Macbuntu Icon

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
55
0
0
0
6
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 5 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • achimschroer
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Hello, I just installed macbuntu on a 10.4 distribution. It works and looks great, in some regards even better than the real Mac OS. Even windows may be changed in size from all 4 border lines ... great. I have one question: I installed it from my home directory by ./install.sh force I'm the admin of the computer. My children are users with restricted rights. How can they use macbuntu for them too without installing it on each single account? Thanks for your answer. Achim

    Posted 01/28/2012
  • yadhu
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    how can i make the genie effect?

    Posted 01/24/2012
  • oid-3704385
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I'm having trouble running this with 11.10, I did everything you guys said. It's like half installed, I would really appreciate some help. I can't seem to get the top panel to look like OSX. What are you guys running this under, GNOME? or UNITY?

    Posted 01/20/2012
  • maddy984
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Hi I downloaded the file and i did as you said. I chose wobbly window while installation but it is not working. Give me the solution to make it work fine..Thanks in advance..maddy984

    Posted 01/11/2012
  • oid-3682328
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thank you very much! This is very nice! I installed this on Ubuntu Natty 11.04 with no problems. Just edit the install.sh and uninstall.sh files. Open install.sh and change UBUVER="10.10" UBUNTU="Ubuntu $UBUVER" TO UBUVER="11.04" UBUNTU="Ubuntu $UBUVER" and save it. Do the same for the uninstall.sh You can do the same with 11.10 Cheers

    Posted 12/31/2011
  • blackender
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I'm trying to intall it in 11.10

    Posted 12/27/2011
  • sdan8
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Worked perfectly with 11.10! Just follew OpenID user's instructions and viola!

    Posted 12/21/2011
  • gnuhub
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thank you very much.

    Posted 12/16/2011
  • oid-3659143
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Works perfectly in Ubuntu 11.04! Thank you Macbuntu Team! For those of you attempting to install this in 11.04 (I'm assuming the following will work with 11.10 as well, though I haven't tried it), you need to edit the install.sh file (while in Ubuntu, double-click it, and click Display), and change the UBUVER value to your current Ubuntu version (default is "10.10", simply change to "11.04" or "11.10"), click save, and exit the text editor. Then double click install.sh again, but this time click Run in Terminal. A terminal window will appear, prompting you with a few options, and it should now work perfectly. As a side note, it's best to log in with the Ubuntu Classic desktop if you want to use this, as Unity can mess up the Macbuntu install.

    Posted 12/15/2011
  • lostyankee
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I tried downloading this on Ubuntu 11.10 but when I tried to run the install script in the Terminal, the terminal only appeared briefly and disappeared without further action. Does this download support 11.10?

    Posted 12/03/2011
  • terrbarr
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I have installed this on Ubuntu and Linux Mint 10 and enjoy it very much. Makes my desktop more intuitive and Flashy. Microsoft would want your first born child for this software. Thanks!!!

    Posted 10/16/2011
  • dedisys
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great! Easy install. Work for me. My Lenovo X100e from 3 months ago until now : running ubuntu 10.10 amd64 with Macbuntu. When is it release for Ubuntu 11.04 amd64 ? Thank you.

    Posted 05/22/2011
  • oid-3395488
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    When is it release for 11.04?

    Posted 05/20/2011
  • paulus16
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    thats very very nice! But when it is coming for ubuntu 11.04? LIKE!!! ,9

    Posted 04/17/2011
  • d3v1150m471c
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Some people are saying the uninstaller for this package is not working on the ubuntu forums. You might want to take a look into this. Nice project btw, very sleek looking. -d3v1150m471c

    Posted 04/10/2011
  • ubunassim
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Really awesome! I suggest it to all Ubuntu users :) Very easy to install and is completely perfect!!! It also adds many useful changes that make working on Ubuntu desktop so easy and more productive..

    Posted 04/07/2011
  • alligoodwayne
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Makes ubuntu worth using.

    Posted 03/27/2011
  • mullsy123
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Wow! I'm working on a really horrible project and have to use Ubuntu. Now at least I feel at home with this machine. Almost 'double-click' ease of install and looks fantastic. Thanks.

    Posted 03/25/2011
  • yottie
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    In addition to my desktop, I run Macbuntu on my Macbook Pro as I prefer Linux to MAC OSX. It really confuses MAC owners when they look over my shoulder.

    Posted 03/01/2011
  • yodaj
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    good job

    Posted 02/25/2011
  • danijelm
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    perfect

    Posted 02/23/2011
  • bdsatish
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I had installed Ubuntu Tweak even before Macbuntu. But it was removed during Macbuntu uninstall. Emacs looks horrible with this theme. Emacs' recentf-mode is not activated for some reason (after the uninstall, recentf-mode works fine). Before install, my theme was Clearlooks. After uninstall, it was something else. Gnome Terminal's custom profiles are deleted... Before install, I had many custom applets on the top panel.. After uninstall, they are all gone. I had added many locations (time zones) .. but they disappeared after uninstall.. I WANT MY SYSTEM AS IT WAS BEFORE Macbuntu !

    Posted 02/18/2011
  • wujekzbyszek
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very good project

    Posted 02/13/2011
  • ardimi
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great! Very cool.

    Posted 02/02/2011
  • tantos
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great!!! This is the best mac style I've ever seen!!!

    Posted 12/09/2010
Show next 11 reviews