LMMS Icon

free cross-platform music creation software

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
99
3
1
1
7
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • agent-0013
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I am having a problem with getting started. I just downloaded the latest version September 9, 2014, and two days with it I still cannot hear anything! I did the settings when I first opened it, according to the tutorial that tells how. My output is not making it to my headphones or to my speakers, so I cannot hear what anything I do sounds like! I am not having this problem with any other audio software. If I cannot get this one working to my satisfaction, I will be removing it and finding another to replace it. I've asked for help with this at several sites where this application is discussed, and no one seems to know how to fix the problem. Sorry, but for now my rating is not worth giving!

    Posted 09/03/2014
  • msea
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I got tired of my old DAW, so I did a web search and noticed that LMMS is now Windows friendly. Wow! I really dig this program. I'm just learning it but so far, it seems great and is a lot of fun. There are things I'd like to see developed in the future (like enabling a sequence of external VSTi, and external VSTi allowed as FX). But being a total freebie, who am I to complain? Right now my only beef is that "undo" (control z) doesn't seem to be working with Win 7 64. Other than that... a big THANK YOU to the developer!

    Posted 07/24/2014
  • amilapsn
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I love music+lmms

    Posted 06/05/2014
  • aernout
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    With Win 7 Home Premium and LMMS 1.0.0. I have a fantastic, stable DAW at my disposal with loads of built-in features and the ability so use additional freeware/ shareware or payware plug-ins. Look no further, with LMMS you'll be able to go a very, very long way before you'll need to pay for anything! It's simply great and second to none in the opensource world.

    Posted 04/23/2014
  • evan-shad
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Cakewalk pales in comparison to lmms.

    Posted 04/12/2014
  • cgeffex
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I *rarely* ever write reviews for *anything*, but I was so blown away by LMMS 1.0.0 that I simply had to put in a good word for the software (and the awesome devs!) - Previously, I could not load large soundfonts or the program would hang and/or crash. Now, at long last, I can load my beloved sf2 version of the gorgeous Maestro Concert Grand Piano, which weighs in around 900mb. - I'm in love with the new automation progression methods. 'Nuff said. - LMMS handles VST effects much better. - Overall (and I'm not trying to generalize, this is genuinely awesome) LMMS is much more stable in ALL regards. - New built-in plugins! Technically, I would give LMMS something like 5.9 stars because there are some usability features I would like to see added, but, coming from 0.4.15, 1.0.0 is 'one giant leap for LMMS' Awesome work!

    Posted 03/29/2014
  • winwon
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Whereas the previous versions had some nasty bugs and crashes, the new 1.0.0 version works very well. LMMS is packed full of handy features and options, allowing you to unleash your musical creativity with ease. Spend some time learning the basics and you'll enjoy making music with this program. The default grey-ish interface skin is ok, but I'm waiting for better skins to be available. Another good thing is that LMMS works on Linux as well as Windows, and has both 32 bit and 64 bit versions. I'm looking forward to see further improvements, like additional skins, import/export options, external plugin supports, and so on.

    Posted 03/28/2014
  • midi-pascal
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The all-in-one (no need for Jack stuff on Linux) Swiss army knife to make professional music from MIDI and other sounds. Simply the best!

    Posted 03/15/2014
  • djxtreme
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Reviewing 1.0.0: After several experiments I found ways to circumvent too much noise in a side chained signal. But I will investigate with Audacity & Co a bit more intensive to find a reason for the existence of that crackling. For the rest... well, mostly at least it seem to work smoothly and reliable. But there is still a huge deficit - worse luck. That is too less possibilities for routing signals from track to tack (for example to create busses or 'folders'

    Posted 03/11/2014
  • jan-son
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Impossible to work with, sorry.

    Posted 03/02/2014
  • red7
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I love LMMS. I've been using it for a while now. Currently, there are still some bugs, but the community has really come alive and started to get things ironed out. If you're willing to spend some time with it, then you can really make some great music. The community is great. You can get plugged in on Facebook or SoundCloud really fast and get helpful feedback from others. It's awesome. You gotta try it! :-) - Red Ambassador

    Posted 02/21/2014
  • tronixofficial
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Hard at first, but when you've learnt the basics and have good ideas, it's fantastic! I've been using LMMS for 2 years now and I only can say: the BEST free DAW you can get!

    Posted 02/16/2014
  • xreddor
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    LMMS is powerful for what it is - a free software developed as a hobby. One can not simply compare LMMS to commercial grade DAWs because it is completely free. Also, I might add that while others here have stated bugs, those bugs are also not persistent across OS's and PC builds. I use x64 Win7 and have never had any problems with it at all, aside from Vestige and Zyn not recording midi in 4.15.

    Posted 02/05/2014
  • arakade
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Powerful but not amazingly intuitive. Also no MIDI export!? To start, watch a video tutorial then, after getting the basics, check-out the keyboard shortcuts wiki to speed up use! (It really needs to highlight these accelerator keys in tooltips!) No URLs allowed here but keyboard shortcuts wiki for version 0.4 is under "0.4:Key_Mappings". HTH!

    Posted 01/17/2014
  • jeru-ka9
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    nice software look as fl studio :)

    Posted 11/27/2013
  • vroich
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Just as cccnycwood stated, there are bugs that makes 4.15 unusable for some (maybe all) users. For me the most major concern among then is that after saving a project, Vestige will stop working when coming back to the project at a later date. It makes the whole project unusable unless the user decides to copy and paste everything to a new project. Otherwise, if you don't intend to save your work with VST's I suppose it's good.

    Posted 10/14/2013
  • cccnycwood
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    DON'T UPGRADE TO 0.4.15! DOWNLOAD LMMS 0.4.13 INSTEAD!!!!! Serious bugs exist with the new system, such as, playing MIDI through ZYNSUBFX and VSTge.(Midi record function totally not functional) No longer supports independent VST preset saving(Freezing upon loading the presets). Problems with previously supported VST's not functioning(Freezing/Non-Responsive/FX unresponsive). Mod Wheel and assignable MIDI controllers non-functioning(Includes the all mighty "Low Pass Cutoff", freezes when external controllers are assigned). LMMS freezing problems while loading VST's. New version crashes Windows 7 when running multiple MIDI keyboards and controllers. Also keeps resetting all of my VST controls (NubiLE, Ichiro Toda Synth, Agressor Synth, etc.) every time I re-open a project. Sustain Pedal no longer working with ZYNSUBFX or VSTge. Indicator lights not functioning. I've installed both 32 and 64 versions of LMMS but neither work. I actually did a factory setting restore to my computer because I thought the problem was on my end. Not true. Don't waste your time. Download LMMS 0.4.13 instead. Much better functionality and is much friendlier to the more massive VST's. SERIOUS LETDOWN!

    Posted 07/06/2013
  • mariaramey2
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Lmms works wonderful.

    Posted 06/19/2013
  • rusik1978
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thanks for great project! Simply the best.Good,good,good.+1

    Posted 05/19/2013
  • sever78
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very good project, thanks!Good,good,good.+1

    Posted 05/18/2013
  • urina
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very good project, thanks!Good,good,good.+1

    Posted 05/17/2013
  • tfileme
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thanks for so usefull software.

    Posted 05/16/2013
  • alexdotcom
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thanks alot for this.

    Posted 05/02/2013
  • alexvinn11
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very good project, thanks!Good,good,good.+1

    Posted 04/15/2013
  • jimi78
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very good project, thanks!

    Posted 04/09/2013
Show next 25 reviews