User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
118
0
0
0
5
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • vambrose
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    So far seems to have the best support for my Samsung 5300 Series LED SmartTV ( UN32EH5300F) Just apt-get install minidlna and done! I would use Rygel instead, but miniDLNA gives me FastForward support.

    Posted 09/08/2012
  • kinduncan
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    great support, thank you guys!

    Posted 08/03/2012
  • lang1980
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very useful application, thanks!

    Posted 07/17/2012
  • isaque
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    miniDLNA was the only one that work fine with my LG Smart TV. Other media servers like MediaTomb, Plex and PS3 couldn't handle subtitles as they should and I've had to trans code videos and subtitles, what eventually was painful and caused my TV to end the stream right after started it. With miniDLNA, subtitles worked out of the box. I didn't have to specify anything in the config file. Although a few internal subtitles (.mkv files) failed, all of my external subtitles succeed, so after months of despair, I'm finally happy with my media server. Despite the name, this is not but a Huge DLNA solution. Congratulations to the whole team. Please keep going the good work.

    Posted 06/08/2012
  • skyrail
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    it is a nice tool, but il fails displaying images thumbnails when its not embedded in exif jpeg files. That is a major drowbacks, when you decide to look at your photos sets on TV and keep smaller files on the server (for multiple target: smartphone, tablet, tv ...and for fast browsing) or retouched versions. And most of images coming from he web does not contain thum preview in exif data. As a result, the thumbnails are not displayed by minidlna on samsung tv series . Windows7 is able to render thumbnail on these tv, even for image not containig exif thumbnail. Do you plan a fix to get rid of this on the fly or during scan process and store thumbs somewhere in database?

    Posted 06/06/2012
  • oid-3855366
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Fantastic work! Have it installed on a Ubuntu computer and watching MP4, MKV, AVI, XVID, DIVX, TS, PS, MPG, MP3, JPG it all works on the Samsung TV! Very reliable, very stable. No external media player :) Thanks a lot jmaggard!

    Posted 05/23/2012
  • boccagi
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    great project!

    Posted 05/12/2012
  • bderrly
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Easier to use than any of the other DLNA servers I found. It works well with my Samsung TV.

    Posted 04/28/2012
  • oid-3155850
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    use it on ubuntu 11.10 with Samsung TV works fine and reliable

    Posted 04/13/2012
  • travathanmen
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Perfect project, thank you so much for posting

    Posted 03/05/2012
  • gorgone
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    the transcoding patch works ! but i cant enable audio transcode only for (dts -> ac3 or mp3 or LPCM) without the patch i get the full hdtv resolution with the patch is allways transcodet to ugly 4:3 pal il try to fix this by myself but no luck ;-) i use it with my LG TV over dlna client Pragma: no-cache Cache-Control: no-cache Accept: image/gif, image/x-xbitmap, image/jpeg, image/pjpeg, image/png, text/html, text/xml, text/plain, application/json, application/atom+xml, application/xml, */* Accept-Language: ko-kr, ko;q=0.8, en-us;q=0.5, en;q=0.3 Connection: Close Range: bytes=10583856- User-Agent: Mozilla/5.0 (compatible; LG-HttpClient-v1.0.3 UPnP/1.1; MSIE 8.0; Windows NT 5.1; LG_UA; AD_LOGON=LGE.NET; .NET CLR 2.0.50727; .NET CLR 3.0.04506.30; .NET CLR 3.0.04506.648; LG_UA; AD_LOGON=LGE.NET; LG NetCast.TV-2011) serviio realize this with ffmpeg ffmpeg -i /home/Speicher/Filme/Serien/One Piece/E500-E600_HD/One Piece 517.mkv -y -threads 2 -async 1 -vcodec mpeg2video -b 8192k -maxrate 8192k -bufsize 8192k -r 30000/1001 -g 15 -copyts -acodec mp2 -ab 192k -ac 2 -map 0:0 -map 0:1 -sn -f vob /tmp/Serviio/transcoding-temp-760-MPEG2PS.stf but reencode the video

    Posted 02/27/2012
  • lpuname
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Everything works fine except mkv files cant able to recognize [Avatar] 2012-02-25 02:06:59 PST I'v success fully installed Starting MiniDLNA version 1.0.24 [SQLite 3.7.3] on my WBL NAS. I could able to watch avi, mpeg without any problems. But I can't see ..MKV files and are not showing on my SAMSUNG UA55D7000. Any workaround would be highly appreciated My USER-AGENT: DLNADOC/1.50 SEC_HHP_[TV]UA55D7000/1.0 Any help would be appreciated

    Posted 02/27/2012
  • zett-berlin
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Works well with the client on my Motorola Defy+. To set up the config is a bit of unusual but once found out it works just great. A little more debug on the commandline would be helpfull though...

