User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
113
0
0
0
5
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • oid-3855366
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Fantastic work! Have it installed on a Ubuntu computer and watching MP4, MKV, AVI, XVID, DIVX, TS, PS, MPG, MP3, JPG it all works on the Samsung TV! Very reliable, very stable. No external media player :) Thanks a lot jmaggard!

    Posted 05/23/2012
  • boccagi
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    great project!

    Posted 05/12/2012
  • bderrly
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Easier to use than any of the other DLNA servers I found. It works well with my Samsung TV.

    Posted 04/28/2012
  • oid-3155850
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    use it on ubuntu 11.10 with Samsung TV works fine and reliable

    Posted 04/13/2012
  • travathanmen
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Perfect project, thank you so much for posting

    Posted 03/05/2012
  • gorgone
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    the transcoding patch works ! but i cant enable audio transcode only for (dts -> ac3 or mp3 or LPCM) without the patch i get the full hdtv resolution with the patch is allways transcodet to ugly 4:3 pal il try to fix this by myself but no luck ;-) i use it with my LG TV over dlna client Pragma: no-cache Cache-Control: no-cache Accept: image/gif, image/x-xbitmap, image/jpeg, image/pjpeg, image/png, text/html, text/xml, text/plain, application/json, application/atom+xml, application/xml, */* Accept-Language: ko-kr, ko;q=0.8, en-us;q=0.5, en;q=0.3 Connection: Close Range: bytes=10583856- User-Agent: Mozilla/5.0 (compatible; LG-HttpClient-v1.0.3 UPnP/1.1; MSIE 8.0; Windows NT 5.1; LG_UA; AD_LOGON=LGE.NET; .NET CLR 2.0.50727; .NET CLR 3.0.04506.30; .NET CLR 3.0.04506.648; LG_UA; AD_LOGON=LGE.NET; LG NetCast.TV-2011) serviio realize this with ffmpeg ffmpeg -i /home/Speicher/Filme/Serien/One Piece/E500-E600_HD/One Piece 517.mkv -y -threads 2 -async 1 -vcodec mpeg2video -b 8192k -maxrate 8192k -bufsize 8192k -r 30000/1001 -g 15 -copyts -acodec mp2 -ab 192k -ac 2 -map 0:0 -map 0:1 -sn -f vob /tmp/Serviio/transcoding-temp-760-MPEG2PS.stf but reencode the video

    Posted 02/27/2012
  • lpuname
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Everything works fine except mkv files cant able to recognize [Avatar] 2012-02-25 02:06:59 PST I'v success fully installed Starting MiniDLNA version 1.0.24 [SQLite 3.7.3] on my WBL NAS. I could able to watch avi, mpeg without any problems. But I can't see ..MKV files and are not showing on my SAMSUNG UA55D7000. Any workaround would be highly appreciated My USER-AGENT: DLNADOC/1.50 SEC_HHP_[TV]UA55D7000/1.0 Any help would be appreciated

    Posted 02/27/2012
  • zett-berlin
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Works well with the client on my Motorola Defy+. To set up the config is a bit of unusual but once found out it works just great. A little more debug on the commandline would be helpfull though...

    Posted 02/23/2012
  • oid-3720332
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very nice application without any kind of featureitis. Superfast bugtracking!

    Posted 02/07/2012
  • itoledo
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    excellent app, very fast and works with my samsung c series tv. highly recommended to download from CVS to check the newest updates.

    Posted 01/25/2012
  • oid-2936432
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Works very nicely on streaming music and video to my Xbox 360 :) I haven't tested all video formats, but at least avi's work nicely. It's up to the Xbox to play them anyway, so MiniDLNA is absolutely doing its job.

    Posted 01/23/2012
  • oid-3705130
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    works great! serves my LG BluRay and TV Set. however.. could there be a module or something to send data to LAST.FM ? unfortunately my bluray doesnt support this..

