LMMS Icon

free cross-platform music creation software

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
99
3
0
1
8
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • agent-0013
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I am having a problem with getting started. I just downloaded the latest version September 9, 2014, and two days with it I still cannot hear anything! I did the settings when I first opened it, according to the tutorial that tells how. My output is not making it to my headphones or to my speakers, so I cannot hear what anything I do sounds like! I am not having this problem with any other audio software. If I cannot get this one working to my satisfaction, I will be removing it and finding another to replace it. I've asked for help with this at several sites where this application is discussed, and no one seems to know how to fix the problem. Sorry, but for now my rating is not worth giving!

    Posted 09/03/2014
  • djxtreme
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Reviewing 1.0.96: Sonic Visualiser show even in Vesa's latest Build, that indeed there is noise: Watching the waveform of a sidechained signal there are points where LMMS' 'sidechaining' (but not only sidechaining is affected!) can be recognized as a reduction of the output value between 2 Samples (!!!), which means: As soon as LMMS realize a too high signal, it reduces the 'gain' in one huge step (usually in the highest point of a half-cycle -!!!-), causing loud clicking noises always in such situtions. Instead of a smooth volume reduction (means: smoothing the steps or at least waiting for the next zero-crossing to reduce the following half-cycle), there are more or less of such volume level 'steps'. That means, that even when I reduce attack, the noise only becomes 'quieter', because instead of one huge step LMMS creates smaller steps in every period of a waveform, but the same type of sharp steps. This is obviously a problem, which comes from an incorrect calculation of automated values or perhaps the timing. But I claim LMMS to be responsible for this behavior (and for sure NOT the OS, even though I refuse to trust in Windows..), because... only LMMS changes volume levels in such situations and only LMMS is able to know the maximum level during a half-cycle. At the same time it came to my attention, that for sure nobody ever watched LMMS's produced output curve to track this noise, what in my eyes is REALLY poor! That's why I hereby reduce my rating for LMMS significantly!

    Posted 03/11/2014
  • jan-son
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Impossible to work with, sorry.

    Posted 03/02/2014
  • cccnycwood
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    DON'T UPGRADE TO 0.4.15! DOWNLOAD LMMS 0.4.13 INSTEAD!!!!! Serious bugs exist with the new system, such as, playing MIDI through ZYNSUBFX and VSTge.(Midi record function totally not functional) No longer supports independent VST preset saving(Freezing upon loading the presets). Problems with previously supported VST's not functioning(Freezing/Non-Responsive/FX unresponsive). Mod Wheel and assignable MIDI controllers non-functioning(Includes the all mighty "Low Pass Cutoff", freezes when external controllers are assigned). LMMS freezing problems while loading VST's. New version crashes Windows 7 when running multiple MIDI keyboards and controllers. Also keeps resetting all of my VST controls (NubiLE, Ichiro Toda Synth, Agressor Synth, etc.) every time I re-open a project. Sustain Pedal no longer working with ZYNSUBFX or VSTge. Indicator lights not functioning. I've installed both 32 and 64 versions of LMMS but neither work. I actually did a factory setting restore to my computer because I thought the problem was on my end. Not true. Don't waste your time. Download LMMS 0.4.13 instead. Much better functionality and is much friendlier to the more massive VST's. SERIOUS LETDOWN!

    Posted 07/06/2013
  • hfurius
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    good programm- we use it in our studio

    Posted 02/12/2013
  • bohlinghaus
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very buggy. It has crashed on me 3 times since downloading it and uninstalling and reinstalling a fresh download changed nothing. Some VSTs work, some do not. VSTs that work in FL studio may or may not work with LMMS. Using the 0.4.13 version. The packaged samples are not all up to par and could use a little polishing. But this is to be expected of most free software. It would be good for demos and such, but for hardcore production, best to go with a professional DAW. I am not saying it couldn't be better, I am sure it could, but for now it needs a lot of work. It also appears to be linux in name only. Attempts to install it on Linuxmint and Ubuntu were met with unwanted MSCorefont installer errors. Or something. AS an aside, the latest releases of Ubuntu and LM seem to be crash happy too. Just my opinion, that is all. If you like it, that's cool.

    Posted 03/12/2012
  • lofinova
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Just cannot seem to get this working with ubuntu 11.10. Why can't this be a bit easier to install & run?

    Posted 12/01/2011
  • spottedcow
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This download installs the Babylon Toolbar in your PC, and therefor should not be licensed under the GNU General Public License (GPL). It should be categorized as Freeware, but SourceForge.net is only for Open Source software. Babylon Toolbar is NOT open source software but proprietary and should not be included in GNU General Public License (GPL) software.

    Posted 11/11/2011