    Posted 02/23/2012
  • oid-3720332
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very nice application without any kind of featureitis. Superfast bugtracking!

    Posted 02/07/2012
  • itoledo
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    excellent app, very fast and works with my samsung c series tv. highly recommended to download from CVS to check the newest updates.

    Posted 01/25/2012
  • oid-2936432
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Works very nicely on streaming music and video to my Xbox 360 :) I haven't tested all video formats, but at least avi's work nicely. It's up to the Xbox to play them anyway, so MiniDLNA is absolutely doing its job.

    Posted 01/23/2012
  • oid-3705130
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    works great! serves my LG BluRay and TV Set. however.. could there be a module or something to send data to LAST.FM ? unfortunately my bluray doesnt support this..

    Posted 01/20/2012
  • dataghost
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Awesome work. Using it on a daily base; very reliable. Thanks for this piece of software!

    Posted 01/16/2012
  • astralix
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Compiled on the target machin, installed and it's working fine. Clients are mostly Android devices and audio and pictures work fine. Unfortunately video still makes problems, but I pin that to the incomplete codec support of the several phones and tablets. I will report if I find the tricks and tweaks.

    Posted 12/30/2011
  • u0005
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I've Set up minidlna on my Openmediavault server where I keep several different video formats. On my LED TV LG32LE5500 I can play allmost every movie format I have stored except AVCHD HD camcorderfiles. Despite the announcement that SRT-subtitles are playing on LG TV i was only able to do that after renaming the avi+srt files in a name with a dot. (thismovie.avi+thismovie.srt in this.movie.avi+this.movie.srt) Thanks to Vladimir Panov who found out that if the title of a film does not have a dot in it then the (LGE) TV ignores the subtitles. Thanks to the miniDLNA team and hope to have an update for this issue. For the minidnla pluging my last wish is the support of AVCHD HD camcorderfiles The files (like '00076.MTS') starts to play, pauses after a few seconds and load the next part, plays, pauses again etcetc. Converting in any other format results in far less quality and a jerky picture.

    Posted 12/18/2011
  • mirrakor
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    miniDLNA itself is a very nice and tiny application, it works very reliable on ~25'000 files (mostly pictures, but also music and videos). However I couldn't help but noticing that many people downrate this app, due to DLNAs fault. DLNA ITSELF IS TOTAL CRAP - the idea is good though. If you want the details you can go read up on them on the blog of the uShare developer http://gxben.wordpress.com/2008/08/24/why-do-i-hate-dlna-protocol-so-much/ (so while I'm just a user, he knows the protocol in and out). IF something DOESN'T WORK it's probably your TV/PLAYER/CLIENT/..., I had that problem too with my Sony Bravia, which is apparently only able to play formats that are produced by a sony camcorder (nice move!), while it can play XviDs from a stick with no problems ... Well, fortunately my BluRay player on the other hand can even handle .mkvs streamed over the network (and served by miniDLNA).

    Posted 12/18/2011
  • fabriziomessina
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I bought the router / modem functionality included with dgnd3700 ReadyDLNA, I have a major problem folder view of all available TV (UE32C6510 Samsung, Sony Bravia KDL-26EX320). In practice, the TV's DLNA receiver does not receive the correct data on folder on the external drive connected to the USB port of your router. Negative Findings, I hope in a firmware update the router.

    Posted 12/10/2011
  • natch13
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    On TV SAMSUNG UE40B7000 doesn't work bookmarks.

    Posted 12/04/2011
  • oid-3620608
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Set up minidlna on my Debian server where I keep rips of all my movies. Accessed from my Samsung Galaxy S-II using Allshare. Works great! Plays avi's, mp3's, etc., with no problem whatsoever. Setup was very easy. Config files were well documented. Great work minidlna team! Thanx!

    Posted 11/14/2011
  • philz1
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I downloaded for my samsung tv and I could'nt play movies , pictures neither music! as well than mediatomb.... just have to set up windows for using pc share manager.... or find the good way...

    Posted 11/03/2011
Show next 25 reviews