JT65-HF-HB9HQX-Edition Icon

Amateur Radio software for transmission/reception of JT65 protocol.

User Ratings

ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • do1ip
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Join us on Facebook: search for --> JT65.HF.HB9HQX.Edition/

    Posted 10/09/2015
  • ct1fjc
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This is a super program for extra useful features over the JT65-HF version, but it repeatedly misses decodes. Even a single trace that is of the right strength will be missed, but decoded by JT65-HF OK. I am not a programmer, but to me the shorter receive period of 42+ sec is much shorter than JT65-HF, does this have anything to do with the problem. Other than this it is a great program and I congratulate the writer.

    Posted 07/15/2015
  • sachsehamuser1
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Staying in single decoder mode is still a problem. Once the program goes into single mode it never leaves that mode in my installation on Win 7, 64 bit unless the program is closed and reopened. Decoding seems to be excellent for me with the multi-decoder, with more decodes than previous versions side by side comparison. Using the Feb 4 download of the program.

    Posted 01/06/2015
  • n3gty
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Version is awesome no issues and the new features work well solid decoding. I had two stations answer my CQ at the same time and both were decoded perfectly. I really don't know how you could improve on this version. Thank You Very much for your efforts and a Job Well Done. 73 Bill

    Posted 12/19/2014
  • ua3ivf
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Using last version I'm facing with a problem of decoding... it appears when two overlaped signals is present on waterfall. Single signal of station is decoding correctly almost up to -25db. And blurry waterfall is less informative then classic.

    Posted 11/22/2014
  • sv5byp
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This last version ( has very good and fast decoder . Bravo HB9HQX !!!

    Posted 11/18/2014
  • vk2rrr
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very fast decodeing, but misses many decodes, especially weak signals. Compared to JT65-HF and WSJT-X, it misses up to 50% of the decodes depending on the band and strength of signals. You will never get -26dB decodes with this software. It appears to not use the "K" decoder, so is only picking up strong signals.

    Posted 11/11/2014
  • dl1hbt
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Wow, that is amazing stuff. Great Features, good usability. high stability, easy configuration... Congrats! 73/55 de Tom, DL1HBT

    Posted 10/04/2014
  • ce2vqf
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The software is excellent very well made and stylish. I loved that cascaded calling station is displayed. There is the possibility of a Spanish translation?. wonder how I can do to set the hdr free with JT65 hb9hqx, some manual configuration. CE2VQF

    Posted 08/25/2014
  • rv3apm1
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    0.90.96 !!! VG!! Faster than WSJTX , decode if weak even -25 db! Thank you Very good decoder! 73!

    Posted 04/21/2014
  • ve5mdh
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    About my station: Computer, Acer Aspire Laptop w/ 2x 27" HP 27BW Monitors (through Matrox Digital DualHead2Go Splitter. Radio: Yaesu FT920. Interface: SignaLink USB. Antenna: 20m Dipole (Purchased on eBay from WA, USA). I have used WSJT-x, JT65-HF & Beat's program here. The HB9HQX version is the simplest of the lot! Yes, it has its downfalls as noted by others, but for the price I have paid, and the Team's time put into this wonderful software package, 5 Stars is a No-Brainer for me! I have used the program since the beginning of February, 2014. My major complaint would be that the software (intermittently) does not key the radio correctly. It is under the impression that it is, but in fact for some weird reason, it just skips a beat here and there. Of course during the most important QSO that you are aiming for! Murphy's Law #101. Quick work-around this issue is to HALT the QSO and TX Enable manually (Works ONLY if you catch this error within 10 seconds.Another Quirk would be that... Of course it now slips my mind! D'Oh! Oh well, eh!... Anyways, what I love about this program the most, is that I have mine set up so I can focus on just working contacts that I have never worked before! Also, if I have worked you, and you are calling CQ, I don't even see you!!! This allows me to focus right on QSO's I need to work on! (Like right now, I MISSED HK3C in FJ24 only because I am typing this out! Bummer, I say! Easy to use, It sure is!!! Fun to use? Sure is! Pleasing to the eyes? Sure is!!! Would I recommend this to a friend? I SURE HAVE!!!! and will continue to do so! Oh, on my wish list would be to see if Beat & the Boys could include JT9-1. JT65 is getting too crammed many days now! (Which is a good thing, on HAM Radio!).

    Posted 03/12/2014
  • coloradobob
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Most of the features of this application are top drawer. The one glaring flaw, as stated in the "Shortcomings" section, is "Poor Decode Result". I've missed many a QSO due to erroneous decode of incoming signals while competing applications (JT65-HF Version ) correctly decode. I have to run a competing application simultaneously to catch any missed decodes. Rather than constantly adding new features, I would suggest concentrating on improving the decode reliability - for me, that would turn my rating of this application from 3 stars to 5 stars!

