gramps Icon

Gramps, the open source genealogy program

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
44
1
1
0
8
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • octaprog
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    AVAST PRO antivirus gave start the installation, informing about the virus in the installation package GrampsAIO-4.1.1-86bfff_win32_py27.exe.

    Posted 07/01/2014
  • havdher
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I find this one of the best featured software package and once you have gained experience it can be very flexible. I particularly like the method used to record census info.Enhancements I would like to see is ability to run own sql queries, preferably using mysql. I would also like to see the windows version better supported e.g. there is a wait before obtaining latest release and sometimes the released version takes a few updates to work correctly.

    Posted 05/23/2014
  • frn2000
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very easy to use

    Posted 03/16/2014
  • espo2112
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Lots of potential however the program crashes (in windows 7) every hour and now the windows-controls have disappeared and the window cannot be resized. I applied for bug account but never received the verification (20 hours and waiting). The interface is confusing and many simple features are missing like a middle name field. adding parents is a tedious task.

    Posted 02/13/2014
  • jakestew2010
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The developers have put a lot of time into this program and made it quite complex. There lies the problem. The program is not well organized, with options scattered in seemingly random places. There is also so much useless garbage in this program that it becomes very clumsy. Using "given name" and "surname" instead of first and last name is just plain clumsy. Having options for 7 different calendar types when nobody has used anything by the Gregorian calendar in the last 1,000 years is a perfect example of what's wrong with this program. It seems as if they typed up a list of 1,000 features in Latin, then ran it through Google translate, then implemented them all willy-nilly.

    Posted 02/03/2014
  • rgbarnes46
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Gramps 4.x will not install on Peppermint Ice. I get the following: Error: Dependency is not satisfiable: python2.7 I cannot find and install python2.7. Have installed 2.6 and 3.0 but still get the message and installation stop.

    Posted 12/18/2013
  • andyun
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thank you very much! Can be simplified? Hello from Russia!

    Posted 11/14/2013
  • williamdanis
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thank you for your work.

    Posted 06/21/2013
  • melaniejensen
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very good project, thanks!

    Posted 06/20/2013
  • elwoodnewman
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thanks for so usefull software.

    Posted 06/06/2013
  • alib8821
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Wonderful. Share a website with you , ( www.alib88.com/ ) Believe you will love it. We accept any form of payment.

    Posted 06/02/2013
  • gwqnvfl
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Simply the best genealogy software. Ability to produce the most accurate and detailed graph charts, with full control over the persons involved. And of course 100% Unicode! (this comment may seem redundant but unicode support should not be taken for granted - major commercial programms do not support it).

    Posted 05/29/2013
  • volonova
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thanks! Really)

    Posted 05/27/2013
  • alib8812
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Wonderful. Share a website with you , ( www.alib88.com/ ) Believe you will love it. We accept any form of payment.

    Posted 05/27/2013
  • blaskrusik1978
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very good project, thanks!

    Posted 04/06/2013
  • elliotking
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great app

    Posted 02/12/2013
  • caydenharris
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    great app, works nicely

    Posted 01/19/2013
  • loganprice
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    gramps is fast and easy to use

    Posted 12/16/2012
  • ganerd3
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I am voting thumbs-down ... not for GRAMPS, but for Cynthia Anderson. Why waste your time to give a review when Cynthia Anderson just copies and past your review and get the credit for it? Would she be so quick as to steal program or creative ideas?

    Posted 11/10/2012
  • lizabeth2
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I am voting thumbs-down for <b>Cynthia Anderson</b> also. She is a fraud that should not be allowed on SourceForge, She is a discredit to your organization. I totally agree that she copy and pasted "HER REVIEW" from a post earlier by ganerd. She even copied his misspelled words, Photoshop. She knew his was an intelligent answer and stole and posted it as her own.We don;t need ppl on here so unauthentic as to simply duplicate someone else review. If she will highjack his review, she would highjack, and counterfeit any program on her and claim it had hers. People like that are a danger to programmers, creators, to sourceforge, even to themselves. Why would I, as a programmer place software on her only to have a counterfeiter copy and take credit for it?

    Posted 11/10/2012
  • susie2
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    My thumbs down vote is not for GRAMPS, it is for a member called Cynthia Anderson and SourceForge's willingness to allow her to stay a member, whn the only things she does is copy and past. She HAS to be an awful person! She is getting credit for the most helpful thumbs-down vote ... yet she copy and pasted it WORD FOR WORD from the review that ganerd had posted MUCH earlier. Needless to say without ANY credit to him. Do we have to have. AS*HOLES like that on here? I would never make any comment due to her willingness to copy it and take credit for it.

    Posted 11/10/2012
  • jantvrdy
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Nice work! Getting better every release.

    Posted 10/29/2012
  • patsyblefebre
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excellent

    Posted 10/29/2012
  • entu
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great tool! Very helpful for me. Thanks !

    Posted 10/26/2012
  • elshave
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Love this app

    Posted 10/21/2012
Show next 25 reviews