performs better than 500 dolar "cheap" NAS solutions. You surely want raid2 and surely want the small footprint and requirements. Nas4free saved the day!! I really reccomend you give it a try when plannig a custom and also cheap NAS solution.

    Posted 06/20/2013
  • teolinux
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This project is really useful. The NAS server is very simple to install and manage. It is based on the solid FreeBSD, and features native ZFS filesystem. It can be installed to have a great scalable NAS, able to power a wide range of systems: from a small old pc to a serious enterprise level server. The community is very helpful and the forums are rich with tips and solutions. The developers are active and constantly upgrading and improving the product.

    Posted 06/12/2013
  • nttranbao
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very good NAS software. I used the embedded version to manage a 16Tb ZFS volume, and it works beautifully. Many thanks for the developers!

    Posted 06/03/2013
  • angelinagrom
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thanks very good project! +

    Posted 05/28/2013
  • tfileme
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great software, thank you.

    Posted 05/21/2013
  • davidshwinders
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Good application!

    Posted 05/13/2013
  • leocappri
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I also did after a lot of tests and tweaks on FreeNAS 8 switched over to NAS4Free. Configs are not compatible so a clean setup was done that went easy. Now i have way better performance in NAS4Free than in FreeNAS. When I use the windows explorer to open the shared dataset with over 3000 files and lots of directories, the list view in the explorer is filled in: FreeNAS 8: close to 1 minute. NAS4free x64: less than 1 second. I am glad that I stumbled across NAS4Free and will use this from now on only! Highly Recommended

    Posted 11/19/2012
  • kitwalker14
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    NAS4Free is vastly superior to FreeNas 8.x in every way. I also think it is incredibly poor form for the developers of FreeNas 8 to write negative reviews on the NAS4Free source-forge page. An absolute lack of professionalism on their behalf. Why don't you try to make a better product? that might help.

    Posted 10/01/2012
  • drpratten
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I was initially a bit disorientated about the name change to nas4free, but the team has just delivered. Keep up the good work. rock solid.

    Posted 09/23/2012
  • johnsnyder
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very good program nas4free.

    Posted 09/11/2012
  • hummeruli
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great NAS with nice features. Before NAS4Free, i tried freenas 8, but i think it's only the playground for the commercials.

    Posted 08/04/2012
  • shaftspice
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I love it. I had freenas7 working for just fine until I got some new hardware & thought raidz2 was what I needed in terms of redundancy. I tried Freenas8 and was really disappointed, so much missing & I had to start learning command line code to get basic stuff done. Then I learnt of Nas4Free, the real continuation of the freenas project & it had raidz2 support now too. Been rock solid since the day I installed. I was so happy to find Nas4Free.

    Posted 07/18/2012
  • jonaskello
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I got better write performance in NAS4Free than in FreeNAS 8.2 (with dd benchmark test).

    Posted 07/10/2012
  • edr2009
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Like the easy install and great ZFS function. Please continue the work. Bugs are to be found in the high priced payed software so any glitch that may be present is as far as I see quickly fixed. Thumbs up for Nas4Free!!!

    Posted 07/09/2012
  • rfksolutions
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The Natural Evolution of FreeNAS 0.7. Recommended

    Posted 07/07/2012
  • orazio77
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Ottimo prodotto sula base di Freenas ma piu veloce!! Con due schede di rete e LAGG "FEC" attivo leggo e scrivo a 45Mbit/s ,continuate cosi.

    Posted 07/01/2012
Show next 25 reviews