Media Player Classic - Home Cinema Icon

An extremely light-weight, open source media player for Windows

Read Editorial Review

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
288
3
2
1
15
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • crash43
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    What a Fantastic Video player.........i love it and need to know how to be able to show the panel again.......that allows you to change the brightness hue contrast ect......Thanks

    Posted 09/17/2014
  • fantasticomid
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The great best for play digital tv

    Posted 09/08/2014
  • ds24a3
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I can't believe I have been using WMP12 for so long having this excellent player sitting wasted in my system. It may look outdated at first but it is an excellent and well designed player, Great Work and thanks for the developer!

    Posted 08/22/2014
  • aequilibriu
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I use MPC-HC for about 5 years, its the best player I could ever find for videos. Its extremely light and easy to configure and use. It also supports a lot more media extensions if you install a codec pack (such as K-Lite Mega Codec Pack (speaking of which, it was how I knew MPC-HC existed by using the installation options)).

    Posted 08/19/2014
  • deprisonne
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Media Player Classic works out of the box with most video formats (even mkv, flv and swf). The handling is oriented on common menu setups and keyboard-shortcuts, so anyone should be able to use it. It has options for advanced users with a home theater, but limits them to the ones which are actually useful (video, audio and subtitle rendering). I tested MPC as VLC got dizzy with some mkv-Videos (scrolling caused wrongly displayed flickering pixels or a green screen). So far I am impressed by the compatibility and ease of use.

    Posted 08/09/2014
  • moishep
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Not only is the player flexible, working with many formats such as MP4 and FLV, but it is also fast, using minimal resources. It works well both on modern laptops and even and ancient netbook, which had been unable to keep up with 720P videos until Media Player Classic - Home Cinema was installed. Thanks!!

    Posted 07/06/2014
  • baudav
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very good player, easy, more format, control by web,android.... light, all in one, no codec require for standard format, can work with windows codec.. why not this on linux, android ??

    Posted 05/21/2014
  • mhanor
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    My first choice for a video player.

    Posted 05/15/2014
  • gliderkite
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Best media player in Windows environment.

    Posted 05/06/2014
  • darney53
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great program, I it will play ISO, just drag & drop it.

    Posted 04/30/2014
  • hl3mukkel
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Serious competition against VLC, now if it would just play .iso files It'd be perfect :D

    Posted 04/20/2014
  • jimkovacs
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    SIMPLY THE BEST. A CLASSIC. AND FREE.

    Posted 02/27/2014
  • kuskovichboss
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    the world's best player

    Posted 02/26/2014
  • cydvukcesoyfred
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Best media player I've ever had. Plays nearly anything without problems. Don't need any other player.

    Posted 02/23/2014
  • wortesq
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    One of the best media players, maybe the best.

    Posted 02/13/2014
  • deanhouse
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Amazing software. I've been using it for many years. Thanks for a great project!

    Posted 01/28/2014
  • sch-ant
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    +

    Posted 01/26/2014
  • mijnkatter
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    it's a good media player can you make an android app from the media player and for ubuntu?

    Posted 01/09/2014
  • dirtythekid
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Feature-filled and customizable, lightweight, stable... Just does everything right. PC Media 101 begins with MPC-HC.

    Posted 11/15/2013
  • pizztashio
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    1.mpchcv1.7x if use external haali splitter for .avi than internal video decoder doesnt work, but use all haali other splitters than does work, haali splitters are faster than internal lav splitters 1.please integrate haali splitters instead of lav splitters 2.filter overides dont work right, i tried forcing ffdshow dxva (while i have ffdshow video set to raw-all supported to run second)but cant run both ffdshows dxva and ffdshows video decoder(for profiles), but can run internal lav then fdshow video 2.please fix so ffdshow can be forced to run first as dxva then second as video decoder OR integrate ffdshow i have many profiles(deinterlacing, denoise, sharpen for different movies) 3.i also pefer better sound of ALL ffdshow audio codecs(plus i have profiles set different audio types) so i disabled all internal lav audio codecs 3.please integrate ffdshow audio instead of lav audio filters info versions:-xpsp3 -ffdshowv3665 20101212 xhmikosr icl12(useinvdubradtoolsmpchc)because last version with x264 i have many profiles in vdub for ripping movies with ffdshow until i replace all with h265, -//xhmikosr.1f0.de/mpc-hc/ )(on oct 4 2013 i downloaded here newest nightly- MPC-HC.1.7.0.35.x86.exe 2013-10-03 22:20 10121 KB)( //sourceforge.net/projects/virtualdub/files/virtualdub-experimental/ )on feb 8 2013 i downloaded here newest experimental VirtualDub-1.10.3.35390 2012-12-28 1.9 MB

    Posted 11/10/2013
  • crawlball
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    One of my favourite media players, especially because of the PC shut-down function.

    Posted 10/22/2013
  • betaversion
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Best video player ever!

    Posted 10/05/2013
  • paopaowell
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    i'm always supporting and only use media player for my pc and i hope it update for latest version HD viewer software cause recently i had found a lot of media that no more supporting by media player but in VLC there are support almost all formatted please keep up the good work we always be with you :")

    Posted 09/30/2013
Show next 25 reviews