Maxima -- GPL CAS based on DOE-MACSYMA Icon

Computer Algebra System written in Common Lisp

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
47
1
0
0
2
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • difcacages
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    A fantastic example of Open Source at its best!

    Posted 06/02/2012
  • wabepharma
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very very effective application to use.

    Posted 06/02/2012
  • kapojko
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very useful CAS with widest function range, use it for years. Unfortunately, it's far behind commercial CAS like Maple.

    Posted 05/30/2012
  • dzikes
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great software, simple and easy to install

    Posted 05/08/2012
  • wacekplacek
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very cool program

    Posted 05/06/2012
  • danhill365
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    simple and straight forward to use

    Posted 03/16/2012
  • fianilsson
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very nice program

    Posted 03/05/2012
  • analonmen
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Good project, thanks a ton for posting

    Posted 03/03/2012
  • amgofer
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Maxima is very useful CAS.

    Posted 03/03/2012
  • sosed
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Maxima, Thanks a lot!

    Posted 03/01/2012
  • alexreviewer
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    It's so cool! thanks

    Posted 03/01/2012
  • ivaneblan
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I think this even better that Mathcad

    Posted 02/29/2012
  • jorgerev
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Maxima is a great tool. I'm vary placed to use it.

    Posted 02/16/2012
  • ponyox
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I'm mathematician and professor, and Maxima is a great CAS to work at classes. I and my students of Engineering, work with it. Actually I recomend it to collegues and students of Sciencies and Engineerings. Maxima is extremly easy to use. Before, I used to use Maple, but now I'm a Maxima user.

    Posted 10/09/2011
  • quintanj
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This is a great alternative to commercial CAS with the potential to become the most powerful integrated environment for everyday scientific computing.

    Posted 09/21/2011
  • starker
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Maxima rocks.

    Posted 07/30/2011
  • wujekzbyszek
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very good project

    Posted 02/15/2011
  • peterc_555
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    While not bug free, and a little terse, Maxima is very usable and produces reliable and understandable output.

    Posted 06/24/2010
  • lerkru
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great alternative to Maple

    Posted 06/06/2010
  • oid-2862869
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    For me, Maxima is a first class CAS, comparable with other, mostly commercial, software of the type.

    Posted 03/30/2010
  • sangwinc
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great CAS - don't be put off by the user interface. Under the hood is some good maths....

    Posted 02/09/2010
  • rjkimble
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Maxima is great for a free computer algebra system. It's not as good as Mathematica or Maple, but then again, it's free. It's quite useful as an occasional scratchpad.

    Posted 08/23/2009