User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
109
0
0
0
5
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • metric152
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Using a port of this on a Drobo FS and it works great. Much better than the other packages I've tried (mediatomb, fuppes). Highly recommend it.

    Posted 02/22/2013
  • adamsilva
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thanks minidlna

    Posted 02/13/2013
  • highdefinition
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very nice application. Used on Ubuntu Server. Works fine. Just one wish: resizing of cover art should be disabled!

    Posted 02/06/2013
  • kdeenkhoorn
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    MiniDLNA is just the thing i've searched for, small easy to use. Perfect for my 'reworked' terminal client hardware based media server.

    Posted 01/22/2013
  • mclark23
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Compiles and installs without any issues on Raspberry Pi - very impressive!! Haven't checked how many clients/workload it can support but stream video to an LG620 Blu-Ray client very nicely!

    Posted 01/03/2013
  • takkat
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great application that serves all our media content to various DLNA clients (Android via Bubble UPnP, IPDio Internet Radio, Samsung Smart TV). Once set up we never needed to touch it again. Brilliant!

    Posted 12/29/2012
  • wgcooley
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    minidlna is a fantastic program! It works great on my DD-WRT router. Allows me to run DLNA without leaving a power hungry computer on all day. I am extremely interested in seeing the cover art no-resize patch merged. I use minidlna with BubbleUPnP. The cover art is tiny and looks terrible when BubbleUPnP scales it. I know it's against DLNA standards, but could there be an option to set the resize, or choose a different size?

    Posted 12/25/2012
  • hitobashira
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very wonderful , great dlna server. I am using 12.04/12.10 ubuntu with japanese. Totem and rhthmbox can see dlna server with grilo. also vlc , banshee, xmbc, iOS6 can play. thank you.

    Posted 12/24/2012
  • camwalker
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    great program minidlna, thanks.

    Posted 12/17/2012
  • vannesaapril
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    must have project. minidlna is great.

    Posted 11/22/2012
  • dragonregiment
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Been looking for a good DLNA tool for my Raspberry Pi. This has satisfied all my requirements, including streaming to my Samsung TV.

    Posted 11/08/2012
  • diazleonardo
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Installed miniDLNA on my virtual Debian server about 6 months ago. It has been working n the background without any hitch with minimal configuration. My Samsung TV (UN32EH5300G) works perfectly, as VLC (Ubuntu, Windows) and gmusicbrowser (Xubuntu). Highly recommended if you want a set and go server.

    Posted 11/08/2012
  • dermit
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Perfect open source project!

    Posted 10/30/2012
  • thomasgonzales
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Reliable and stable, thanks minidlna

    Posted 10/27/2012
  • oid-4006805
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The Program works fine with Linux Mint and a Panasonic TX-L47DT50. After updating the Database everything works. This is what i call a good piece of Software. greetz Matze

    Posted 10/08/2012
  • ryanoconnor
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Works, very small, no complaints.

    Posted 09/12/2012
  • vambrose
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    So far seems to have the best support for my Samsung 5300 Series LED SmartTV ( UN32EH5300F) Just apt-get install minidlna and done! I would use Rygel instead, but miniDLNA gives me FastForward support.

    Posted 09/08/2012
  • kinduncan
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    great support, thank you guys!

    Posted 08/03/2012
  • lang1980
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very useful application, thanks!

    Posted 07/17/2012
  • isaque
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    miniDLNA was the only one that work fine with my LG Smart TV. Other media servers like MediaTomb, Plex and PS3 couldn't handle subtitles as they should and I've had to trans code videos and subtitles, what eventually was painful and caused my TV to end the stream right after started it. With miniDLNA, subtitles worked out of the box. I didn't have to specify anything in the config file. Although a few internal subtitles (.mkv files) failed, all of my external subtitles succeed, so after months of despair, I'm finally happy with my media server. Despite the name, this is not but a Huge DLNA solution. Congratulations to the whole team. Please keep going the good work.

    Posted 06/08/2012
  • skyrail
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    it is a nice tool, but il fails displaying images thumbnails when its not embedded in exif jpeg files. That is a major drowbacks, when you decide to look at your photos sets on TV and keep smaller files on the server (for multiple target: smartphone, tablet, tv ...and for fast browsing) or retouched versions. And most of images coming from he web does not contain thum preview in exif data. As a result, the thumbnails are not displayed by minidlna on samsung tv series . Windows7 is able to render thumbnail on these tv, even for image not containig exif thumbnail. Do you plan a fix to get rid of this on the fly or during scan process and store thumbs somewhere in database?

    Posted 06/06/2012
  • oid-3855366
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Fantastic work! Have it installed on a Ubuntu computer and watching MP4, MKV, AVI, XVID, DIVX, TS, PS, MPG, MP3, JPG it all works on the Samsung TV! Very reliable, very stable. No external media player :) Thanks a lot jmaggard!

    Posted 05/23/2012
  • boccagi
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    great project!

    Posted 05/12/2012
  • bderrly
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Easier to use than any of the other DLNA servers I found. It works well with my Samsung TV.

    Posted 04/28/2012
  • oid-3155850
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    use it on ubuntu 11.10 with Samsung TV works fine and reliable

    Posted 04/13/2012
Show next 25 reviews