Media Player Classic Home Cinema: MPC-HC Icon

An extremely light-weight, open source media player for Windows®

Read Editorial Review

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
297
4
2
1
15
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • bobos277
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    EXCELLENT PROGRAM !!! BEYOND COMPAER !!!

    Posted 12/23/2014
  • hank000
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Hi, I have found only a problem creating video h265 low resolution with megui, when use last mpc-hc, the video doesn't start. Good work!

    Posted 12/01/2014
  • kate1888
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The best player in the world! Simply and clean!

    Posted 11/28/2014
  • philiparion
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thank you! Thank you! Thank you! Been using for years never had a chance to thank the developer. Err... THANK YOU!!! :)

    Posted 11/17/2014
  • not4nuthin
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    i have been using mpc since it came out...the people behind it are the most dedicated to function and utility as i have ever seen. every one and each of you have my sincerest thanks for not only a good product but also for keeping the faith. amen

    Posted 11/04/2014
  • lisamafia
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thank goodness. Finally an alternative dvd player that actually does what it says it should do. It plays clearly. I was totally disheartened with Microsoft's exclusion of a media player for Windows 8.1 but I shall refrain from ranting as I'm sure it has been done many times before me. Thank you for this lovely, free piece of software that works.

    Posted 11/03/2014
  • ericore
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Audio quality is horrible. Audio boost is horrible. VLC easily, without competition, beats MPC-HC audio performance. So much so, that I have abandoned the latest build. Though VLC can't play 4k, it sounds amazing. Can't say the same for Media Player Classic. Through your junk audio render-er into the garbage.

    Posted 10/26/2014
  • fearlessjwalker
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Much lighter and easier to use than VLC Player (which I also like) with almost as many options. Plays EVERY type of media file. Also lets you customize its splash screen and buttons which is super cool. @ jonbondy: Do you really need documentation? It's pretty easy to use.

    Posted 10/24/2014
  • bamfgsf
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very cool

    Posted 10/23/2014
  • moje75
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I like it

    Posted 10/22/2014
  • crash43
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    What a Fantastic Video player.........i love it and need to know how to be able to show the panel again.......that allows you to change the brightness hue contrast ect......Thanks

    Posted 09/17/2014
  • fantasticomid
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The great best for play digital tv

    Posted 09/08/2014
  • ds24a3
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I can't believe I have been using WMP12 for so long having this excellent player sitting wasted in my system. It may look outdated at first but it is an excellent and well designed player, Great Work and thanks for the developer!

    Posted 08/22/2014
  • aequilibriu
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I use MPC-HC for about 5 years, its the best player I could ever find for videos. Its extremely light and easy to configure and use. It also supports a lot more media extensions if you install a codec pack (such as K-Lite Mega Codec Pack (speaking of which, it was how I knew MPC-HC existed by using the installation options)).

    Posted 08/19/2014
  • deprisonne
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Media Player Classic works out of the box with most video formats (even mkv, flv and swf). The handling is oriented on common menu setups and keyboard-shortcuts, so anyone should be able to use it. It has options for advanced users with a home theater, but limits them to the ones which are actually useful (video, audio and subtitle rendering). I tested MPC as VLC got dizzy with some mkv-Videos (scrolling caused wrongly displayed flickering pixels or a green screen). So far I am impressed by the compatibility and ease of use.

    Posted 08/09/2014
  • moishep
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Not only is the player flexible, working with many formats such as MP4 and FLV, but it is also fast, using minimal resources. It works well both on modern laptops and even and ancient netbook, which had been unable to keep up with 720P videos until Media Player Classic - Home Cinema was installed. Thanks!!

    Posted 07/06/2014
  • jonbondy
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Is there really absolutely no documentation at all? And no forum?

    Posted 06/28/2014
  • baudav
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very good player, easy, more format, control by web,android.... light, all in one, no codec require for standard format, can work with windows codec.. why not this on linux, android ??

    Posted 05/21/2014
  • luisppk
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Good media player. To be great, would be a charm if it shows ass subtitles effects correctly while playing the video.

    Posted 05/19/2014
  • mhanor
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    My first choice for a video player.

    Posted 05/15/2014
  • chrononaut
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    There is a considerable bug in version 1.7.5 . Auto-zoom no longer works, I've tried resetting to defaults, and reinstalling and removing reg files. Reverted back to 1.7.4. Great program otherwise, I've been using it for years keep up the good work!!

    Posted 05/14/2014
  • gliderkite
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Best media player in Windows environment.

    Posted 05/06/2014
  • darney53
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great program, I it will play ISO, just drag & drop it.

    Posted 04/30/2014
  • hl3mukkel
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Serious competition against VLC, now if it would just play .iso files It'd be perfect :D

    Posted 04/20/2014
  • jimkovacs
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    SIMPLY THE BEST. A CLASSIC. AND FREE.

    Posted 02/27/2014
Show next 25 reviews