JPEGView - Image Viewer and Editor Icon

Lean and fast image viewer with minimal GUI

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
96
4
1
0
1
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • spin-one-half
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    While JPEGView bills itself as an image viewer, and it does that impressively well, I have found it quite useful for other tasks. It's great for tweaking the luminosity of my photographs, particularly in brightening shadows and darkening highlights. Of course, other software do that too but JPEGView 1.0.33 offers the greatest ease and flexibility. Particularly nice is seeing the histogram dynamically change as one moves the various sliders.

    Posted 08/17/2015
  • dosse91
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Simply the best image viewer for Windows

    Posted 08/05/2015
  • jardouscz
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Awesome! Fastest editor I've ever seen. Great for large images. Extremely fast rotation of images. Immediately reflects changes made outside of the editor. At first I thought that it can't change contrast and brightness, but it can - you have to hover with the mouse over the bottom of the image. F1 is useful as well. Thank you!

    Posted 06/23/2015
  • izifer
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Absolutely sublime software. This is everything I could want in a simple minimal image view/editor.

    Posted 04/15/2015
  • naccata
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very easy to use software yet powerful and fast. I like the minimal GUI that lets you watch the image without any annoying bars, menus, etc... . The developer did - and does - a great job.

    Posted 03/29/2015
  • john2011uk
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I am a software developper and write my own photo software. I was was using a Microsoft iPicture utility to display jpg photos, however that viewer was never as good as Photoshop or ACDSee's integrated viewers, so I have always been looking for a better viewer that I could integrate into my own code. JPEGView is just what I needed - it's very fast and displays better image quality than Photoshop, which was my reference until now. When you take 6000x4000 pixel photos with a Sony RX1 camera and have to display them on a monitor with 2560x1200 or less resolution you have a problem - you never see the great sharp image you took - until now! The image quality of JPEGView is better than anything I have seen. I can get the source code and integrate it into my work so for me so it's just perfect.

    Posted 02/04/2015
  • lutandis
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I think I just fell in love with this. It's beautiful, fast and reliable and it has many built-in things that I like really much like settings for contrast and brightness etc. After messing with the settings I can hit CTRL + S and save the processed picture wherever I like. This comes very handy when you have to do just a couple of cosmetic changes to your picture.

    Posted 12/20/2014
  • leandro-azevedo
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Really nice work! Joins image quality and performance. It would be perfect if it had an OpenGL engine.

    Posted 12/18/2014
  • utsabgiri
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    JPEGView is a must have program ever made. But I got a problem - when I delete image with this the image not gos to recycle bin !! It's delete forever. :( Is there any setting that can fix this problem?

    Posted 12/04/2014
  • milesteg
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    great tool! Searched for something that could be customized (e.g. resize and save to current zoom-view). Has now replaced irfanview (one of my few propritary tools) for my most common tasks! Thx a lot :)

    Posted 11/26/2014
  • neal-achieve
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Fast; high quality decoding; valuable features; best all-around image viewer I've found for Windows

    Posted 11/05/2014
  • cw-nh
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Fast, small and many features. Best I have seen. THANKS

    Posted 09/22/2014
  • mjiovich
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    SUPER!!!!!!

    Posted 09/03/2014
  • thescribbler
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This is by far the best image viewer program I've ever used! It's insanely fast, extremely minimal and well designed, and can open just about any kind of image file. It does everything I want it to with absolutely no fuss! If I were to offer one critique, it is that this program needs a configuration window. Editing a text file just doesn't cut it.

    Posted 08/11/2014
  • ghostmind
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This is the absolute best program I have ever used to view and maintain my photo collections. It's just so fast and easy to use, simply perfect for me. This program is so awesome I created an account on sourceforge just to rate it. Beautiful job.

    Posted 08/03/2014
  • adjmotion
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Optimal for eyes and photo management

    Posted 08/01/2014
  • sundayamcoder
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Clean, fast, and easy to tweak via the UI or better yet in the well commented config file! PERFECT for viewing a series of images in glorious full screen, without giving up ANY of your tools/ options, much less ALL of your tools/ options as is the norm. After at least a decade I finally took the top 4 or 5 image file associations from my beloved Irfanview! Many thanks..

    Posted 07/05/2014
  • observe-r
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    JPEGView is a VERY light, VERY fast, and VERY feature rich image viewer. I have tried about a dozen different image viewers, and none come even close to the speed, ease of use and simplicity of JPEGView. Get this software, and forget about everything else in this category.

    Posted 06/27/2014
  • praneeth03
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Better than every other image viewer out there in terms of sheer flexibility and features

    Posted 05/03/2014
  • azpidatziak
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The best image viewer.

    Posted 03/15/2014
  • thedarktree
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Absolutely incredible. The absolute best image viewer in existence for those who need an insane amount of customization for viewing images and animated gifs. I have searched high and low, and this one beats them all: HoneyView, IrfanView, Image Eye, XnView, Imagine, ACDSee, and many more. Get this portable image viewer and never ever look back.

    Posted 03/02/2014
  • sdeng
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very easy to use, lightweight yet powerful and customizable. Wholeheartedly recommended!

    Posted 03/01/2014
  • teofast
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Small, fast, good scaling options, no any annoying interface bulkheads. Everything you need to quickly view image and cancel.

    Posted 01/31/2014
  • jmirvish
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Registered just to review this program -- it's delightfully small and solved Windows 7's standard "COM surrogate has stopped working" image viewer crash on my PC.

    Posted 01/21/2014
  • rogerdias
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    My favourite image viewer, fast and clean.

    Posted 01/02/2014
Show next 25 reviews