jGnash Icon

jGnash Personal Finance

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
27
0
0
0
1
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • csrsf
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    excellent programme. But When I try to use separate files for separate financial years i.e. in my country April to March, The budget exercise is fixed from January to December. It should be flexible to coincide with my financial year. And also I am unable to import reminders from previous file. Kindly give a solution

    Posted 07/16/2014
  • jeronimo479
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I have used this app in many incarnations for over 6 years now, way back when it was small (2MB). I'm sad to see it grow so big. It is not the svelt little program I used to carry around on my 64MB Lexar Jump dirve. It used to be one java jar, now it is a whole suite and I doubt that it would even fit. I'm currently on version 2.12.0 (30MB) and getting ready to update to 2.13.5 (41MB). That being said, my flash drive is now 4GB so that isn't as big an issue, but I do save my data files to a TrueCrypt volume that lives on DropBox, so size still matters. I keep track of my checking, saving, assets, stocks and retirement accounts (13), my joint accounts with my wife (4) and my custodial accounts for my uncle (4). It is great to have a tree architecture to organize all the accounts. It is amazing to be able to transfer stuff from account to account without jumping through hoops. I love the reminders! For debts with variable amounts, I usually just set the amount to 9999.99 and then accept everything, and my balance stays RED until I fill in the actual amounts. But at least I get a reminder, and all in one place I control. I don't have to login to every account all the time to figure out what's due. I never use: the reports. budget manager, check printing, or server/client facilities. This app does take some accounting knowledge but Cavenaugh has personally answered many of my questions.

    Posted 04/03/2014
  • owenluke
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I have tried a number of finance packages and this is the only one to do everything I need. I don't have particularly complex accounts but I do have more than 1 to look after and I do like to keep things organsised; the ability to nest accounts is fantatic. It is quick to setup, learn and manage and is still very powerful. The tool is updated often and along with bug fixes wishes are often included.

    Posted 02/28/2014
  • melaniejensen
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thanks for Jgnash, it's good!

    Posted 06/07/2013
  • anselmus1
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    After using this program for six months, I don't have any complaints. Anyone can probably learn it without knowledge of bookkeeping, except maybe for some non-intuitive concepts like prepaid expenses, undeposited funds, and split transactions. For example, if you bought both groceries and toiletries on one receipt, it would be more accurate to represent the purchase using a split transaction to separate the expenses. But YMMV, and bookkeeping is hardly a perfect science. I mean, you can prorate a utility bill over its billing period, but it's still just an estimate, you don't know how much was actually used in any particular time period.

    Posted 05/30/2013
  • blaskrusik1978
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very good project, thanks!

    Posted 04/06/2013
  • nolansanders
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very easy to use jgnash

    Posted 02/15/2013
  • gabrielcarlson
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    good work

    Posted 01/21/2013
  • henrycollins
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    terrific program

    Posted 12/19/2012
  • dillancooper
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    jgnash is fast and stable

    Posted 10/26/2012
  • perttanz
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This is a really good project!

    Posted 10/25/2012
  • oid-4003878
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    How can I use this software in iPad ? Is there finance software for iPad if there is let me now pls

    Posted 10/05/2012
  • lukascarr
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Love jgnash

    Posted 09/11/2012
  • biello
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great project, thanks!

    Posted 08/03/2012
  • wacekplacek
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excellent work.

    Posted 04/24/2012
  • caydenmatthews
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Simple. Useful. Light.

    Posted 03/21/2012
  • imtanuki
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    While this has been one of the best personal / SB accounting packages available, sadly it feels like an abandoned project. Some major problems exist with reconciliations, budgets, exports, etc. This still could be the best software in its class. But it needs updating.

    Posted 01/01/2012
  • bartacus
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Stable, powerful, yet still easy to use. Cross-platform is a lifesaver!

    Posted 04/20/2011
  • oid-3229478
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I tested almost all popular softwares related to controlling personal finance. And I can say that jGnash is the best.

    Posted 02/06/2011
  • sepolonun
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very good.Clean, objectiv, portable, definitly the easiest. Just missing the budget module wich, i think, is already on course. Congratulations!!

    Posted 09/09/2010
  • psecheresse
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Simple, easy and good enough for a home based and small business

    Posted 05/03/2010
  • oid-2818526
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This is the best open source personal finance manager. Fast, robust, and does double entry accounting right (and I am a CPA). One person mentioned you cannot launch it from your menus. False - and he doesn't know anything about Java apps. You can add it to your Ubuntu menus (I did) and reference the .jar file to start it up. This blows GnuCash and KMyMoney away.

    Posted 02/23/2010
  • odavy
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    the code source is really clear. Internal quality makes jGnash stable & robust

    Posted 01/23/2010
  • klopoff
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Такая же как все, но плюс русская локализация

    Posted 01/14/2010
Show next 2 reviews