MPC-HC: Media Player Classic Home Cinema Icon

An extremely light-weight, open source media player for Windows®

Read Editorial Review

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
307
5
3
1
15
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • andresmrg
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Love it.

    Posted 05/25/2015
  • w1748587889
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very good media player,multi supported

    Posted 05/18/2015
  • nanabaakan
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I love this media player! I have been using it for years now. I go to other ones but always come back to it. the features are great, the only thing I would add is some editing/recording options. Otherwise, it is perfect and my most often used media player!

    Posted 05/17/2015
  • onampc
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Hi guys.I have a problem with the new MPC-HC & that is the "remember last window size" option doesn't work anymore in version 1.7.8.

    Posted 04/04/2015
  • freeco
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Fantastic media player! I've been using it for years now.

    Posted 03/20/2015
  • angel-krusha
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excellent....

    Posted 03/19/2015
  • duarterfd
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excelente, uso a anos.

    Posted 03/18/2015
  • johntrainor
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I love Media Player Classic, have used it almost exclusively for well over a decade. The one and only problem I have is that a new update will change the icon format I liked. Wish I could submit a photo of the icons. It's the silver ones that show the file type, then it was the music sheet with the music symbol and file type above it. The latest update discards my icon setup so I went back to the earlier version, (MPC-HC 1.3.1976.0). I'm so fond of this player that I am still giving it 5 stars. Thank you to the producers and developers for this excellent software!!! The sound is crystal clear, the video is perfect.

    Posted 03/07/2015
  • sanyix
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    It's a good movie player, but it has some bugs, and these can't be repored thanks to their new "trac" bug report systems which don't let you do anything, and full of bugs.

    Posted 03/04/2015
  • nixsar
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excellent player with an easy to use yet advanced functionality. Light on the design side though...

    Posted 02/27/2015
  • wireless-hd
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Oustanding ! It can play everything almost by itself ! For BD ISO or 3D BD ISO you have to use a Virtual drive with MPC-HC to be able to play them. But otherwise it's an 12 on 10 !!! It plays those SAMSUNG HEVC .TS Ultra HD 4k files with ease ! Marvelous !!!!

    Posted 02/06/2015
  • renzo1793
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very good

    Posted 01/21/2015
  • bobos277
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    EXCELLENT PROGRAM !!! BEYOND COMPAER !!!

    Posted 12/23/2014
  • hank000
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Hi, I have found only a problem creating video h265 low resolution with megui, when use last mpc-hc, the video doesn't start. Good work!

    Posted 12/01/2014
  • kate1888
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The best player in the world! Simply and clean!

    Posted 11/28/2014
  • philiparion
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thank you! Thank you! Thank you! Been using for years never had a chance to thank the developer. Err... THANK YOU!!! :)

    Posted 11/17/2014
  • not4nuthin
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    i have been using mpc since it came out...the people behind it are the most dedicated to function and utility as i have ever seen. every one and each of you have my sincerest thanks for not only a good product but also for keeping the faith. amen

    Posted 11/04/2014
  • lisamafia
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thank goodness. Finally an alternative dvd player that actually does what it says it should do. It plays clearly. I was totally disheartened with Microsoft's exclusion of a media player for Windows 8.1 but I shall refrain from ranting as I'm sure it has been done many times before me. Thank you for this lovely, free piece of software that works.

    Posted 11/03/2014
  • ericore
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Audio quality is horrible. Audio boost is horrible. VLC easily, without competition, beats MPC-HC audio performance. So much so, that I have abandoned the latest build. Though VLC can't play 4k, it sounds amazing. Can't say the same for Media Player Classic. Through your junk audio render-er into the garbage.

    Posted 10/26/2014
  • fearlessjwalker
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Much lighter and easier to use than VLC Player (which I also like) with almost as many options. Plays EVERY type of media file. Also lets you customize its splash screen and buttons which is super cool. @ jonbondy: Do you really need documentation? It's pretty easy to use.

    Posted 10/24/2014
  • bamfgsf
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very cool

    Posted 10/23/2014
  • moje75
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I like it

    Posted 10/22/2014
  • crash43
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    What a Fantastic Video player.........i love it and need to know how to be able to show the panel again.......that allows you to change the brightness hue contrast ect......Thanks

    Posted 09/17/2014
  • fantasticomid
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The great best for play digital tv

    Posted 09/08/2014
  • ds24a3
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I can't believe I have been using WMP12 for so long having this excellent player sitting wasted in my system. It may look outdated at first but it is an excellent and well designed player, Great Work and thanks for the developer!

    Posted 08/22/2014
Show next 25 reviews