    Posted 03/04/2014
  • wd5dhk
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I have been using this software a few days now. I really like how you have the alerts in cw for such things as someone calling cq. I have been using this with my FT-817 and keying the rig with vox. it has worked very well. Thanks.

    Posted 02/22/2014
  • anamate
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great new features, but I still need support for HRD PTT and JTAlert or I won't use.

    Posted 02/18/2014
  • ad0ar
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Hello! This software has been my favorite choice for using JT65! The decoding is lightning fast over other software for JT65. I do see some decoder bugs in this latest release where my AMD A8-4500M laptop will not run this software. The last 3 or 4 previous releases will not decode anything on this laptop so no changes there, but this latest release the waterfall runs for one iteration and just stops. Nada, nothing after that. I've played around with the multidecoder and Singledecoder and I get the same results. I've tried both Omnirig and Hamlib and same thing, it just hangs. Using the original JT65 1093 software the laptop works great, also JT9 and WSPR work fine on it, so it is something indigenous with this software. Using it on my old AMD 6000+ dual core desktop this software works, but I still see some odd quirks. I will see someone responding to my CQ, and when I click on their callsign in the decode list, I see the decode bracket move to a blank spot on the waterfall where the software appears to be redirecting my QSO and not to the frequency where the responding operator actually replied. To be safe, I find myself clicking on the reply buttons instead of the decoder window replies to keep these errors from happening. Also, I still see missing decodes. I had set the multidecoder to 20Hz and there will be (7) QSO's in progress, but the decoder only decodes (1) QSO in multidecoder. Changing the multidecoder to 50Hz I get better results. While my desktop is about 7 years old, my laptop is 1 year old, I expected more compatibility issues with my desktop, but it is the other way around. If I could ask for any changes, I would suggest a line showing the spectrum peaks like found on the WSPR software has with that squiggly line at the base of the waterfall. That way us users that have an adjustable IF bandwidth for "eliminating" QRM in the passband would have access to a very quick responding visual indicator showing us where our filter is doing it's magic and we can more accurately adjust it to best effect with or without any band activity as the noise reducing algorithm used on the waterfall display works almost too good! I also would find quite choice if the JT9/JT15 protocol could be also added to this application in future builds! I can't wait to find an excuse to uninstall the older JT9 software that is so much of an annoyance to use! Thanks again! AD0AR- In God we trust, all others we monitor. ;o) UPDATE as of March 19, 2014: I can now use the 20Hz decoder setting with the .9.77.0 release, but it still will not run at all on my A8-4500M based laptop. The waterfall will run for exactly one minute and then the software freezes. This is not radio biased either. It does it on both my 7600 and my 7000. I even disconnected the radios to see it run using the internal mic on the laptop and still, it locks up after one iteration of the waterfall. Program can then only be stopped though task manager (CTRL+ALT+DEL). I have used three other and much older/inferior laptops with this software without a hitch. I even tried a OS reload on the A8 laptop with the same NO-GO result on Windows 7. Also new in this revision is that the waterfall has even less noise in it. When using with my Icom radios that have adjustable IF bandwidth, I cannot tell at all now how large my receive window is and how much of the bandwidth I am blocking without actually audibly listening for blocking of the wanted signals and this leads to missed decodes. Could you add spectral baseline at the bottom of the waterfall? It would help us immensely to see filter action in the waterfall in real time! Also adding JT9 protocol with the advanced logging feature set found in this software would make it indispensable! Thank you HB9HQX for making this software for what it is!

    Posted 01/31/2014
  • oh3ggq
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Important improvements made! One thing: the version behaves strangely sometimes: it does not always decode at all...ruining my qsos sometimes. Some strange status info bug somewhere telling not to decode? Is this is known problem? Windows 7 is the OS.

    Posted 01/22/2014
  • bigbuilder
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Holy cow! This is so much better than any other JT65 decoder. It decodes everything in the band, nicely. The user interface is much more friendly than the other ones, but it still says,"I am not a programmer, I am an engineer". Still, it is really nice. I suggest a direct link to logging eQSL QSOs at least.

    Posted 01/12/2014
  • kb3zqq
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This software adds some much needed improvements over the original JT65 software. It is stable, decodes well and I like the way the logging works. The developer, Beat, is very helpful and responsive to questions and feedback as well. Well done; thanks for putting this together Beat!

    Posted 05/17/2013