KeePass Password Safe Icon

A lightweight and easy-to-use password manager

Read Editorial Review

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
376
4
1
1
17
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • twofeetdown
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Love it! I do get frustrated with some sites that do not allow pasting a password into the PWD textbox, but that's not a KeePass problem. It just keeps me from using really strong passwords. Sort of self-defeating to my way of thinking. With all the emphasis on changing passwords it might be nice if KeePass had an automatically updated field that would indicate the date of the most recent password change for an entry. Maybe it could be displayed in the list along with URL and Notes.

    Posted 05/01/2014
  • nitters
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I use this this since I time when there was no 2.xx version. This application just does what its supposed to. It runs stable and without any problems as far as I can tell.

    Posted 04/27/2014
  • arae2
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Does the job. Wouldn't be without it.

    Posted 04/07/2014
  • amitbarak
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Just perfect :) I can probably think of a thing or two to improve, but these would be pure nitpicks. Been using it for about two years now regularly, on two windows machine (home and work), and on my Android smartphone, this is simply good. Syncing password files is as simple as sending it by mail as attachment. I wish all free software were as good as this. Well done, developers!

    Posted 03/23/2014
  • kubik-rubik
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The best software to manage really safe passwords! Use it for years now and never had any problems. Thank you for developing this great software!

    Posted 03/05/2014
  • supersherlock
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Simply great, using it for years. Available for Android, too.

    Posted 03/02/2014
  • billzwicky
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Been using for years. Best, most reliable password app.

    Posted 02/20/2014
  • neo0815
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great program ;-)

    Posted 02/19/2014
  • jaramill
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Once I started to talking to security experts at a recent IT contract job, I realized having the same password for all my bank accounts was not a good idea. That's where they mentioned KeePass, and TrueCrypt. I don't know what I'd do without this excellent Password Manager and Generator. Also adding the comments I added on Google's Play store for the ported mobile version of this desktop software app: I actually will "Donate" to them (as well as their desktop version) as this something VERY important and useful to keep track of all my passwords, now that I have used their strong Password generator as well as their powerful encryption of the database file. Open Source is truly the way to go for this.

    Posted 02/15/2014
  • dotcdot
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    don't know how I got by back in the day. Before I started using it, I must have read every (serious) review and comparison of password vaults, and chose Keypass on the back of that research. I was a little concerned about the alleged complexity - but that was just a red herring. Having used it now I can't see myself changing.

    Posted 02/14/2014
  • h7green
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Best password software I've used. Easy to use and intuitive. It's amazing how many password one can collect throughout the years. I have used KeePass for many years and am very happy with it. I store the keepass-file in the cloud and can access it from all my PCs. Great software! Highly recommend to anyone.

    Posted 02/03/2014
  • sonbray
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The project is OK, but de design confusing, I mean, to many informations create a real mess...

    Posted 02/03/2014
  • oklima
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very impressed, especially when I upgraded from PWSafe

    Posted 01/28/2014
  • onmouseenter
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great product, I am also developing password manager software at sourceforged but a lot more simple one such as safety password which has less features than KeePass

    Posted 01/27/2014
  • llanelli
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excellent password manager. As always, reading the manual helps!

    Posted 01/26/2014
  • blacksourcez
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    awesome!

    Posted 01/20/2014
  • mtw1949
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Used it for several years. Outstanding, easy to use product. The Apple App/Cloud sync between my phone and pc is greatest feature.

    Posted 11/20/2013
  • virgildog
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excellent software. Relatively easy to use, just requires reading the instructions. Never had it fail through many tests.

    Posted 11/18/2013
  • syamliza02
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great app... tqvm!

    Posted 11/18/2013
  • hajora
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I like Keepass! But it is complicated to synchronize a database on a PC with a database on a Samsung Galaxy S3: 1) Copy S3 database to PC 2) Synchronize databases 3) Copy synchronized database back to S3 I think it should be easy to include it inside keepass

    Posted 11/06/2013
  • mvineetmenon
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    great tool... I keep the entire software on cloud along with the database file...

    Posted 09/12/2013
  • unal-altay
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Can somebody please explain how you install on a Mac OSX mountain lion? Thanks in advance

    Posted 08/31/2013
  • woodyj
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    allows me to have 30-40 character passwords and not have them written on a piece of paper hidden in my crawlspace thanks

    Posted 07/26/2013
  • lightnlar
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great program, I have used it for years, never a problem with it. I would recommend to others.

    Posted 07/23/2013
Show next 25 reviews