gramps Icon

Gramps, the open source genealogy program

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
46
1
1
0
8
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • entu
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great tool! Very helpful for me. Thanks !

    Posted 10/26/2012
  • elshave
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Love this app

    Posted 10/21/2012
  • snowboardh
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Love the concept of GRAMPS! It is modular, has plug-ins like PhotShop or GIMP. I see a strong program one day. The problem is it just isn't ready for the public yet.

    Posted 10/21/2012
  • blakewells
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    gramps works perfectly, thanks

    Posted 09/11/2012
  • ganerd
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Love the concept of GRAMPS! It is modular, has plug-ins like PhotShop or GIMP. I see a strong program one day. The problem is it just isn't ready for the public yet. It is not very user friendly, does not handle crash and error recovery well, cant do drop and drag with Gedcom, does not even fully support GEDCOM as it is totally lacking when it comes to the Note tag. It strips and discards all of the users notes. LOL I notice that Cynthia Anderson STOLE my above comment almost word for word ... Even for my misspelling of Photshop.Shame people are so ignorant and they can't be any more original than to steal (cut and past no less). People like that does not deserve recognition for GOOD comments when she stole it. a royal BITC* to say the least. It is also a shame a looser like that is even allowed on here.

    Posted 08/21/2012
  • alexprot
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Brilliant piece of software. Cool

    Posted 08/07/2012
  • zissisp
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Simply the best genealogy software. Ability to produce the most accurate and detailed graph charts, with full control over the persons involved. And of course 100% Unicode! (this comment may seem redundant but unicode support should not be taken for granted - major commercial programms do not support it). Now that Gramps is available as an All In One (AIO) installer for Windows and MacOS, more people will be interested and will will discover the benefits of this great piece of software...

    Posted 07/30/2012
  • mrach
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Used this application some time ago back in the version 2.x. Tried to resurrect it but it appeared that I need to downgrade GRAMPS, as well as GTK and all the related crap back to the old versions just to be able to import the old work files. Are you complete idiots? Why should I downgrade half of my system to do a simple import operation? I doubt such developers can take any reasonable decisions in other areas and produce anything valuable. Does anyone know any good alternative?

    Posted 07/11/2012
  • dsetgistpigsrec
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Number 1 free, open source!

    Posted 06/13/2012
  • reitirata
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    All apps open source. Excellent.

    Posted 06/09/2012
  • larogece
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    All apps open source. Excellent.

    Posted 06/09/2012
  • cilnewpstaver
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    It's fast, reliable and easy to use. I recommend this program strongly!

    Posted 06/07/2012
  • samsskatabpyw
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    It's an essential tool for my computers.

    Posted 06/07/2012
  • byforico
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great app.

    Posted 06/06/2012
  • plotjoisigpoo
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great open source application.

    Posted 06/06/2012
  • lydtingbesttret
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This is surely one of the best open source projects.

    Posted 06/04/2012
  • dedifili
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Tested a number of alternatives. This is the tool with the features, speed and stability for you.

    Posted 06/04/2012
  • retertoresp
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The best tool.

    Posted 06/02/2012
  • dlauren
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great improvement, I should think. My friends have been telling me about this. How right they are. Thanks!

    Posted 05/28/2012
  • joibrigconmen
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Superb job, thanks a lot for telling

    Posted 03/05/2012
  • pa3fre
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Have been using Gramps for some weeks now, after trying other programs. apartfrom some illogical things itsa great program for my 26.000+ persons genealogy. Would work perfect if there was a android tablet colaboration solution.

    Posted 02/04/2012
  • robhealey1
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    If i had to rate Gramps with one feature or favorite feature, would be: The developers of the software are also genalogists and users of the software!

    Posted 11/07/2011
  • martinjdavidson
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Dad has worked on others' family trees "forever." I found the GEDCOM compatability T R E M E N D O U S!

    Posted 05/26/2011
  • wujekzbyszek
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very good project

    Posted 02/16/2011
  • sempre
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Getting better every release. Keep up the progress guys.

    Posted 02/08/2011
Show next 6 reviews