Lazarus Icon

Rapid applications development tool and libraries for FPC

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
93
0
0
0
2
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • chelovekonline
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    the best of the best free development tools

    Posted 11/25/2014
  • gen2liker
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Sometimes requires a bit of extra effort but is as powerful and cross-platform as you make it. Except for Mobile Apps, Java doesn't come close.

    Posted 08/30/2014
  • crlab
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Outstanding cross-platform write-once compile anywhere.

    Posted 07/27/2014
  • kapibarik
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Lazarus is an excellent RAD IDE for Windows, Linux, Mac and other platforms. ObjectPascal is a very effective language, I actually get better results than with C#.

    Posted 06/10/2014
  • telesnake45
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Some people think pascal is a thing from the past but Lazarus is a proof that's not even close to be true. Great IDE, good documentation and easy of use.

    Posted 06/01/2014
  • christian_u
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    great project

    Posted 05/19/2014
  • dunmaksim
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Отличный компилятор в отличной IDE! Всё, что нужно, есть, поддерживает кучу библиотек для Delphi. Beautiful compiler with beautiful IDE. All included. Support for delphi-components.

    Posted 05/08/2014
  • julinalex07
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Amazing piece of work guys.. I already tried Visual Studio and gave it up,But Lazarus is Just amazing and it is free. What more could i ask? Keep up the Good Work

    Posted 04/29/2014
  • akromic
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Simply incredible ;) I think many people fail to understand how powerful this is! Lazarus tightly integrates an IDE with debugging support, a very capable GUI RAD builder and a powerful framework. Good luck finding a set of open source tools working so smoothly together! Quality alternatives similar to Lazarus are practically all commercial proprietary packages, which means either much $$$ (e.g. Delphi) or a heavy and hard vendor lock-in (think VS). If you need cross-platform development, you won't have much luck with those, though. It's either clumsy (as the Delphi's new framework, FireMonkey) or outright impossible (like VS, except if you take the effort to port your code to Mono, if you do .net apps). In fact, it's easier to port older Delphi apps with Lazarus, since it's cross-platform LCL (and FPC's FCL) frameworks are more similar to old Windows-only VCL framework, then the new and incompatible FM framework. Actually it looks to me the're repeating the same mistake as they did with Kylix, when they created the VCL-incompatible CLX framework meant for writing cross-platform apps. It was impossible to directly port VCL apps to that, and that severely limited its success. Lazarus has always been able to get VCL apps ported to it, with more or less effort. Let's not even start about porting components! Considering languages, I find some of the alternative languages worth knowing, like Python which has a syntax elegant enough, and an abundance of components. It's widely used for small apps and (mostly unix) system utilities. Unfortunately, it's an interpreted language, which although it makes it cross-platform capable and great for quick tests and modifications, makes it slow, so it may not be the best choice for larger and more performance demanding apps. It also lacks an IDE of comparable power to Lazarus. The same goes for Ada, which is an excellent and well-thought language similar to Pascal in many aspects. Created with safety and security in mind, it produces quality, readable code, and is cross-platform capable. However, it may be a bit complex to learn, and it still lacks an IDE comparable to Lazarus, which makes it harder to write general applications with it. On the other hand, there are some languages, like C++, which may not be the best choice, although they are popular. C++ is powerful, no doubt, but it allows many bugs which could have been caught by a Pascal compiler! While it may allow quicker code writing than Pascal, it's not that readable which makes the code harder to maintain than Pascal code. Similar goes for Java, which although it may be useful for cross-platform executables, but it's a non-native code working on a VM, which also makes it slow. C# has issues similar to Java (with an added kick that it's "married" to Microsoft's tools). From the C family, I (perhaps paradoxically) consider C itself the most useful language, although not for general apps. It's fast and simple, and best in its original role of a "high level assembly language" for system development or simple and fast programs. Creating general applications, while possible, can be unbearably hard. And here we have FPC's Object Pascal. It has the elegance and readability of Pascal and is also enhanced with a powerful object model similar to Delphi's. You can still chose to use it as a procedural language, or you can create classes. Of course that doesn't limit you in using the mighty framework available; it contains most important things you may need. If something isn't there, chances are it exists as an additional component; though they may not be as abundant as in some other languages, they are available for practically every important task you may think of. And another point - the final products are native programs! No interpreted code as in Python or VB, no VM's as in Java or C#, just the pure, fast, native executable code, like that produced by C and C++; but there are no such silly errors (dangling pointers and other memory misuse errors) like in the latter two languages, the compiler catches most of those. Oh, and let's not forget - Pascal compiles faster than C and C++! So, to sum it up, Lazarus has a tightly integrated set of tools, it has visual RAD capabilities, an elegant language not prone to writing buggy code and a very capable framework and additional components; the chances are it has all you need to create an application from the beginning to the end. And it doesn't matter if it is a database, multimedia, or even web application! Concerning the speed - you can build the GUI quickly, the app will compile quickly, and the resulting code itself will execute quickly. And finally, all that's a work of all love and almost zero money. Now let me hear somebody say it's not possible!

