beta

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
12
1
0
0
0
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 5 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • antdude
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    No recent updates? :(

    Posted 01/25/2015
  • afoht
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    It worked well on my WD30EZRX disks. Great little program and very easy to use. Would recommend to anyone having the Green Drives.

    Posted 08/27/2013
  • jdoemt
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I only wish I had found this earlier. It took ten minutes to take the disks out of the NAS, connect them to a machine, boot it with a linux live distro, download the source tarball, build, disable the darn idle feature, power off, return to the enclosures and be back in business. It will take months (if ever) to recover the data lost on a 1TB Green disk that is 100% healthy but for over 900,000 load cycle counts.

    Posted 07/22/2013
  • morfikov
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    My drive: WDC WD15EARS-00MVWB0 : || Spin_Up_Time 2083 || Power_On_Hours 16948 || Load_Cycle_Count 346464 || -- I wish I had this app earlier. Now i have "Idle3 timer is disabled", and this madness has been finally stopped. :) Thanks for the app, really great job!

    Posted 07/03/2013
  • maharaja
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Model Family: Western Digital Caviar Green Device Model: WDC WD10EADS-22M2B0 Firmware Version: 01.00A01 User Capacity: 1,000,204,886,016 bytes [1.00 TB] worked like a charm! I have a quite high load counter - too bad that i did not stumble across this tool much earlier... > 4 Start_Stop_Count 0x0032 100 100 000 Old_age Always - 178 > 9 Power_On_Hours 0x0032 072 072 000 Old_age Always - 20696 > 12 Power_Cycle_Count 0x0032 100 100 000 Old_age Always - 175 > 193 Load_Cycle_Count 0x0032 087 087 000 Old_age Always - 341868

    Posted 05/29/2013
  • awedo
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I used this tool to set the timers on a WD10EZRX and a WD7500AADS to 254 seconds and there were no problems. Thank you very much for this great tool!

    Posted 04/18/2013
  • dillanrobinson
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    idle3-tools is fast and easy to use

    Posted 02/17/2013
  • kalebhartman
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    simple and straight forward to use

    Posted 01/22/2013
  • tedfelix
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Worked perfectly. I have a WD5000BPKT Scorpio Black that was clicking noisily and the Load Cycle Count was up to 550 after just one week. APM set to 254 from the factory. Found idle3-tools, disabled the idle3 timer last night and no increase in LCC other than when powering down/up. Thanks!!!

    Posted 11/29/2012
  • caydenellis
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great app

    Posted 10/31/2012
  • ryanoconnor
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    excellent app

    Posted 09/19/2012
  • steeldriver
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Just wanted to thank the developers for this - built no problems on my Ubuntu x64 (AMD A8) box and was able to disable the counters on both my WD20EARX drives (which were already showing LCCs in the 20,000-30,000 range running S/W RAID). Much heartache saved - thank you!

    Posted 06/07/2012
  • pvanpass
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Tool perfect for setting Idle3 LCC on WD20EARS build directly in (NAS) Linux. No hustle getting the disk out the NAS and build them into a (Dos) desktop to perform the settings with a preprepared startup disk with Widle3 from WD. Little knowledge of Linux and root access via SSH needed. Excellent support by developer!

    Posted 08/15/2011