User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
108
0
0
0
5
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • paceyiv
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great product. Tested on a Olimex A20 board: Allwinner A20 dual core Cortex-A7 processor

    Posted 08/12/2014
  • rafepren
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very simple to install! Works perfectly with my LG TV. Brings the subtitles, features as forwarding and backward without more configurations.

    Posted 07/19/2014
  • ingoratsdorf
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Best media server around. Fast, stable, reliable, small in fottprint. Eats almost all formats and is compatible witheverything I could possibly test it with. Glad to see development has started again as it needs more development for video, ie sorting for genre, actor, years, etc... And should extract album/cover artwork from embedded tags rather than folder images only.

    Posted 04/25/2014
  • stichelbiene
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Works like a charm.

    Posted 02/16/2014
  • kkuznetsov
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Easy, stable, works fine!

    Posted 02/12/2014
  • sfalcao
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Easy and reliable. Works pretty well including dual audio and subtittles. Tested configurations: (My DLNA server = miniDLNA + Ubuntu Server 13.10 + Shared NTFS HD + Wifi Router) (My DLNA server = miniDLNA + Ubuntu Server 14.04 + Shared NTFS HD + Wifi Router) Thanks to developer!

    Posted 02/08/2014
  • tehashx
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Works very well on AsusWRT routers!!!

    Posted 01/25/2014
  • flypig
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    A brilliant piece of software. Media streaming around the home was working in minutes, and the configuration files are clear and well-commented. Thanks for your great work.

    Posted 12/31/2013
  • itague
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Installed without problems on my D-Link DNS-320L, It works fine and very fast!

    Posted 11/13/2013
  • microbooster
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Superb and easy to use DLNA software. Set it up in just a couple of minutes. I use it to stream films to my LG BD player which acts as a decoder for my LG non-Smart TV

    Posted 08/02/2013
  • paulchen2013
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I'm still trying to create a WebInterface (just for viewing the data) Project available under: "minidlna-web" on Sourceforge Best regards PP

    Posted 07/05/2013
  • danieljohnson2
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very good project, thanks!

    Posted 06/26/2013
  • tammypalazzo
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Minidlna is excellent! Thanks.

    Posted 06/24/2013
  • melaniejensen
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great software, thank you.

    Posted 06/22/2013
  • saramills
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Minidlna is perfect! Thanks.

    Posted 06/18/2013
  • coloradokb
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Stupidly simple, easy and very effective for my needs. If I can set it up in minutes, anyone can! Thank you, thank you, thank you!

    Posted 06/13/2013
  • ivanhutchins
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very useful. Thanks.

    Posted 06/12/2013
  • nickweeds
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I wanted a UPnP media server to stream music to a Naim ND5XS and tried out several UPnP media servers running on Ubuntu Linux. Overall I tried XBMC, Serviio, and PS3 Media Server and MiniDLNA. The only one that was really satisfactory for me was MiniDLNA. Advantages: - Works reliably with my Naim ND5XS and Naim n-Stream. - Good music browsing. - Easy to install and fully integrated with Ubuntu. - Easy to configure. - Relatively simple - it just works (more complex alternatives have more to go wrong)

    Posted 06/08/2013
  • anitahulsey
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thanks for Minidlna, it's excellent!

    Posted 06/04/2013
  • hoenicke
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I searched for a reliable DLNA server with a small memory footprint to run on my NAS (with only 256 MB memory) mainly to serve my video collection. This program fits my requirements nicely. It is much faster and more reliable than the Java-based media server, I used before, especially for large directories. And once you find out how to write nfo files, you can even make the video collection look nice. On the downside, the automatic synchronisation does not work perfectly; it does not rescan nfo-files if they are added later or changed, you have to touch the video file. If you change many files at once the synchronisation may miss some files. Album arts for video directories (e.g. for TV series) do not work (this maybe a problem of my TV or of DLNA in general). And sometimes my TV repeatedly crashes when I enter a specific directory, but this could also be a bug in my TV. In that case it may help to copy the files in a new directory and remove the old one. If you look for a small and fast DLNA server, then, in my opinion, minidlna is the best choice.

    Posted 05/18/2013
  • ryannorthrup
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    My mom needed a media server to host her music from so she could listen to it on her PlayStation 3 without having to put it on the PS3 or leave her Windows 7 laptop running. I grabbed an older laptop, stuck Slackware on it, and (using a SlackBuild) compiled/installed MiniDLNA. Works like a charm! Once I threw in Samba (so she can use her laptop to add/remove music files), she was all set and good to go. Made for quite the Mothers' Day present.

    Posted 05/15/2013
  • tswaehn
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    You did a great job! Very small footprint server. It did run out of the box. I had to setup my pictures/mp3 and video folders - that's it! I display all my media from my computer on my TV set. Very handy tool. best -tswaehn

    Posted 05/12/2013
  • tfileme
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very good Software.

    Posted 05/10/2013
  • shredman
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I like the minidlna plugin on my vu+ uno sat reciever. It streams almost everything and the best, my LG55 LM960v is able to jump forward and backwards in mkv movies. One week ago, I installed the sourceforge minidlna on my debian squeeze server to have another storage place for my mkv's but this minidlna doesn't support jumping for/rev in mkv movies ? I tried different versions from 1.0.20 to 1.0.25 without success. Where are the differences between enigma minidlna plugin and sourceforge minidlna ? OK, different architecture but one supports jumping for/rev in mkv's, the other not :-( Is this a bug ore an unwanted feature ? Is it possible to get a fix for this elemental function. If I cannot jump for/rev in mkv movies to different positions, minidlna is useless for me. It would be great when anyone can help. thanks in advance regards, Frank

    Posted 03/20/2013
  • metric152
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Using a port of this on a Drobo FS and it works great. Much better than the other packages I've tried (mediatomb, fuppes). Highly recommend it.

    Posted 02/22/2013
Show next 25 reviews