User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
116
0
0
0
5
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • jcallero
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Awesome tool!

    Posted 05/12/2015
  • geco0ol
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    thumb up !

    Posted 03/24/2015
  • malat
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Run smoothly on an old Mac Mini G4 / 1Gb RAM ! Thanks much.

    Posted 02/23/2015
  • mcms09
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    great software, works out of the box.

    Posted 01/27/2015
  • frm
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I installed it on a BeagleBone and that's just great: I stream .mkv/.avi and other formats to my Samsung TV and almost always it works just fine. Great open source software!!

    Posted 12/28/2014
  • galaxyjim
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    i have nas4free server that i installed minidlna V4 on and it works flawlessly i am so very happy for for months i have tried to stop the pausing and the not playing on my hisencse TV but after i installed minidlna and configured it is amazing nice job !!! also can you update the link to donate? when i go to the link it gives me the 404 error thanks

    Posted 11/30/2014
  • den411
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I've been using minidlna for about two years. Prior to minidlna i thought DLNA was garbage and did everything over SMB due to so many issues. However this server is so good, family productivity has been reduced to zero because of the reliability of streaming movies. It is the first thing i ever installed that has been wife approved. I stream to Samsung Smart TV's (manufactured 2012-2014) PCs, android tablets, iphones, RK3066 tv sticks and seagate free agent theatre+. It seems to be the only simple, reliable, non-bloated dlna server out there. Configuration is cake. I've used this with a minimal install of ubuntu and now OpenBSD 5.6 with tremendous success. It undergoes constant use in my large family. It is very rare that i have an issue. Most of the movies i throw at it are MKV's, XVIDS, old avi's. I have had only one issue with special characters in filenames have screwed up the ordering of movies on the tv; ie you click on one movie and it is really three down. This is easy to fix by having sane filenames. My preference and standard are all lowercases with only dot (period) seperators For example rocky.ii.mkv, rocky.iii.mkv etc. Also have had no issues applying pictures to represent the movies , and downloading subtitles. Previous hardware was Intel DN2800MT Motherboard/Atom DN2800/2GB RAM on sata drives. Current hardware is AMD A6/16GB RAM running VMWare ESX which runs minidlnad in an OpenBSD VM with 512MB RAM along with other more resource-intensive VM's.

    Posted 11/12/2014
  • tirramissu
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    It's awesome. Feeds Samsung TVs with any kind of media via Wi-Fi. Runs perfectly on a tiny box with Atom D2700 processor and 4 Gb RAM inside. I use it only for video, audio interface lacks usability.

    Posted 09/29/2014
  • paceyiv
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great product. Tested on a Olimex A20 board: Allwinner A20 dual core Cortex-A7 processor

    Posted 08/12/2014
  • rafepren
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very simple to install! Works perfectly with my LG TV. Brings the subtitles, features as forwarding and backward without more configurations.

    Posted 07/19/2014
  • ingoratsdorf
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Best media server around. Fast, stable, reliable, small in fottprint. Eats almost all formats and is compatible witheverything I could possibly test it with. Glad to see development has started again as it needs more development for video, ie sorting for genre, actor, years, etc... And should extract album/cover artwork from embedded tags rather than folder images only.

    Posted 04/25/2014
  • stichelbiene
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Works like a charm.

    Posted 02/16/2014
  • kkuznetsov
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Easy, stable, works fine!

    Posted 02/12/2014
  • sfalcao
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Easy and reliable. Works pretty well including dual audio and subtittles. Tested configurations: (My DLNA server = miniDLNA + Ubuntu Server 13.10 + Shared NTFS HD + Wifi Router) (My DLNA server = miniDLNA + Ubuntu Server 14.04 + Shared NTFS HD + Wifi Router) Thanks to developer!

    Posted 02/08/2014
  • tehashx
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Works very well on AsusWRT routers!!!

    Posted 01/25/2014
  • flypig
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    A brilliant piece of software. Media streaming around the home was working in minutes, and the configuration files are clear and well-commented. Thanks for your great work.

    Posted 12/31/2013
  • itague
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Installed without problems on my D-Link DNS-320L, It works fine and very fast!

    Posted 11/13/2013
  • microbooster
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Superb and easy to use DLNA software. Set it up in just a couple of minutes. I use it to stream films to my LG BD player which acts as a decoder for my LG non-Smart TV

    Posted 08/02/2013
  • paulchen2013
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I'm still trying to create a WebInterface (just for viewing the data) Project available under: "minidlna-web" on Sourceforge Best regards PP

    Posted 07/05/2013
  • danieljohnson2
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very good project, thanks!

    Posted 06/26/2013
  • tammypalazzo
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Minidlna is excellent! Thanks.

    Posted 06/24/2013
  • melaniejensen
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great software, thank you.

    Posted 06/22/2013
  • saramills
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Minidlna is perfect! Thanks.

    Posted 06/18/2013
  • coloradokb
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Stupidly simple, easy and very effective for my needs. If I can set it up in minutes, anyone can! Thank you, thank you, thank you!

    Posted 06/13/2013
  • ivanhutchins
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very useful. Thanks.

    Posted 06/12/2013
Show next 25 reviews