    Posted 01/20/2012
  • dataghost
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Awesome work. Using it on a daily base; very reliable. Thanks for this piece of software!

    Posted 01/16/2012
  • astralix
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Compiled on the target machin, installed and it's working fine. Clients are mostly Android devices and audio and pictures work fine. Unfortunately video still makes problems, but I pin that to the incomplete codec support of the several phones and tablets. I will report if I find the tricks and tweaks.

    Posted 12/30/2011
  • u0005
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I've Set up minidlna on my Openmediavault server where I keep several different video formats. On my LED TV LG32LE5500 I can play allmost every movie format I have stored except AVCHD HD camcorderfiles. Despite the announcement that SRT-subtitles are playing on LG TV i was only able to do that after renaming the avi+srt files in a name with a dot. (thismovie.avi+thismovie.srt in this.movie.avi+this.movie.srt) Thanks to Vladimir Panov who found out that if the title of a film does not have a dot in it then the (LGE) TV ignores the subtitles. Thanks to the miniDLNA team and hope to have an update for this issue. For the minidnla pluging my last wish is the support of AVCHD HD camcorderfiles The files (like '00076.MTS') starts to play, pauses after a few seconds and load the next part, plays, pauses again etcetc. Converting in any other format results in far less quality and a jerky picture.

    Posted 12/18/2011
  • mirrakor
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    miniDLNA itself is a very nice and tiny application, it works very reliable on ~25'000 files (mostly pictures, but also music and videos). However I couldn't help but noticing that many people downrate this app, due to DLNAs fault. DLNA ITSELF IS TOTAL CRAP - the idea is good though. If you want the details you can go read up on them on the blog of the uShare developer http://gxben.wordpress.com/2008/08/24/why-do-i-hate-dlna-protocol-so-much/ (so while I'm just a user, he knows the protocol in and out). IF something DOESN'T WORK it's probably your TV/PLAYER/CLIENT/..., I had that problem too with my Sony Bravia, which is apparently only able to play formats that are produced by a sony camcorder (nice move!), while it can play XviDs from a stick with no problems ... Well, fortunately my BluRay player on the other hand can even handle .mkvs streamed over the network (and served by miniDLNA).

    Posted 12/18/2011
  • fabriziomessina
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I bought the router / modem functionality included with dgnd3700 ReadyDLNA, I have a major problem folder view of all available TV (UE32C6510 Samsung, Sony Bravia KDL-26EX320). In practice, the TV's DLNA receiver does not receive the correct data on folder on the external drive connected to the USB port of your router. Negative Findings, I hope in a firmware update the router.

    Posted 12/10/2011
  • natch13
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    On TV SAMSUNG UE40B7000 doesn't work bookmarks.

    Posted 12/04/2011
  • oid-3620608
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Set up minidlna on my Debian server where I keep rips of all my movies. Accessed from my Samsung Galaxy S-II using Allshare. Works great! Plays avi's, mp3's, etc., with no problem whatsoever. Setup was very easy. Config files were well documented. Great work minidlna team! Thanx!

    Posted 11/14/2011
  • philz1
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I downloaded for my samsung tv and I could'nt play movies , pictures neither music! as well than mediatomb.... just have to set up windows for using pc share manager.... or find the good way...

    Posted 11/03/2011
  • stativ
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Compared to mediatomb, fuppes and ps3 media server this is the only client which worked without any issues with my Samsung TV. I also like MiniDLNA's simplistic file-based configuration.

    Posted 10/29/2011
  • damo12
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Fantastic program, easy to set up and so easy to use. For use on Ubuntu server, have a look at my guide at http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1866520

    Posted 10/21/2011
  • eyp
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very easy to set up. Works fine in Ubuntu 10.04. You have a DLNA server in less than 5 minutes.

    Posted 10/02/2011
  • djester
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Bestest software ever!

    Posted 09/20/2011
  • oid-3526365
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Works great running on X86_64 Arch Linux.

    Posted 08/29/2011
Show next 25 reviews