KeePass Password Safe Icon

KeePass - A free open source password manager.

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
349
2
1
1
17
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • cjshayward
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This project's Mac version needs a clue-by-four from Jakob Nielsen. It's like running Xenu under Wine. The first major red flag I saw was quick enough: the options to connect include a greyed-out option to use Windows login authentication. Really? On a project that claims Mac compatibility? The look and feel needs a clue-by-four for Mac users who don't wish they were using Windows 95/XP. But the most serious problem I found presumably affects non-Mac users as well. If you try to create an entry (not a database), there's a nice option to add an entry, but woe to you if you go looking for adding an entry in the menuing system. There's at least one good option to create a complete new database, but there is no hint of a way to add an entry that I could find in the menus. You guys seem to have the back end programming down pat. Mind giving the front end some attention? This review posted as a review after multiple failed efforts to enter it into the bug tracker, where it belongs, didn't work.

    Posted 06/03/2013
  • codeprese
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very useful project!

    Posted 02/13/2013
  • lezdomin
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The best open source software for storing your passwords safe! Very useful and simple, thank you!

    Posted 02/13/2013
  • bonnbee
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Sure it can be useful, but there are a lot of extras that normal people will never use. Too many nobs to turn (and complex nobs as well for normal, everyday use)

    Posted 10/19/2012
  • oid-3928153
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Always loved this on my Windows PCs, but have to say that I'm really disappointed with the Linux version. Visually, it just doesn't work (unreadable fonts, and bad formatting). It almost looks like an alpha version, or something?

    Posted 07/28/2012
  • paujones2005
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    not the best in-town any more ;)

    Posted 10/27/2011
  • oid-3382169
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Keepass 2.1.5 is TERRIBLE on Debian Squeeze. The decision to use Windows as the major platform makes it TOTALLY UNUSABLE for me. I will bee sticking with KeePassX and KeePass 1.x for the foreseeable future. Ugly windows, ugly icons, ugly fonts, ugly controls. Not only that, Mono has a lot of catching up to do. I keep getting SIGSEGV (segmentation faults) as I use it. No, KeePass 2.x is not ready for prime time on Linux in my opinion, and will not be until it's rewritten properly. The dependence on Windows libraries is astounding, and sickening. I hate this project.

    Posted 05/11/2011
  • flokass
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    1Password is better :)

    Posted 02/05/2011
  • ubuntuyx
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    too complicated

    Posted 05/28/2010
  • karagog
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Sure it can be useful, but there are a lot of extras that normal people will never use. Too many nobs to turn (and complex nobs as well for normal, everyday use) There are more user-friendly applications out there that accomplish the same task in a more intuitive and flexible way.

    Posted 02/24/2010
  • brummig
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Requires Microsoft's mushrooming .Net bloatware to be downloaded and installed, and you only find out when the KeePass installer has completed.

    Posted 02/05/2010