    Posted 04/24/2014
  • my151and
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Lazarus is a excellent work! I've used it to develop many apps. It's Delphi7-like and easy to use. But for version 1.2.2 on win7(x64), the OnDropFiles of TForm cannot be actived,require to fix! THX very much.

    Posted 04/24/2014
  • cridos
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very Good project!

    Posted 04/22/2014
  • john_drummond
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I have experimented with lots of languages to teach my adolescent kids and the one that has gained most traction is Lazarus. PHP is very immediate but too woolly and not structured enough, and C# is just too daunting because of all the paraphernalia that goes with VS and .NET. Lazarus is basically back to Turbo Pascal, which for most of us was the most productive environment we ever worked in. My latest desktop project is in Lazarus.

    Posted 04/12/2014
  • pihedy
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Egy jól összetett programnyelv! Tetszik!

    Posted 03/22/2014
  • killerdalek
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I'm consistently impressed by Lazarus (and Free Pascal). I have yet to find something that I can't do with it. It's a great project and very worth of support. I was going to spend a shed-load of hard-earned cash on updating from Delphi 2005, but haven't needed to. Newbies will be delighted with much of the training material for this on YouTube and so forth - it's really easy to learn.

    Posted 11/30/2013
  • bratwiz
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I think Lazarus rocks! I used to enjoy programming with Delphi & C++Builder way back when-- before the price blasted through the stratosphere-- and Lazarus has gotten to the point where it is extremely usable. Yeah ,it blows up once in awhile, but not that often-- and even those moments are pretty predictable so I've simply gotten into the habit of hitting the save button frequently and no worries when it does. Apart from that, it has developed into a really nice, "Delphi/C++Builder"-like product that is a real pleasure to use. Everything works (mostly) as you would expect and I've so far found that interaction with the development team is easy and well-received. I'm looking forward to seeing how it continues to progress and grows into its own. IMO, it's definitely a language/ide paradigm worth watching (and using!)

    Posted 07/18/2013
  • dsimon8478
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    With the previous version I was very desapointed by the behavior of TDBF component. With 1.2.4 version all components I need for personal developpements allowed me to switch from DELPHI to LAZARUS definitively. Congratulation. Now I wait for the 64 bits version. I recommand this version to all people interested by personal application programming.

    Posted 07/10/2013
  • robbanux
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Since Delphi join the dotnet,Lazarus is the best pascal development ide there is and it is also free :) Lazarus is a clean, fast development ide.The best there is. I hope next version of Lazarus will include freepascal 2.7.1 so we can also get android support in Lazarus. Thank You very mutch to the Lazarus team for Lazarus/Freepascal. I can't live without it today.I Love Lazarus/Freepascal.Keep up that good work of yours.

    Posted 07/08/2013
  • anitahulsey
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very good Software.

    Posted 06/18/2013
  • eugeneloza
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Starting from 0.24 it's just awesome, and it's getting better every time. Thou, there are some problems with Russian character encoding in ANSI strings and interface...

    Posted 06/03/2013
  • tfileme
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thanks for software and updates.

    Posted 05/11/2013
  • thesocialize
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great stuff, I hope that becoming part of Lazarus will help to make it even better in the future!

    Posted 04/24/2013
  • blaskrusik1978
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very good project, thanks!

    Posted 04/06/2013
  • leledumbo
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    @Daniel Casserly: do you realize how many people would need a head check according to your review? Probably YOU are the one who needs it since you're about alone here. If you can't make it work, then blame yourself for your inability. Other people can do it so it must be you that's wrong...

    Posted 02/25/2013
  • dillonbutler
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    great product

    Posted 02/12/2013
  • pcadav
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I´ll never be enough grateful with Lazarus team!

    Posted 01/30/2013
Show next 25 reviews