Midi Sheet Music Icon

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
40
1
1
0
1
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • aarchambault
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great MIDI file reader. Simple, useful, extensively multi-platform. Good rendering of musical signs. Tested sucessfully under Linux and Android.

    Posted 09/16/2012
  • lukebrooks
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very easy to use midisheetmusic

    Posted 09/15/2012
  • fschweickert
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I'm happy with this! Since my goal is learning piano pieces by heart as quick as possible rather than reading scores in real time, this enables me to use any midi file from the Internet, transpose it to easy C major / a minor and let the software show me the keys to press while following the colour coded notes. This way I can get really quick to the good part of "interpreting" pieces of medium difficulty on my own...

    Posted 09/10/2012
  • migtei
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Using on ubuntu 12.04 . Brilliant program for various uses. Before, I had to use musescore with jack hooked to vkeyb to do this. Great for songreading execises, but needs a metromome to be the perfect tool. A different color for each hand on the keyboard, looping selected measures, and the speed adjustment are very helpful features for learning keyboardists. On multitrack midis you can solo a track/instrument to learn it, or play only the combined selected tracks so you can fill in with your instrument. The hardwired use of timidity as synth is the only choice as midisheetmusic does not appear in alsa midi, therefore no way to route it to fluidsynth (qsynth) or other better soundfont synth. Slight latency between sound and note visual, probably due to timidity (no way to modify the options it uses in timidity to improve it). After playing each midi file OK, it leaves a "timidity defunct" process, and launches a new timidity process for the next file, and so on. Does not use the timidity synth in daemon mode, but launches its own. Looking forward to the next release. Thanks for not forgetting linux users. Love it.

    Posted 08/21/2012
  • ashwinirao123
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Best free music sheet software... Used it for new composition upload: www.wassupmusic.com Thanks a lot

    Posted 07/11/2012
  • oid-3857536
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Wow, an excellent program. Sheer genius in design and coding and great generosity to share. As an ex-midi programmer (circa 1995) I feel so proud to see such classy tools being built and shared. Suggested features: Step mode: show one beats worth and sound it and then next after I click. Chord symbols above the score like a fake book :)

    Posted 05/25/2012
  • matias77maui
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    congratulations to the developer!!!!

    Posted 04/21/2012
  • oid-3810515
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excellent SW. Highly friendly to use. Thanks a lot Madhav. Had some problem where the sound was not audible. Found that the SW synth was in mute. Version 2.3 seem to have small problem to print the sample music. Possibly due to / in the filename.

    Posted 04/15/2012
  • enginerd-45
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This is a great piece of music software. Along with Anvil Studio for composing, Sekaiju MIDI for viewing and editing an entire score, and MIDI to MP3 converter, I use the windows version of MIDI Sheet Music to print music I am working on. I use the android version to play a melody which I happen to be humming and which I write down using Melorandum (the only android software I found which attempts to generate notes based on the length of the key press). I love the fact that music can be slowed down, so I can see the interactions with various instruments at a very slow pace with the zoom to 100% feature. The only annoyance is the default of scrolling vertically. I want to be able to save scrolling horizontally as my default. I am an engineer, not a musician, but MIDI Sheet Music lets me pretend to be one. Grin. Keep up the good work!!

    Posted 04/08/2012
  • ameliaamelia
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Desired Additions: 1- Select the MIDI port (internal:Microsoft ... external:midi device) 2- The display of the Measure number 3- The display of the Time elapsed It is a great program.

    Posted 03/24/2012
  • henrycooper
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    great product

    Posted 03/22/2012
  • webrunner23
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    simple and efficient, super light, very beautiful and reactive, this is the best free tool for scoring midi music , still better than some paid tools , thank you Mr. vaidy , Just one thing : it would be nice to also have the Italian notation: do, re, mi ...

    Posted 02/03/2012
  • oid-3686514
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very impressed. Notes/scores are displayed in a beautiful 'font' with colorized notes available as well as MANY options including displaying note letters, removing/changing instruments, change key signatures, transpose notes etc. I wish you could jump to a specific point by clicking on the staff instead of just skip ahead/back one bar at a time. Maybe also an option just to play/loop specific bars. Also it would be nice to be able to save changes to a new midi file. Madhav, I appreciate all your efforts and your sharing your work. Version 2.2 on Win7x64.

    Posted 01/04/2012
  • oid-3065257
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    For a newbie reading music scores, this is a great tool. Thank you

    Posted 10/15/2011
  • mgigani
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I think this is the best free sheet music program. It is a sham that only 18 people have chose to comment. it shows that in last 5 days there were 538 downloads so I dont know how many people have downloaded since Madhav has posted it. I think Madhav should be commended for his effort. I do have one request. I am assuming that the name is Indian (pardon me for my mistake). It will also be great to put sargam notation option for note names in addition to current western notation name of CDEFGABC. Just a thought for you to do when there is nothing better for you to do. I am perfectly fine with CDEFGABC as I am just learning to play. Thanks a lot for this upload.

    Posted 08/11/2011
  • yingda
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This really can be very useful. At this stage, it does have some serious deficiencies. It is confused regarding the key (especially if the midi has key changes). Also, it fails to show time signatures. Hopefully both can improve.

    Posted 07/27/2010
  • tchibo
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Compiles and runs with Mono on Linux, too. I have downloaded the 1.4-win source, imported the project into Monodevelop and succeeded without any hack.

    Posted 03/09/2010
  • programus
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great software. But I found it seems can not display the note like c#, d#...

    Posted 12/24/2009