Greenshot Icon

A free and open source screenshot tool optimized for productivity

Read Editorial Review

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
173
4
3
1
5
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • iubmadiwtu
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great simple app for use for creating screen shots of stuff.

    Posted 04/15/2015
  • rhonda-mt
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I don't know how I ever got along without Greenshot. It's lean, mean, and, presumably... Green. I try to remember to donate 25dollars for it once a year and when I persuade a friend to use it donate for the friend. I've had Greenshot on XP, Vista (Ugh), Win7, Win8 (double ugh); it installs easily despite the Ugh OS's interfering nannying. Lots of options, and I get to choose almost everything: format, quality, title, where to put the shot, and more. Takes a few minutes to decide when setting up, then operation is instant. Tip (maybe): there's a "magnifier" that's turned on by default. If you find it confusing, as I do, right-click on the Greenshot icon in your taskbar tray (you _do_ load Greenshot on startup, don't you?) and turn it off in "preferences."

    Posted 04/08/2015
  • vladius
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    One of the greatest pieces of software! Would be cool to have a zoom-in function in the editor however.

    Posted 04/02/2015
  • milworker
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Across the board, a very simple to use and adapt bit of software. I change the hotkeys to F11 (for region) so I can capture flyout menus (Alt or Ctrl kills them) and there are so many options with Greenshot for saving the file, out of the box, that you'd be pretty dumb to pay for anything else. That said, they're more than worthy of a donation, which I did. I figured they did as well as SnagIt, so they got my 50 dollars (USD). Keep at it! Good job!!

    Posted 01/22/2015
  • black2024
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Must have!

    Posted 12/22/2014
  • musicisgood
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very promising, but lacks scrolling capture which is essential to my work.

    Posted 11/13/2014
  • aryaputrasrj
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great Work Very precise I love it but slows startup somehow...

    Posted 09/30/2014
  • jojo99
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Pretty basic. I was hoping for something more robust, like the commercial program Hypersnap. Doesn't do scrolling captures, doesn't allow for gluing captures together, doesn't allow for cutting out vertical or horizontal parts of a capture, etc.

    Posted 09/27/2014
  • jaydes
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Perfect api. Free and open, i give money because it s good work

    Posted 07/06/2014
  • b4iwascrzy
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Yeah, great product – when it FAD. One of my laptops it works on, the other it does not, because I cannot access preferences. I can’t set my mouse’s right-click functionality, as I have it assigned alternatively. So, if you cannot “right-click” to bring up the menu options – you cannot say, take a picture of only a particular area or use ANY functionality (as I have no idea what the PF keys are set up as – I cannot view the list). So… I went to the bug reporting to open a ticket, and it would not let me – I had to create a sourceforge.net account. OK….did that, returned to open a ticket, and still msg, “we don’t accept anonymous email due to spam fear, so sign it. Clicked the sign in link, to display page, “you are already signed in as”. What a FUBAR way to disallow people using your product to communicate that there are unreported issues, that you need an ALTERNATE means of displaying preferences, etc. Argh.

    Posted 06/22/2014
  • ozok
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great tool, highly recommended.

    Posted 05/24/2014
  • anon9404
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    it's ok it could reduce the colors to anything you wanted instead of just of just 256 but it's ok

    Posted 04/24/2014
  • einor
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very useful

    Posted 04/11/2014
  • cadayton1
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Use it all the time and plan on donating to this project.

    Posted 04/03/2014
  • dieferman
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    It Does What It Promises And It's Easy To Use, All While Being Low In Resources Use.

    Posted 04/02/2014
  • lsavidge
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Does everything I need.

    Posted 03/25/2014
  • timyau18
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Easy to use. Convenient to edit screenshot. One click share to online picture website. Very GOOD!!!

    Posted 02/21/2014
  • reinhardw
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Really useful Sometimes FILE AS cause a problem later, when viewing the picture in irfanview Because file name also contains hidden characters. Especially at the beginning of the suggested file name...

    Posted 02/20/2014
  • beachcoder
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Greenshot is perfect for my everyday use at work! Thank you for developing this product.

    Posted 02/03/2014
  • danbromberg
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    It would be nice if Greenshot had the ability to copy the scrollable portion (i.e., what is not displayed) of a webpage so the entire page could be saved. Also, how is Greenshot better than Microsoft's Snipping Tool that comes with Windows?

    Posted 01/10/2014
  • kauphycup
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    My daughter is a CPA, auditor and fraud investigator and complained about the hassle of "capturing", annotating and filing her variously formated "discoveries". I turned her on to this which has cut hours off her preparation. I hope all the people that find the program useful will contribute to the developers.

    Posted 01/06/2014
  • dee-taha
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Easy to use, and has good features! I loved it.

    Posted 12/30/2013
Show next 25 reviews