LMMS Icon

free cross-platform music creation software

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
98
3
1
1
6
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • amilapsn
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I love music+lmms

    Posted 06/05/2014
  • aernout
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    With Win 7 Home Premium and LMMS 1.0.0. I have a fantastic, stable DAW at my disposal with loads of built-in features and the ability so use additional freeware/ shareware or payware plug-ins. Look no further, with LMMS you'll be able to go a very, very long way before you'll need to pay for anything! It's simply great and second to none in the opensource world.

    Posted 04/23/2014
  • cgeffex
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I *rarely* ever write reviews for *anything*, but I was so blown away by LMMS 1.0.0 that I simply had to put in a good word for the software (and the awesome devs!) - Previously, I could not load large soundfonts or the program would hang and/or crash. Now, at long last, I can load my beloved sf2 version of the gorgeous Maestro Concert Grand Piano, which weighs in around 900mb. - I'm in love with the new automation progression methods. 'Nuff said. - LMMS handles VST effects much better. - Overall (and I'm not trying to generalize, this is genuinely awesome) LMMS is much more stable in ALL regards. - New built-in plugins! Technically, I would give LMMS something like 5.9 stars because there are some usability features I would like to see added, but, coming from 0.4.15, 1.0.0 is 'one giant leap for LMMS' Awesome work!

    Posted 03/29/2014
  • winwon
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Whereas the previous versions had some nasty bugs and crashes, the new 1.0.0 version works very well. LMMS is packed full of handy features and options, allowing you to unleash your musical creativity with ease. Spend some time learning the basics and you'll enjoy making music with this program. The default grey-ish interface skin is ok, but I'm waiting for better skins to be available. Another good thing is that LMMS works on Linux as well as Windows, and has both 32 bit and 64 bit versions. I'm looking forward to see further improvements, like additional skins, import/export options, external plugin supports, and so on.

    Posted 03/28/2014
  • midi-pascal
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The all-in-one (no need for Jack stuff on Linux) Swiss army knife to make professional music from MIDI and other sounds. Simply the best!

    Posted 03/15/2014
  • red7
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I love LMMS. I've been using it for a while now. Currently, there are still some bugs, but the community has really come alive and started to get things ironed out. If you're willing to spend some time with it, then you can really make some great music. The community is great. You can get plugged in on Facebook or SoundCloud really fast and get helpful feedback from others. It's awesome. You gotta try it! :-) - Red Ambassador

    Posted 02/21/2014
  • tronixofficial
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Hard at first, but when you've learnt the basics and have good ideas, it's fantastic! I've been using LMMS for 2 years now and I only can say: the BEST free DAW you can get!

    Posted 02/16/2014
  • xreddor
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    LMMS is powerful for what it is - a free software developed as a hobby. One can not simply compare LMMS to commercial grade DAWs because it is completely free. Also, I might add that while others here have stated bugs, those bugs are also not persistent across OS's and PC builds. I use x64 Win7 and have never had any problems with it at all, aside from Vestige and Zyn not recording midi in 4.15.

    Posted 02/05/2014
  • mariaramey2
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Lmms works wonderful.

    Posted 06/19/2013
  • rusik1978
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thanks for great project! Simply the best.Good,good,good.+1

    Posted 05/19/2013
  • sever78
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very good project, thanks!Good,good,good.+1

    Posted 05/18/2013
  • urina
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very good project, thanks!Good,good,good.+1

    Posted 05/17/2013
  • tfileme
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thanks for so usefull software.

    Posted 05/16/2013
  • alexdotcom
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thanks alot for this.

    Posted 05/02/2013
  • alexvinn11
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very good project, thanks!Good,good,good.+1

    Posted 04/15/2013
  • jimi78
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very good project, thanks!

    Posted 04/09/2013
  • blaskrusik1978
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very good project, thanks!

    Posted 04/05/2013
  • andersnilsson19
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Good application, very many options

    Posted 03/19/2013
  • brettmarkham
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I have used LMMS to create several projects. Between its intrinsic abilities and its compatibility with standards such as VST, as well as the fact it works on both Linux (my preferred platform) and Windows ... it is amazing. LMMS is EASY to use compared to most DAWS. It also makes it easy to copy and paste Midi between tracks and other common tasks. The automation is very flexible and can be used to automate practically any control. The ease of use of LMMS makes it easier to be creative because you can concentrate on your creative process rather than wasting time figuring out how to make the software work. It stores projects compactly. I have made music for many years, mostly using Linux-based DAWS such as Ardour, Rosegarden, etc. I also use Ableton Live on Windows. The learning curve for Live, which is one of the easier DAWS on Windows, is very steep. Ditto for Reaper, EnergyXT, Cubase, etc. -- all of which I have used. I had to read a couple of books, watch video tutorials and all kinds of stuff just to learn the basics of these other DAWS. I learned LMMS in an afternoon and was off and running. That's so nice! It has some deficiencies. One of the biggest is that it doesn't export MIDI files for tracks. That's huge. It also doesn't make recording MIDI from external controllers or using MIDI to interface with hardware synths and record the audio output of those synths easy. This latter is not really a huge problem though as many other software applications can be used and the results imported as either a sample or a midi file. The MIDI *importing* ability of LMMS is excellent. For editing audio samples, you really need an external editor such as Audacity. But these deficiencies aside, LMMS is incredibly powerful and super-easy. It is brilliant software and though its not ready to be used to the exclusion of all other software -- why should a single piece of software be all things to all people anyway? LMMS is small, light, easy and fits its niche perfectly. The only thing is absolutely MUST have added is MIDI export, mainly because its built-in MIDI editor is really nice. Please don't let feature-creep turn this DAW into a monstrous all-things-to-all-people thing. It's great! This is great software with a short learning curve. It just plain works, and works well.

    Posted 03/07/2013
  • baruch60610
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Overall this is a decent program for basic musical creation. I've had no problems using it - no crashes, no weird behavior. Serious musicians probably won't find lmms flexible enough for their needs. That's not a program flaw; it's just how it was designed. For most of us this program will allow us to be creative in ways impossible before. It's a lot of fun. The down side: 1. It requires wine, which I don't like. 2. It has really poor help, making it less useful than it could be. Even with those issues, this is a great program to play around with. Its user interface is quite attractive, many features are "intuitive," and as I said it worked for me without any crashes. Highly recommended.

    Posted 03/06/2013
  • adriandavis
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Love lmms

    Posted 02/12/2013
  • jantvrdy
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Impressively powerful for an open-source DAW. Its cross-platform nature means it could be a big contender in the future.

    Posted 01/25/2013
  • craigm
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Solid piece of software that makes it easy to make great music.

    Posted 01/25/2013
  • chenakhan
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Fast Demo Production made with LMMS 0.4.10

    Posted 01/23/2013
  • jamesgomes
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Nice and simple.

    Posted 01/18/2013
Show next 25 reviews