User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
41
1
1
0
2
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • wkunes
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great tool and getting better!

    Posted 05/07/2012
  • finic
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Fantastic game framework: small, fast, full featured and many other. Thanks for developers!

    Posted 03/24/2012
  • henrywarner162
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great app irrlicht

    Posted 03/15/2012
  • devas111
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very good project.

    Posted 01/02/2012
  • oid-3306124
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    As a bunch of newbie game developers, we chose Irrlicht simply because we could get it running immediately unlike several other engines (I am sure it was our ignorance, but anyways..). The demos served as fantastic tutorials and helped us in prototyping our racing game very quickly. The best part is it loads models in several formats and has a scenemanager that provides decent performance for collision detection/response, particle effects, basic physics and so on.. which allows you to focus on the game mechanics. The game we came up in 3-4 weeks can be found at http://pages.cs.wisc.edu/~meetraja/SoapRacing/

    Posted 03/24/2011
  • ankledork
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very good engine, for beginners and advanced.

    Posted 02/07/2011
  • gamecoder250
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great 3D Engine

    Posted 09/15/2010
  • dbyoung
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    verygood

    Posted 08/13/2010
  • unclealex
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    nice and easy to learn project

    Posted 08/13/2010
  • h3xx
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    There are definite porting problems to Linux: This library will not be able to use system libraries (-lpng, -lz) unless you heavily modify the build system. There is currently no configuration system in place (like autotools, Scons or Cmake), which makes it a nightmare to compile and the library name is non-standard. Seems to have been made specifically for Windows, with *NIX not considered.

    Posted 07/08/2010
  • oid-2759047
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Irrlicht is very easy to use and is actively updated. The community is helpful too!

    Posted 04/25/2010
  • memorial76
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Really great Engine: really easy to learn and handle thanks to good tutorials.

    Posted 04/08/2010
  • cobra171
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Irrlicht is a great open source 3d rendering engine. It is very easy to use, includes many features and next generation graphics capabilities, and is easy to extend. I'd recommend it to anybody.

    Posted 01/23/2010
  • bitplane
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The thing that originally dragged me into using Irrlicht is the fact that you can get started immediately, there are no external dependencies and it loads a variety of model and texture formats. Getting started is as simple as clicking an example project and pressing the compile button. The API is intuitive, docs are great and the community is large, friendly and forgiving. It does have its shortcomings, you need to use community made plugins and do some hacking if you want next generation graphics, but overall it is a great engine which performs well on older machines, it is easy to extend to fit your needs.

    Posted 12/30/2009
  • nusoftware
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Irrlicht Graphic Engine is very very easy to use. You have a lot of features and both novice and experts programmers can make amazing commercial products out of it.

    Posted 11/24/2009
  • lukasbanana
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    With this engine I made my first 3D experiences with C++. Some parts are not so comfortable but all in all it is a very good 3d engine =)

    Posted 08/15/2009
  • nadro
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This is very very good engine with fantastic support from other users and dev team side.

    Posted 08/15/2009
  • d3jake
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The API is very clear, documentation is excellent, and the community forums are very helpful provided a user does not try to ask for someone to solve the problem for them.

    Posted 08/13/2009
  • zccdark203
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Irrlicht's strongest point is the fact that is easy to use. Not only is it incredibly simple to set up a new project based upon Irrlicht, it also offers an easy to use API.

    Posted 08/13/2009
  • disanti
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    You have to be careful with Irrlicht. It will draw you in with its extraordinarily easy to use interface, and you'll be tempted to write a large scale project with it. I did this myself, and then about half way into writing my game, discovered that the Irrlicht engine is indeed too slow for what I was attempting to make (with 30% of the run time being wasted in the animation system, as of version 1.5). If you're going to use this engine, make sure you stress test it first to make sure it will scale for your purposes, and plan on modifying the engine as soon as you start running into problems.

    Posted 08/09/2009