gramps Icon

Gramps, the open source genealogy program

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
44
1
1
0
8
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • octaprog
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    AVAST PRO antivirus gave start the installation, informing about the virus in the installation package GrampsAIO-4.1.1-86bfff_win32_py27.exe.

    Posted 07/01/2014
  • jakestew2010
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The developers have put a lot of time into this program and made it quite complex. There lies the problem. The program is not well organized, with options scattered in seemingly random places. There is also so much useless garbage in this program that it becomes very clumsy. Using "given name" and "surname" instead of first and last name is just plain clumsy. Having options for 7 different calendar types when nobody has used anything by the Gregorian calendar in the last 1,000 years is a perfect example of what's wrong with this program. It seems as if they typed up a list of 1,000 features in Latin, then ran it through Google translate, then implemented them all willy-nilly.

    Posted 02/03/2014
  • rgbarnes46
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Gramps 4.x will not install on Peppermint Ice. I get the following: Error: Dependency is not satisfiable: python2.7 I cannot find and install python2.7. Have installed 2.6 and 3.0 but still get the message and installation stop.

    Posted 12/18/2013
  • ganerd3
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I am voting thumbs-down ... not for GRAMPS, but for Cynthia Anderson. Why waste your time to give a review when Cynthia Anderson just copies and past your review and get the credit for it? Would she be so quick as to steal program or creative ideas?

    Posted 11/10/2012
  • susie2
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    My thumbs down vote is not for GRAMPS, it is for a member called Cynthia Anderson and SourceForge's willingness to allow her to stay a member, whn the only things she does is copy and past. She HAS to be an awful person! She is getting credit for the most helpful thumbs-down vote ... yet she copy and pasted it WORD FOR WORD from the review that ganerd had posted MUCH earlier. Needless to say without ANY credit to him. Do we have to have. AS*HOLES like that on here? I would never make any comment due to her willingness to copy it and take credit for it.

    Posted 11/10/2012
  • snowboardh
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Love the concept of GRAMPS! It is modular, has plug-ins like PhotShop or GIMP. I see a strong program one day. The problem is it just isn't ready for the public yet.

    Posted 10/21/2012
  • ganerd
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Love the concept of GRAMPS! It is modular, has plug-ins like PhotShop or GIMP. I see a strong program one day. The problem is it just isn't ready for the public yet. It is not very user friendly, does not handle crash and error recovery well, cant do drop and drag with Gedcom, does not even fully support GEDCOM as it is totally lacking when it comes to the Note tag. It strips and discards all of the users notes. LOL I notice that Cynthia Anderson STOLE my above comment almost word for word ... Even for my misspelling of Photshop.Shame people are so ignorant and they can't be any more original than to steal (cut and past no less). People like that does not deserve recognition for GOOD comments when she stole it. a royal BITC* to say the least. It is also a shame a looser like that is even allowed on here.

    Posted 08/21/2012
  • mrach
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Used this application some time ago back in the version 2.x. Tried to resurrect it but it appeared that I need to downgrade GRAMPS, as well as GTK and all the related crap back to the old versions just to be able to import the old work files. Are you complete idiots? Why should I downgrade half of my system to do a simple import operation? I doubt such developers can take any reasonable decisions in other areas and produce anything valuable. Does anyone know any good alternative?

    Posted 07/11/2012