MuseScore Icon

Free music notation & composition software

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
109
1
0
0
4
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • gideonrv
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Version 2.0 is a great improvement. I like it more than Harmony Assistant and Finale Song Writer, which I have both. The only problem is that plugin writing is not documented well, but the average user doesn't need it.

    Posted 08/25/2015
  • rowild
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Awesome feature set also for classical modern music; incredibly easy to use; an exemplary software, not only in the music notation sector, but in the world of open source software in general

    Posted 05/09/2015
  • fromager
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    MakeMusic, the producers of Finale, ought to be getting seriously worried; although reviews comparing MuseScore 1.3 to Finale must have been based on comparison to Finale Notepad rather than the full version, with the release of MuseScore 2.0 the comparison is almost fully justified, at any rate as far as notation goes. The integration of Garritan sounds in Finale still puts it way ahead of MuseScore on the midi front, but for composers and music copyists for whom the score is the important thing, MuseScore has now become a serious contender. I have yet to put it through its paces with a really complex score, but don't doubt that it will be up to the job. Until now the industry standard, Finale is soon likely to be left far behind by the fact that MuseScore, as well as being free, is also available for Linux. Although as a long-term fan of Finale I don't really like to say this, I think I can hear the last nails being driven into Finale's coffin.

    Posted 04/12/2015
  • maddog930493
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Just started using it today, and I have three words. I Love It!!

    Posted 03/23/2014
  • alex787
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This is a great product that allows me to edit and create new scores easily, with a good and easy to use interface (UI), and supports what you want to do with it, musically. The keyboard/ other instrument playback of which notes and values are selected is a very useful tool. It also restores sessions if it expectantly closes. Overall, this is a very useful product for writing music, and best of all it is FREE. I would still pay for it. Thanks Muse score for a good product!

    Posted 11/04/2013
  • robertoharris00
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Even if this was not free, id still buy it.

    Posted 06/22/2013
  • rickysabio00
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    A great download!

    Posted 06/22/2013
  • kimmlian9
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    A quality app like this should make you guys millionaire.

    Posted 06/22/2013
  • istrebitjel
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I can't believe how easy it was to get started (once I figured out I need to press 'n' for note input mode), add chords and lyrics. Great job!

    Posted 05/27/2013
  • rusik1978
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thanks for great project! Simply the best.Good,good,good.+1

    Posted 05/19/2013
  • sever78
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very good project, thanks!Good,good,good.+1

    Posted 05/18/2013
  • tfileme
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Easy for use.

    Posted 05/17/2013
  • richmanandre
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Stable work. Good product.

    Posted 05/13/2013
  • alexdotcom
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Really good, I juste it a lot.

    Posted 05/02/2013
  • agoing2013
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    A very very good project!

    Posted 04/25/2013
  • chrismromero77
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Superb

    Posted 04/25/2013
  • steveaross2013
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Well done

    Posted 04/25/2013
  • ignorherigstad
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Impressing job pals!

    Posted 04/25/2013
  • ableavoing1983
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Nice, nice, nice!

    Posted 04/25/2013
  • kidneypain
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The very best on SF here, apreciate that!

    Posted 04/23/2013
  • alexvinn11
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very good project, thanks!Good,good,good.+1

    Posted 04/15/2013
  • clearnote
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    musescore is tied to pianofiles.com. The people who started both companies have done more harm to living composers than any one in the history of music. They have turned distribution of published works over to sneak thieves on their sites. This takes money away from living composers and keeps new works from entering the market. This is selfish beyond any crime I can think of short of murder. Thomas Bonte and Werner Schweer are cowards and sneaks hiding behind the stupidity of their site members. No two people have done more harm to the musical arts in modern times. There are already excellent notation software programs. Finale even provides a program better than musescore for free, and Finale isn't stealing sheet music from living composers. I am a long-term and well established musician, composer, educator, and publisher. I tell you again the people behind musescore are thieves of the worst kind. FAQ for PianoFiles.com Is your personal information safe on pianofiles.com? No. A growing coalition of composers, publishers and distributors are collecting pianofiles member profiles that include IP addresses, phone numbers, home addresses, and e-mails. What is pianofiles.com? A sheet music theft and counterfeiting website that deals in illegally copied editions of compositions by living composers. How can I get the sheet music I'm looking for? Honest people simply buy sheet music at a music store, order it on line, or go to a library. Is trading on pianofiles.com legal? The unauthorized reproduction or distribution of a copyrighted work is illegal. Criminal copyright infringement, including infringement without monetary gain, is investigated by the FBI and is punishable by up to five years in federal prison and a fine of 250 thousand dollars.

    Posted 04/10/2013
  • jimi78
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very good project, thanks!

    Posted 04/09/2013
  • blaskrusik1978
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very good project, thanks!

    Posted 04/05/2013
  • water-proof
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Good music tool!

    Posted 04/02/2013
Show next 25 reviews